We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Sognando Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sognando Firenze
Ranked #40 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ninove, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Sognando Bed& Breakfast from 18 to 22 september 2011 and I must say that this B&B was a most pleasant surprise where you get great value for your money. The B&B is situated on the 2nd floor of a building on the corner of piazza Ferrucci and via Gian Paolo Orsini, in a plain but safe and quiet suburb of Firenze.
The rooms are equipped with basic furniture but they are more than big enough and are very clean. All rooms have a comfortable bathroom, AC, a safe, TV and double glass (so there is no problem with the street noise). Ther is free WiFi in the whole B&B.
They charge 5 € for breakfast which is not expensive at all because, for Italian standards, it is rather rich and abundant (frehsly baked rolls, brioche, coffee, tea, fruit juice, cereals, biscuits, yoghurt, …)
The owner is extremely friendly, not to mention the girl serving breakfast : she is really doing her utmost to make your stay enjoyable and, what's more, she speaks fluently English.
The B&B is not really centrally located. Count at least 20 minutes to walk to the PonteVecchio and 40 minutes to Santa Maria Novella train station. But this should not be an inconvenience which takes you into town in less than 10 minutes is a taxi stand on adjacent Piazza Ferrucci and just around the corner you will find the terminal of Bus D, which takes you into town in less than 10 minutes.
If I ever go back to Firenze, I would cetrainly stay here again.

A. Wachtelaer & family
Belgium

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wachtelaer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    134
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
99
249
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What a wonderful place to stay in Florence! Sognando Firenze is the perfect B&B in such a beautiful city. It is only a short walk (15 min) from the duomo, which allows you to see the gorgeous layout of the city as you walk into its center. On the walk you can see the Ponte Vecchio, duomo, library, and other famous landmarks (not to mention it is just above a small eatery that serves delicious gelato). The staff were so friendly, and the layout was beautiful! The large rooms and cathedral ceilings add to the beauty.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2011. The staff is wonderful and very accomodating and the bed and breakfast is beautiful! It is very clean and the rooms are much larger than most of our accomodations we stayed at in Italy. Sognando Firenze is away from the toursity area of town but still within walking distance of everything. If you get sick of walking, hop on the bus to Piazza Ferrucci and its 50 feet away from the bus stop! There is a laundrymat up the street, bar downstairs (that has panini and gelato), and many other amenities around. We loved it. The breakfast was simple but good. It was very quiet at night and we would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to anyone.

Make sure you seek out the restaurant closeby called Affe di Bacco. It was our best meal in Florence! Very authentic and the price was right too!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskaTravels907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I must start by saying CONGRATULATIONS, then i must keep on saying the same word!
Trust me: it's incredible, elegant, beautiful, comfortable, very clean, with conditioner, fridge, LCD in each room and Wi-fi net. We had a very rich breakfast and juices + water 24 hours/24 hours.
Anthony is a special person, a perfect manager and the best guide that we had met in Florence.
We'll be back here for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I recently stayed at Sognando hotel in Florence. It was a lovely small hotel with a big breakfast, and free juice and biscuits all day. The staff could not have been more helpful in every way. The location is just 15 minutes walking from the Pontevecchio bridge, so out of the hustle and bustle but the walk home each night was most enjoyable. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and could not be easier to use. The same bus takes you to the centre of Florence or to the station. For those on a budget I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GERRIE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

What a nice accommodation. We were met by Nicoletta who couldn't be more kind and helpful. Nice big and clean rooms, well decorated with fire place and air conditioning. Double glass at the windows keep the noise at bay.Very convenient bus stops at the door steps. We strongly reccommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LellJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2011 for our honeymoon. Nicoletta was very warm and friendly upon our arrival. She was still in the midst of cleaning up the rooms when we arrived and informed us that our room will be ready in 10 minutes.

The room was big and comfortable and there was air conditioning as well which is good during summer. Free wifi was also available. Nicoletta was kind enough to let us print our train tickets using her printer during our stay there. Free water and juices was provided which is seldom seen in most B&B. Do note that the apartment does not have any elevators and you would need to climb up stairs to reach the B&B.

The B&B is located about 20 minutes walk away from the city centre but we took Bus D most of the time which took about 5 minutes.

Do try out Trattoria Gigi nearby (5 minutes walk away). It serves excellent italian food which is run by a family. Value for money and good quality food.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank extacy2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Piccolo Principe B&B
#43 of 640 in Florence
306 reviews
Residenza Marotta
#162 of 640 in Florence
100 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Antiche Armonie B&B
Antiche Armonie B&B
#176 of 640 in Florence
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Armonie di Villa Incontri
#93 of 640 in Florence
62 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#23 of 640 in Florence
228 reviews
Duomo
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
#77 of 640 in Florence
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sognando Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sognando Firenze

Property: Sognando Firenze
Address: Via Giampaolo Orsini 115, 50126, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sognando Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very new B&B Sognando Firenze, created in 2009, is situated on the first floor of an early 20th century building, on the slopes of the Piazzale Michelangelo hill with the David by Michelangelo, just a few steps from the heart of Old Town.Our B&B is composed of 6 double/twin rooms; in each room we can add single beds. The rooms are bright with high ceilings, typical of buildings of historical interest. All rooms have a private bathroom with shower, TV, heating and air conditioning, wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sognando Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing