We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location, overpriced breakfast, annoying hostess.”
Review of Sognando Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sognando Firenze
Ranked #42 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The best thing going for this place is its cleanliness (which should be a given at any establishment). We arrived here after spending some time in Belgium and Germany, and wow, what a contrast. The hostess (I believe she is from the Czech Republic) was not the least bit knowledgeable about the bus schedule (even though there was a bus stop right outside the front door), or restaurants in the area. Also, she was just simply overbearing and talked far too much. I couldn't eat my breakfast (which, might I add, consisted of some crackers, crappy fruit juice, and yogurt) without her talking to me about something. Normally I would welcome a hostess' friendliness, but with this woman it was just plain obnoxious. I always felt like she was talking down to us, too, which we definitely did not appreciate.

The location was another disappointment. Yes, there are bus stops all around the area, but they are very confusing and very unreliable (many are late or run on different schedules on different days of the week, etc.) Coming from Belgium and Germany, where transportation is so efficient and affordable, this was a huge disappointment. We ended up walking to the city center each day, which was fine, but we ended up regretting not just spending a little more to stay right in the middle of the action. It would have saved us a lot of time and energy.

If you do end up staying here, I highly recommend doing your research beforehand (on bus schedules, restaurants, bars, etc.) Also, DO NOT purchase breakfast. 5 euros a day per person for mediocre snack food. There are a couple of pastry shops/convenient stores in the area. Spend your money there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraLady84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

It is for the second time that I visited Europe, especly Florence. I am a lucky person because I stayed in THE BEST B&B of Florence!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It is such a special place that everybody should stay here: the B&B is modern ( Conditioner-Air system, LCD televisions, wifi everywhere), hospitable ( the owner Anthony is a very pleasant person who never let alone his turists helping them with all the necessary information), clean (I couldn't feel but staying in a 4 star hotel), and cultural too ( the rooms are painted with tipical historical colours so that one can feel the sensation of renaissance art staying in this place). I was impressed by the breakfast which was always full of tasty foods, sweets, coffee and juices.
I am sorry that my holiday finished in a hurry, but I surely come back in this B&B!
STRONGLY RECOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Sognando Bed& Breakfast from 18 to 22 september 2011 and I must say that this B&B was a most pleasant surprise where you get great value for your money. The B&B is situated on the 2nd floor of a building on the corner of piazza Ferrucci and via Gian Paolo Orsini, in a plain but safe and quiet suburb of Firenze.
The rooms are equipped with basic furniture but they are more than big enough and are very clean. All rooms have a comfortable bathroom, AC, a safe, TV and double glass (so there is no problem with the street noise). Ther is free WiFi in the whole B&B.
They charge 5 € for breakfast which is not expensive at all because, for Italian standards, it is rather rich and abundant (frehsly baked rolls, brioche, coffee, tea, fruit juice, cereals, biscuits, yoghurt, …)
The owner is extremely friendly, not to mention the girl serving breakfast : she is really doing her utmost to make your stay enjoyable and, what's more, she speaks fluently English.
The B&B is not really centrally located. Count at least 20 minutes to walk to the PonteVecchio and 40 minutes to Santa Maria Novella train station. But this should not be an inconvenience which takes you into town in less than 10 minutes is a taxi stand on adjacent Piazza Ferrucci and just around the corner you will find the terminal of Bus D, which takes you into town in less than 10 minutes.
If I ever go back to Firenze, I would cetrainly stay here again.

A. Wachtelaer & family
Belgium

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wachtelaer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What a wonderful place to stay in Florence! Sognando Firenze is the perfect B&B in such a beautiful city. It is only a short walk (15 min) from the duomo, which allows you to see the gorgeous layout of the city as you walk into its center. On the walk you can see the Ponte Vecchio, duomo, library, and other famous landmarks (not to mention it is just above a small eatery that serves delicious gelato). The staff were so friendly, and the layout was beautiful! The large rooms and cathedral ceilings add to the beauty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 101LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2011. The staff is wonderful and very accomodating and the bed and breakfast is beautiful! It is very clean and the rooms are much larger than most of our accomodations we stayed at in Italy. Sognando Firenze is away from the toursity area of town but still within walking distance of everything. If you get sick of walking, hop on the bus to Piazza Ferrucci and its 50 feet away from the bus stop! There is a laundrymat up the street, bar downstairs (that has panini and gelato), and many other amenities around. We loved it. The breakfast was simple but good. It was very quiet at night and we would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to anyone.

Make sure you seek out the restaurant closeby called Affe di Bacco. It was our best meal in Florence! Very authentic and the price was right too!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaskaTravels907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I must start by saying CONGRATULATIONS, then i must keep on saying the same word!
Trust me: it's incredible, elegant, beautiful, comfortable, very clean, with conditioner, fridge, LCD in each room and Wi-fi net. We had a very rich breakfast and juices + water 24 hours/24 hours.
Anthony is a special person, a perfect manager and the best guide that we had met in Florence.
We'll be back here for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I recently stayed at Sognando hotel in Florence. It was a lovely small hotel with a big breakfast, and free juice and biscuits all day. The staff could not have been more helpful in every way. The location is just 15 minutes walking from the Pontevecchio bridge, so out of the hustle and bustle but the walk home each night was most enjoyable. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and could not be easier to use. The same bus takes you to the centre of Florence or to the station. For those on a budget I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GERRIE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
1.2 mi away
Piccolo Principe B&B
Piccolo Principe B&B
#45 of 659 in Florence
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Olivo
L'Olivo
#37 of 659 in Florence
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Al Ventaglio
B&B Al Ventaglio
#44 of 659 in Florence
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leone X Guest House
Leone X Guest House
#25 of 659 in Florence
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Il Grillo di Firenze
Il Grillo di Firenze
#12 of 659 in Florence
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Giglio d'Oro
Il Giglio d'Oro
#6 of 659 in Florence
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sognando Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sognando Firenze

Address: Via Giampaolo Orsini 115, 50126, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sognando Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very new B&B Sognando Firenze, created in 2009, is situated on the first floor of an early 20th century building, on the slopes of the Piazzale Michelangelo hill with the David by Michelangelo, just a few steps from the heart of Old Town.Our B&B is composed of 6 double/twin rooms; in each room we can add single beds. The rooms are bright with high ceilings, typical of buildings of historical interest. All rooms have a private bathroom with shower, TV, heating and air conditioning, wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sognando Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing