We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and service”

Osteria dei Baroncelli
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Osteria dei Baroncelli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #926 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: US$28 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Description: Mangiar bene al centro di Firenze
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose to eat here due to its proximity to our hotel and are we glad we did, the food was excellent as well as the service, would def recommend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calcuish26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    147
    61
    33
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, fl
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

First nite n Florence. Staying in a near by hotel spotted this restaurant. Menu looked good and there as the trusted trip advisor sign. Went back for dinner. Larger space with no dinners. We would normally not go in an empty place but trip advisor reviews have always come thru. We were seated by a rather sullen waiter, given menus and wine list. And waited and waited. Husband finally went to find him. There was another man with papers at a back table. Manager/owner???? He could see what as happen g but never intervened. Waiter came to take order. No offers water, bread, drinks or special. I asked about wine and he answered they had a chianti by the glass but that it wasn't the quality of their wines by the bottle. We looked at one another and both said let's leave! Can't remember the last time we walked out and have never written a negative review. We have user trip advisor around the world for hotels, restaurant and activity recommendations. In Florence for 5 nights and never saw a single person n this restaurant. We walked adorned the block and had dinner at a wonderful spot with pasta beyond expectations. Turns out this new spot #22!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinesI9996NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroncelli, Direttore at Osteria dei Baroncelli, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
You are true
Don't bother
Expecially if you never had dinner here.
I was the guy sitting at back table with papers. I was doing some bills for the people that were sitting in the other room of our empty empty restaurant. ( you saw only one of our rooms) Anyway i heard everything and the waiter didn't say anything wrong to you just maybe his english was not perfect and was a missubderstanding .(sorry for that)
Only an advice ; next time you relax and you'll have a great dinner i'm sure.
Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Florence”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had another fantastic night in this tucked away but very popular Restaurant. First there is 2010 and again in 2013. Food is still great and some wonderful homely recipes, and a great selection of wines from all regions. Very reasonably priced for the quality you receive. The Owner Guiseppe is such a great host and we shared a beautiful bottle of Prosecco and he selected our wines perfectly.
Thanks again Guiseppi for another memorable night and hope to be back again. If not, all my friends will be coming!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner here on a Saturday night. Very nice service and reasonable prices . I had the spicy spaghetti for 8 euros and my husband had the balsamic filet for 20 euros. It's down a tiny alley by the square going towards the river .

Helpful?
Thank kell113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Where's the beef!?”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thought we'd try the bistecca, but at one kilogram minimum it was too big for us. We ordered the beef fillet steaks instead which turned out to be very good.

A plate of Tuscan canapés was pretty average, no oohs and hash for that, but the side order of spinach was good.

Vin Santo for dessert rounded out the meal nicely.

All in all an okay place, but not top class. When I see waiters who don't know what orders go to which table, and make odd comments to each other, or don't know how to smile, I figure these are waiters who are probably working above their personal level of sophistication and may be better off working in a fast food place rather than a restaurant that has the potential of this place. Owners, your restaurant is only as good as your staff. If you want quality, hire quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria dei Baroncelli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Impruneta, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria dei Baroncelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing