We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Find in Old Florence.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michelangelo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michelangelo Guesthouse
Ranked #298 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a Find in Old Florence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Love this little B&B; more of an apartment. Antonio our host knows so much about Firenze & happy to share. Safe quiet peaceful yet close quarters to city. Makes a better Italian experience than 5 Star hotel in that walk, eat and experience Florence making locals.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawmamalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Direttore at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review; we really hope to guest you again as soon as possible.

Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    72
    19
    3
    10
See reviews for
46
133
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo Guesthouse. We did have a little trouble finding it with our GPS, but it is in a nice location and we were able to park our car. The room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was large and there was enough hot water for the whole family. There are many flights of stairs to go up, so just keep that in mind. The staff assisted us with our luggage, so it really was not a problem. We were given very good information about Florence, and we were able to walk to the historic center. The manager is top notch and very friendly. Breakfast is great and the kids loved that it was delivered to our room. Not a lot of frills, but worth the money. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdgAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Direttore at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you again and again for spending your time to do a wonderful review trough Michelangelo Guesthouse.

Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We arrived early from our previous hotel and were able to call and get in early. The B&B is located on the 3rd and 4th floors of an apartment building. While the room was being prepared, the wonderful manager took out a map of Florence and provided a background to Florentine history/culture, pointed out things not on tourist maps, suggested lunch and dinner options and told us a bit about the area where we were staying, filled with Florentine natives rather than tourists. We'd been to Florence several times before, but this was an education. It was a wonderful way to get understand a bit more about the city and its people.

The room, Salt and Pepper (to describe the terrazzo floor), was large and offered a stunning view of gardens at the back of the building and up the hill that leads, eventually, to San Miniato al Monte. The bathroom is huge and someone realized that travelers need space to layout their toiletries. This room even has a small walk in closet with shelves and hangers. Breakfast is served in the room and we ordered the day before and it was delivered on time.

NOTE: Do not leave unscreened windows open after dusk as mosquitos come in, we learned this the night before.

Everything is walkable. We walked down the Arno, crossed before the Ponte Vechhio, and went for lunch at THE sandwich shop, a short wait in line and you get a huge sandwich, I just said "vegetarian" and let the guy behind the counter make it for me. We luckily sat at a counter, but people were on the curb eating their sandwiches.

After breakfast the next day, we made the steep walk up to San Miniato al Monte which capped our stay and we were back on the road. We loved everything about this Guesthouse and would go back next time we are in Florence.

Room Tip: As for a room with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pisapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Direttore vendite at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

A BIG thank you for the wonderful words spend through our service! We can not add enything else to your kind review, you say everything!

Looking foreward to guest you as soon as possible, we wish you a good day!

Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This place was located in a great location. It was nice and quiet and in a very cute neighbourhood. They provided you breakfast in your room (sometimes the people serving it were a bit much first thing in the morning) but everyone was super friendly and always asking you if there was something they could do to make the stay better. Great place overall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Direttore vendite at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thenk you for the great review you did. Our goal is to feel you as at home, in one of the most typical area in Florence.

The rooms, very quiet, the staff, professional and frendly, the clean of the B&B and the free room service breakfast are only fiew important things that make the stay at Michelangelo Guesthouse unforgettable.

Thank you!
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stay 5 days in Michelangelo Guestouse and we recommend it to everybody! The room is very clean and confortable. The bathroom is big, clean and the shower is also very good! Staff is nice and with good tips!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Direttore at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words spent. Our best goal is the total satisfaction of every guest!

Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at Michelangelo Guesthouse for 2 nights during a motoring holiday in Italy and France. It's not really a B&B in the conventional sense as there are no owners living on-site. It's more like a small collection of apartments, though breakfast is provided in the rooms. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, and the location is quite convenient for the sites of Florence. Our family room was air-conditioned, clean and comfortable. I would certainly consider using it again on another visit to Florence.

Room Tip: One of the back rooms has a balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aljaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Estimated Guest,

thanks for sharing with us Your kind opinion: we are proud You have elected the Michelangelo Your preferred base in the historical centre of Florence.
If I may suggest With the bikes next time pay a visit to the Casentino with its curvy roads trought the Passo della Consuma. You may stay there at our other location and enjoy the outskirts of Florence.

See You soon.

Best,

NIccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! Antonio was amazing and extremely friendly & helpful the rooms were very clean and well kept and very spacious & comfortable... We also love the balcony which overlooked a garden with lots of trees...... the location was great as well, quiet and secluded but close enough to nightlife and the center of shops, restaurants, and shopping about a 10 min walk to the heart of florence.. We will definitely be back! Sandra & Tina

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guests,

thank You very much for sharing with us Your happiness in staying at the Michelangelo. It's true in the terrace Guests may enjoy the amazing sunset specially at Summer time.

Hope to see You allsoon at theMichelangelo next time You crossthe pond.

Cheers,

NIccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
#115 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Relais Firenze Stibbert
#99 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa La Vedetta
Villa La Vedetta
#69 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Guesthouse

Property: Michelangelo Guesthouse
Address: Via Ventura Ser Monachi 7, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Michelangelo Guesthouse è situato nello storico quartiere di San Niccolò in una strada che conserva ancora il sapore tipico della Firenze medievale, centro culturale di grande spessore e punto d'incontro di letterati, pittori e giovani artisti. A soli 15 minuti da Pontevecchio la location è il punto di partenza ideale per scoprire i segreti di Firenze, perfetta per ogni tipo di viaggiatore poichè la vicinanza al centro fanno, del Michelangelo Guesthouse, una sistemazione che predilige la privacy e la tranquillità. Nei dintorni sorgono caratteristici caffè, ristoranti, locali notturni e botteghe artigiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Michelangelo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing