We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and central”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Dimora del Centro
Ranked #350 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Excellent location in the Piazza della Republica. Newly refurbished and decorated rooms. The girl on duty when we arrived was really helpful, guiding us through the one way system in our hire car, which narrowly avoided a divorce. She then was very thorough advising us of the facilities available in the accommodation and the sights of the city. One unexpected feature was the "common area": a room with seats, a sink, cutlery, crockery and glasses. Plus, a coffee machine, tea bags, sweets, biscotti and other goodies. This could easily have been turned into a money making guest room, but instead provided an invaluable guest facility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goatcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at La Dimora del Centro in Florence. It is a really lovely place to stay, ideally located a few minutes from the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo in Florence. We really enjoyed our stay there.

We were in the Room Costanza. It's nicely decorated, and extremely comfortable. The bedroom is a good size, with a great bathroom and a small table and chair. We chose a room without a view of the Repubblica Square, as it was slightly less expensive, and I feel that we didn't miss much. You're not likely to spend that much time in your room anyway!

The room is very quiet, and no noise from the restaurants comes up, so sleep quality is excellent.

The B&B has a tea room with tea / coffee / biscotti available (no charge) all day. We really enjoyed popping in for a cup of tea whenever we were close by, to warm up, in the chilly weather.

The check-in is about 1 minute away from the B&B at the sister hotel, La Dimora d'Angeli. We had a bit of trouble locating it, so make sure you find out exactly where it is before you go to Florence. Eventually a local chap offered to help us find it - and we would have wondered around the square hunting for ages if he hadn't!

I would highly recommend staying here if you are spending time in Florence.

The only negative I have, is that if you open the windows of the room, you get a very strong food / gas smell from time to time when the restaurants below are cooking. It can be a bit unpleasant. however, it didn't worry us that much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at La Dimora del Centro for 2 nights last summer. The location is central to everything you'd want to see and do. It was also really quiet given it's location. The room was really nice with quality furnishings and fixtures. We really enjoyed the lady that worked the first desk....I can't remember her name but she was really sweet.

They don't serve a breakfast per se...they give you tickets to cafes near by. This was fine by us. It meant that we weren't on a schedule.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends and family traveling to Florence.

Room Tip: We booked the Costanza room which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was a birthday surprise for my boyfriend so I wanted everything to be just right. Arrived on a Wednesday.evening and was greeted by staff who were very welcoming. She could not have been more helpful. We were given maps and told about local sites to see, places to eat and general points of interest, local knowledge is such a key thing in a beautiful city like Florence. We were shown our room (The Agnese) and given the keys and other informaton about the room. Our room was spectacular. The most amazing view of the Piazza della Republica with the Duomo to the right and the archway to the left. Beautifully decorated room, clean and the overall standard was high. There was an area in the B&B for refreshments, biscotti and a place to sit other than your room. This was so lovely and the biscotti were irresistable! If you are worried about the noise....dont be! The windows were sound proofed and there was hardly any noise from the square despite it being a very busy city that never sleeps. The location of this hotel is just amazing, central to everything. Can't wait to book my next trip and I'm sure i'll be booking another visit to the La Dimora del Centro.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It may be that the noise insulation differs from one room to the next, but in the room I was in, Agnesi, the double glazing was extraordinarily effective. In fact, everything about my stay was perfect. This was my third visit to Florence in three years and La Dimora was easily the best place I have stayed in - and the least expensive.

The reassurance of being able to contact Claudio and Roberta at any time was one of the key features, but the quality of every aspect of the place was a real treat.

Thanks go to Claudio and Roberta for their advice and help.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The location is both central and convenient, the view is fabulous for people watching, the room is lovely and Roberta is a perfect host. BUT...

On the opposite side of the piazza is a bar that blasts DJ chatter and vintage rock out to the entire piazza. Even with the windows closed and the A/C on, it sounds like the speakers are right there in the room with you. But don't worry, it stops around 2:30 am. That's when you will be able to get to sleep. :>(

I read on the review of the sister BandB, Angeli, that they had put in soundproof windows. As soon as I find out that they have done that here, I will change my review from 2 stars to 5. Until then, sorry, I can neither recommend this location, nor stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargheritaFirenze, Proprietario at La Dimora del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you for your review that makes us feel more secure about changing the old windows with new ones that are the best in commerce about sound proof.
We put the new windows on February 14th 2012 and after that date our guests didn’t complain for the noise in the square. So,we will be very happy to have you back here at our B&B and sorry again for your discomfort.
Best regards
Claudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Impeccable. The location of this B&B alone is enough to warrant the most strenuous of recommendations, and yet what awaits elevates this B&B to the short-list: those destined to be long remembered, fondly, vividly, long after you have left Firenze and commenced planning your certain return. So, what’s to know? Firstly, like all good things, it’s hard to find. Make your way to Piazza della Repubblica and look for Café Giubbe Rosse for it’s above this café you will ultimately find your room. Call the B&B’s phone number to have someone meet you in the Piazza and let you inside. After this, things get easy. The Agnese Room is feminine without being effeminate; elegant, light, with a view out to Piazza della Repubblica and beyond. The location so good you’ll believe you found the room every one of those million tourists was looking for. As a result, you can retreat to your room, relax, and still be fully immersed in what’s unfolding in the Piazza below. Be warned though, for with the sights of Firenze, come the sounds. At night, this comes in the form of open-air jazz, those wining and dining in one of the square’s many restaurants and, unsurprisingly, those very happy to be alive and well in Florence. You may consider the noise, as we did, part of the experience, or at worst, a small price to pay; if not, make your way downstairs and make some noise of your own. Breakfast won’t come to you in the mornings. Instead, you’ll need to take a short walk across the Piazza to a local café with beautiful pastries, juice and coffee. Given the location, we found this preferable to taking breakfast in our room. Go equipped with your voucher, your Italian phrase book and a sense of adventure and you’ll be fine, well fed, and ready to make your way through some of the most enchanting streets you’re ever likely walk. As for the rest, it takes care of itself. Service is excellent, the bathroom is spacious and the water flows. There’s a complimentary laptop provided if you happen to be the guy without the iPhone. In short, this is the B&B you’d rather keep all to yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoodedBanoonigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,058 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,572 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,823 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,885 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dimora del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dimora del Centro

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of ancient Florence, with open windows up on most symbolic square of the city. It is here in the old market of Florence, nowadays known as Repubblica square, that I have decided to transform my vision of the city into Bed and Breakfast. We will waiting for you here to offer a new and enthusiastic way to enjoy Florence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dimora Del Centro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing