We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting villa, breathtaking views, impeccable service, fantastic cuisine, brilliant suites”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #87 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An enchanting villa, breathtaking views, impeccable service, fantastic cuisine, brilliant suites”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The hotel: 
We are planning our spring wedding at il Salviatino and decided to vacation here and meet with the staff a couple months before the big event. Prior to our arrival, we corresponded several times with Cristiano, the ever so gracious and accommodating Event Coordinator. 

Upon arriving at the luxurious villa of Il Salviatino we were welcomed by very friendly staff. Next we were offered a delicious sparking rose and seated on the terrace overlooking a breathtaking view of Florence. 

Our suite was breathtaking. Domo Jr Suite has a beautiful private living room with mirrored television and magnificent view of the Domo. The bathroom was amazing: both standing classic tub and separate rainfall shower surrounded by glass and privacy door. You have the seductive option of opening doors to view the bedroom while you shower. 

The land itself is amazing and perfectly located on the peaceful hills of Florence, with only a 20 minute ride to the city center. Shuttle bus is offered every hour or a taxi can also be requested. Free high speed WiFi available on property. Computer, copier, scanner and printer available in lobby. 

The restaurant: 
The main restaurant is located downstairs with a clever underground passage the leads to the Greenhouse. Il Salviatino also grows its own herbs. Chef Carmen truly takes pride in the presentation, quality and taste of his innovative culinary creations. From our lavish dinner to our Saturday brunch, we were impressed with the way the transforms simple classic dishes into magnificent bites of modern creations. For example, we appreciate how the chef took the basic over easy egg with sausage and prepared it as a light, yet satisfyingly tasty dish with the perfect consistency of meat and beet greens. Every dish we tasted at the dinner was also a unique modern take on the best of Italian culinary classics

We highly recommend dining at Il Salviatino and enjoying your own culinary experience, whether it be a light breakfast, a brilliant lunch on the terrace or an extraordinary dinner at the restaurant. 

The staff: From the concierge to the bartender to the waiter, every staff member treats you with absolute kindness and consideration. Cristiano made several excellent recommendations for lunch and dinner in Florence, as well suggested wine tours and various activities to not only entertain our wedding guests, but to also offer the a true Tuscan experience. 

Grazie Mille to Cristiano, Chef Carmen, Dominico and the entire staff at Il Salviatino for creating such a warm and welcoming visit. We look forward to our next visit.

See pics of our breakfast, lunch and brunch at www.SaraDISH.com

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    105
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
107
491
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oroshaza, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

After visiting several times Florence in the past, recently we had the chance to spend again a beautiful weekend there, and we had a stay in the best Accommodation ever experienced… I wrote consciously Accommodation because this place is much more than just a Hotel – this is a unique experience. Simply unique, because of the wonderful garden, the surroundings and terraces and the building as it is taking u in a different world and different way and level of hospitality. Something extra with superlatives….
Entering the building pls do not look for a Check-in or any kind of Reception area, which would be the usual place for administrative issues. The reason is because it doesn’t exist – as there is no need for this… You are simply invited into the building and your stay in Salviatino can start immediately in the huge library – used as main hall, where u will find the wide range of collection of books (including TOYS for BOYS, and hundreds of famous classics as well…), so the cultural part will not miss during your stay... All this u can do sitting in the perfectly handmade sofas and enjoying the very decent and sophisticated smell, which is all around in the building giving a special extra input to your senses.
Your well being just will continue in entering your room, where u can see the perfect and professional combination of the High-Tec technology and the classical architect Toscana style of the last some hundreds of years. The perfectly trained staff will show to u the functioning of the system and will also present to u the TV, Internet a home movie system covered into a huge mirror (!)…
For your drinks and talks the terraces are perfectly placed with most beautiful the panoramic view on the beautiful Florence. Just stay relaxed and have a wine and watch the city with the night lights. More beautiful than a dream…
The food is excellent and the service is also perfect and personal. Your stay should include a treatment in the Thai spa. We took the the opportunity and – as high level professionals from the management side - after the 2 hours treatment they asked to fill out a form about the experiences. I couldn’t write other thing only that it was simply better than in Thailand...
So your stay is Salviatino is a perfect stay, our family definitely we will return and simply enjoy the life in Florence and especially in Il Salviatino.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szalayzsolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Start to finish incredible experience. Welcomed on arrival by our host Stephan, invited to enjoy the property like it's our home, every request fulfilled. Stunning views, a fantastic restaurant and excellent terrace, library and bar.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mekanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We arrived and were greeted by Il Salviatino smilling staff who instantly made us feel relaxed and at ease showing us around the most beautiful ancient frescoed rooms I have ever seen - let alone in a hotel. This is the most unique quality about this hotel. The care with which this historic building has been converted into a hotel has been of painstaking exellence.
The room we stayed in was in the garden and had a gorgeous conservatory sitting area and as the autumn temperatures dropped we spent alot of time in that part of the room.
The service to and from the room was really first class and in a charming Italian way the food and drinks we ordered with American speed!
The restaurants were both exellent and the wine list stunning.
The pool and spa was first class with charming Thai ladies doing all the treatments in the spa so could only feel we were in the best hands.
Brilliant shuttle system to and from the centre of Florence with hotel mini buses running every half an hour.
The pase of the hotel is relaxed but proffessional and our few days spent there has carried me though winter in England! and even in February I still have a smile on my face as a result of our mini holiday at Il Salviatino!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

No check in and no front desk . an historic home restored to accomadate discerning clients
Our visit was early January 2011
Greated on arrival as if you were visiting family and friends. A most comfortable and relaxing stay
The location is extraordinary, the ethos is absolutely customer focused, the decor is understated elegance, the staff were unobtrusivley attentive,the food was first class, the service outstanding. Il Salviatine is a joyous find

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

From the moment we arrived, we could tell that our stay would be an experience we would be unlikely to forget. There is a calmness about the place, a graciousness that envelopes you and which permeates. They must work incredibly hard to create such serenity and warmth. If the devil is in the detail, he's enjoying his stay at il Salviatino too! Sincere and select staff await your arrival; refreshment is on hand; a magnificent but understated entrance leads to a library that feels immediately like home. Everywhere smells divine, is furnished perfectly. There is no over or understatement in how things have been set out, in anyone's manner or behaviour; the staff were attentive without ever being intrusive or overbearing. Our suite was extremely roomy, very well appointed with a great view of the garden. I adored the way TV is presented - through a large free standing mirror that is a mirror when the TV is off. The views from the front bedrooms must be spectacular. We watched the sun set and the view across to the Duomo fade and it was warm enough to sit in the garden - with plenty of blankets for those who preferred - after dinner. Dinner was equally wonderful. Attentive, knowledgeable staff here too and absutely exquisite food and wine. So often something can spoil one's hotel stay but nothing marred our experience. I urge you to go without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at il Salviatino at the end of December 2010, just for 3 nights. Unfortunately! It's an exceptionally beautiful property which includes a big green territory and a ancient building rebuilt into a real 5* hotel with smart approach, attention to details, hight lever of service and warm relaxing atmosphere. This place is created for those who don't like big crowded chain hotels, even the best ones, and prefer feeling at home. Working in a hotel business myself, I would be able of course to pick up some things which need to be improved but I really don't feel like messing with details now because this hotel has QUALITY in everything which is rare to find. There is always something small which requires improvement, just il Salviatino is very close to be perfect. Rooms are amazing: spacious, tasteful, truly well-made and nicely organized. Classical style harmonizes with modern vision and newest technical features. The room was always clean and fresh (actually as the whole hotel was). I am not even commenting a view we had (we stayed in the Dome view De Luxe), it is just unbelievable! Breakfast is enjoyable (not only food but also surroundings). Staff is accommodating and professional. I wouldn't say I really liked the way the service is presented (it might look at bit arrogant at times) but this is matter of a hotel's image and I have to say that whatever we required was done and the best way, so I can't complain. There was nothing we wouldn't have found assistance at the hotel: starting with accommodating my 2 chihuahuas traveling with us and finishing with booking a restaurant for the New Years night... The location of the hotel is not central but considering a view of Florence, beautiful surroundings and fresh air that it offers I think it's very one of the best options. Of course, it takes some time to travel to the city center and back but even if you don't have a car there is a hotel's shuttle which is very convenient. And it's only 5 km to Ufizzi! I will definitely come back myself and recommend this hotel to friends! It's worth seeing!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daridaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
882 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#33 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing