We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #89 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I've never wrote a review before but I feel I have to thank Il Salviatino for the amazing experience I had during my stay. Everything was perfect !!! I will definitely go back next year. The only bad thing is that we stayed 3 nights, next time I will book 5.
Also I have to say that it stayed in many luxury hotels during my trip but this was the only one that had internet wi-fi for free everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina_Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Il Salviatino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

Hotel Il Salviatino is the most wonderful place in Italy - the heart of Tuscany.
Excellent interior, full of wonderful atmosphere. An ideal place for people with sophisticated gusto. The staff is one of the best in the World! It is characterized by politeness, kindness and cordiality. The views from the terrace of the hotel are the quintessence of this hotel's class! From the terrace you can see the entire panorama of Florence. Furthermore, cuisine is exquisite!
Our 4 day stay was a great moment of relaxation!
We would like to thank the whole staff from Il Salviatino for a wonderful time!
Monika & Przemek from Cracow

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrzemOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I've stayed in more than 1000 hotels around the world as a journalist, but this tops them all. The service, the quality, the food, the room - everything was top notch. It was more expensive than the hotel I stayed previous week but the price difference is well worth it. I just wished that we can stay longer.

They take care of you in every possible way to ensure great stay. it's located 15 min away but the distance is not an issue since they will take you to downtown via shuttle. It's actually more convenient this way then staying right in downtown Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busytravelerbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Possibly the most stunning hotel I have stayed in and with service to match!!

This was a great experience from the minute we arrived to the minute we, regrettably, had to leave.

We were welcomed by a team of staff who took care of our luggage and arranged welcome drinks followed by a tour of the house.

We were very lucky to be allocated one of the best rooms in the hotel – top floor at the front of the hotel. We had the amazing view over Florence and a bathroom I could have happily lived in - we even had a view of Florence from the bath!!!

We had dinner at the hotel which was of a very high standard (Michelin star quality) – apart from the cod which was very overcooked and rubbery, that was a shame as everything else was cooked to perfection.

Breakfast was also heavenly and probably the best eggs benedict I’ve had – and I’ve had a lot!!!

I also had one of the best massages of my life from a very lovely and highly experienced Thai lady – I changed my appointment from 60 minutes to 90 minutes as I didn’t want it to end!!!!

This hotel clearly strives for perfection in everything it does and I would say on the whole it reaches that level.

I know there’s no such official classification but I would definitely rate Il Salviatino as a 6 star hotel and can’t recommend a stay here more highly. I certainly hope to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryanpa_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I don't often write reviews, but this hotel deserves one. My girlfriend and I stopped off here on the way to Rome for 2 nights. It turns out, it was the highlight of our entire Italy trip! Granted the building is amazing, the rooms are lovely but most of all the staff are amazing. I've stayed in a lot of hotels across the world, but never come across this type of service anywhere. We missed the last shuttle to the city on our departure and they were kind enough to pay for a taxi to drop us off in the city. The little things like leaving goodbye sweets and water when you leave in the cab, really left a lasting memory. This place literally worth every penny, they don't have sneaky charges like most 5 star hotels which is a refreshing change. Expect to be surprised on a regular basis on their overall generosity too. If I worked for a hotel like this, I would be proud to be part of the team. Thank you everyone, looking forward to my return very soon.
Rav

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vllmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Many experiences are shaped by expectations and I had high hopes for a perfect stay here. It was Andrew Harper Hideaway of the year and Ingadare just gave excellent review. I was expecting more. Beautiful villa. Lovely views. Excellent massages in spa. All food was good. We had 2 rooms. One very small but with Dome view. Junior Suite was large but sitting area very overcrowded with oversized contemporary furniture that seems incongruous with style of villa. Not comfortable use of space. Bedroom in contrast sparsely furnished (only a bed and 2 tiny bedside tables) and dark- only 2 bedside lamps. One of the lamps was not working. (The guest ambassador told us at check in that they couldn't figure out how to fix it. Had to call and ask for a floor lamp for room so we could see in luggage.) No art work or accessories in our rooms. Small tray with nepresso machine and a second with some drinks and snacks. Ice bucket never filled. Many public rooms all filled with square tables & table cloths but no food service there- had to wind down into the basement part of the hotel for restaurant. Wanted quick casual meal one night but didn't meet dress code. They seemed confounded and could only think to offer room service. Had to ask if we could have room service in the bar or in one of the empty lounge rooms. Staff all very friendly but service not at the high standards that I had expected given the hype. "Service ambassador" concept here did not add to the quality of the experience as it had at for example, Singita. I recommend but not unequivocally.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in with the best service we have ever experienced to match. We arrived up a wonderful winding driveway and was greeted by our ambassadors and offered a glass of rose prosecco or water. we opted for the rose prosecco which proceeded to make my drink of choice for the rest of the 3 nights. As soon as you arrive you know you are going to experience something special and it does not fail you!. The Villa is stunning and you are carefully guided through the Villa by your ambassador to the terrace to wait for your room to be ready. No problem the view is amazing and so beautiful that you dont even care. The staff constantly make sure you are cared for and if you need any more drinks or anything else without being too intrusive. they know when to ask and how many times. Then you are taken to your room , another amazing find, everything is beautiful. ! You wander around the hotel greeted by all staff the whole way round and they offer to walk with you to various places if you so wish. No many english channels on the telly but no bother movies are free. we were a little hesitant at first re not being able to see any prices so we asked to see the bar drinks menu just so we could keep a track of spending as it is easy in this place to spend some money, but i never felt like it wasnt worth it here. Shuttle into town also perfect and a well oiled machine and you will be greeted each time by the staff upon your return. Breakfast is another amazing experience, you get a little pre breakfast foodie gift from chef, our first one was a chocolate mousse,, mmm then toast and pastry basket then you can choose whatever breakfast you want. we had to ask as our reservation said american but you can have anything. we didnt need lunch after put it that way. we headed into town one day and changed our minds to come back for the car for a drive and the ambassadors must have thought something was wrong as they asked if everything was okay. They really really do want you to have the best experience here and it shows. We went out the next day raining on way back and was greeted by the staff and umbrellas to keep us dry . We had another drink and was greeted by drink plus day nibbles to go with them fab as always. Then we were having our anniversary dinner in the hotel the last night. We went down for a drink before hand and again with drink came dinner nibbles ! . Down to the lovely dinner room. Again chef special delivered prior to meal, then a whole host of bread sticks and bread, at which point the bread sticks got refilled and my husband hadnt even noticed them replace as service was so swift. Okay at dinner they ran out of the rose prosecco which was a bit of a shame but i had the normal prosecco instead which was equally as nice. An ambassador came over to say hi to us over dinner and asked if we were having a nice time and i said yes it was our anniversary and it was a very special evening. After dessert and another chef special we left the room where the manager and another staff member said they didnt know it was our anniversary but asked if everything was okay. Of course it was. Back to the room and there is a note with a bottle of prosecco and two glasses for us courtesy of the hotel. We headed home the next morning and me with a heavy heart. I have already asked my husband to take me back. Florence was lovely but this hotel made the trip ai can honestly say is the best hotel i have ever stayed in with the best service. I love it. We wasnt sure about tipping so gave money at the end and we was told it all goes into a pot and is shared by all staff. This is long i know but i could go on about this hotel i love it so much.

Room Tip: any room is good.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsteel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
825 reviews
Villa Cora
#5 of 411 in Florence
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £295 - £764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing