We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in Florence”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #87 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Florence”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We booked a table for dinner in the restaurant La terraze, which offers tuscany cuisine. The all things were perfect - the view, very attentive staff, live piano music, and of course the food. We will recommend this place to all our friends and will come back here next time!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    105
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
107
491
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grez-Doiceau
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed with our family 5 nights using 2 Deluxe rooms. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, recently renovated using the latest technologies, and decorated with a lot of style. There is clearly a very nice atmosphere and a very pleasant smell when staying in this hotel (they place perfume bottles everywhere....). The rooms are very nice, perfectly equiped and always very clean. The staff is very friendly and very polite. The food in the restaurant is truly excellent, and the terrasse has a stunning view of Firenze (evening drinks and dinner on the terasse will remain unforgetable). There is also a magnificient library in the main building. And there is a very convenient hourly mini-bus shuttle to the city center. On the other side, there are also some negative points : all the drinks are clearly over-priced (8€ for a small bottle water, 10€ for a soft drink, 11€ for a beer, 23€ for a glass of wine, ...). Watch out for your invoice when checking out...! There is plenty of staff everywhere, but sometimes they lack efficiency (I think that the hotel would be better run less with less staff). Finally, there is a very annoying dusty path leading from the entrance of the domain to the main building. Every time that a car is going up or down the hill using this path, clouds of dust are created. Which means that after several days, your car or some of our personal belongings (such as your shoes or your clothes after the evening dinner on the terrase) are covered with dust, and this is not worth a 5-stars hotel.... They should clearly pave this way as soon as possible. All-in-all, this is a very nice hotel, beautifully decorated, with great food, but over-priced for its drinks and its swimming pool (which is quite small and far from the main building). I would recomend to stay there only 2 nights maximum.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Florence is a delight, and this hotel is nearly wonderful, but.....
We had too many (albeit minor) niggles, that would be disappointing in cheaper and less aspiring hotels; room not made up at 4pm, shower tiles needing repair, limited access to the (beautiful) veranda because of a large 'event'- no doubt to further publicise the hotel, etc. Maybe I sound unreasonable- but remember the size of the bill!
The 'ambassador' idea is fine, but we ended up dealing with 5 different people over three days; not really the personal service they claim.
Grounds are beautiful (but too many weeds in the formal areas). Views over Florence make the location perfect.
Acid test- sorry, but when we go back, we'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyMe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebortolato, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Sir, Madame,

Thank you for your comment with regards to your stay at Il Salviatino. We have taken into serious consideration all the point listed and I would like to apologies with you for not being able to make your experience an exceptional one.

I will be grateful if you could contact me directly and for taking the time to share with me your thought, so please find herewith my details:
simone.giorgi@salviatino.com
+39.3491261906

Kindest Regards,

Simone Giorgi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is fabulous in every way. The restoration of this 15th century palazzo has been done to perfection. You are greeted as you arrive by name and enter into a gorgeous library. There is no traditional "front desk" so you feel like you are an invited house guest at a villa. My room was large and the firnishings very chic. I especially loved the TV in the mirror. Free internet service made keeping in touch with home easy. The shuttle down to the city was easy and convenient so don't let the location in Fiesole deter you at all. The views are breathtaking!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlstrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

There is much to praise at Il Salviatino but much to criticise. We visited in July with our children who were given room 28. The smell on entering the room was unpleasant - not a smell coming from the toilet more the drains. The hotel was full so a room change was not possible so we agree that they would put up with the odour and sleep with the windows open. The hotel promised that our bill on departure would reflect the situation. Sadly it didn't - the proposed discount going no where near far enough to compensate for the mutliple mosquito bites suffered by our children who with hindsight should not have been asked to put up with the awful smell and the easy access afforded the mosquitos. On a more general note the views are indeed stunning and the building itself impressive but as a fellow guest said "style over subtance" sums the hotel up. The pool is small and the adjacent areas shabby with limited numbers of loungers and umbrellas, uneven paving sliding down a shallow incline all accessed from a very dusty main drive. Service is OK but the lack of a front desk makes finding someone to help a challenge on occasions. The food is of a good standard but it does tend to arrive at the table bordering on cold particularly if there is a breeze and you are sitting a distance from the outdoor kitchen. Even the staff in more candid moments are prepared to admit the hotel falls short. All in all a rather dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebortolato, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Sir, Madame,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us, and I'm sincerely sorry that you left with the sensation that your family has not been taken care properly.

I will be grateful if you could contact me personally and give me the chance to talk to you further.

Simone Giorgi
General Manager

simone.giorgi@salviatino.com
+39.3491261906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Il Salviatino. This is a beautiful place, very elegant, great decoration, very stylish... The park is fantastic, the personnel, for most of them, is really nice and professional for most of them.

Now a few things to improve as this hotel is still quite young (1 year only):
- the cuisine is the weak point of this hotel, as americans would say, it taste like chicken... too bad being in italy!
- the cleaning is strangely organized and they have a bad habit of putting your clothes in your luggage.... please fold them and leave the on the bed.
- the rooms are nice but can be small
- piano at the restaurant at lunch and dinner until midnight is too much... luxury is also about enjoying quietness moreover in such a beautiful setting
- organizing large event (150 persons) during high season is a bad idea, think about your guest paying +600 EUR/night... not fair !

Now, I am sure that they will improve a few things. for sure we will go back there for our next trip to Florence hoping that they will correct the above issues.

PS: great treatments at the SPA!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebuchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

At our first glance we wove up a long and winding driveway adorned with beautiful sculptures and gardens.Set in an idyllic setting high in the hills above Florence we were welcomed by the wonderful staff at Il Salviatino.

From the minute you arrive you are greeted by the staff .They are there to cater to your every want and need while not being intrusive.
We were lead to our charming room tastefully decorated with a spectacular view of Florence.
It was then we learned we had our own private service ambassador Leno.

Leno was so kind and knowledgeable and made arrangements for a private tour of Florence and he coordinated many other things for us during our stay.

The Spa and Pool go hand and hand with all of the other amenities of the hotel.

Dining at Il Salviatino is another 5 star culinary experience.
Everything is so fresh with an artful presentation.
At ever meal the chef sends out a tasters surprise .
While dining under the canopy and looking out at the gardens Il Salviationo has once again exceeded our expectations.Music .
The piano music set a lovely ambiance for dinner and drinks.
During our 3 day sojourn we listened to him every night.

I can not say enough nice things about this hotel and their extraordinary staff and Gm Simone Giorgi.
I am back home now and still dreaming about the homemade croissants , food and impressive wine list.
Yes I am well travelled and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
One last thing.
The shuttle service is a nice addition .
On the hour it takes you into Florence .

Do your self a favor and stay at the grand hotel.
I will be back !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMariePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
882 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#33 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing