We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you enter Il Salviatino.. you will never want to leave...”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #84 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed in Il Salviatino for 4 nights on bussiness trip and whilst some meetings were taking place there at the same time and I must say that it has been amazing I find it very hard to find another place that can equal Il Salviatino.

Located in a place with privileged view where you can enjoy the amazing view of Firenze city or the forrest depending onthe room you are staying; the building itself and the interior are just stunning!

Every single dertail is taken care of in Il Salviatino, from the moment so step out of the car/Taxi and enter this amazing place.

The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, anything you may need they will be ready to assist you with promptines and always with kindness and a smile on their face making you feel incredibly welcome and at home during all your stay. Service Ambassador is fabulous, having a dedicated person available all times for anything you may need during your stay.

A special mention to Cristiano Brizzi which incredibly helpful not only during my stay in the hotel but also assisting during the event taking place there durind the same period of time.

Breakfast menu and food was great in Il Salviatino, and as usual lovely and very professional staff going always the extra mile to make sure you were happy and all your requirements were met.

In summary, Il salviatino is a very magical place, located in an amazing location with beautifully decorated spaces and rooms and always very professional, efficient, friendly and attentive staff who will do all their outmost to make you feel very welcome and at home. No matter how high your expectations can be,,they will be certainly exceeded.

No matter how much I could write about it , it is a place to be experienced!...Il Salviatino is a place you will fall in love with..

Coming back to Il Salviatino??? No doubt about it! I definitely will!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarisaRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said?

Not a great deal! The hotel itself was absolutely stunning with incredible views, amazing architecture and wonderful surroundings.

The food was what I would call nearly Michelin star quality but was just missing some tiny elements to make it perfect (e.g. I ordered a brandy after a delicious meal and they didn't warm it up). That said, the breakfasts - my god the breakfasts - I could have stayed there all day! Sitting outside looking down into Florence with the most sumptuous pastries and amazing dishes - nothing was too much trouble. Overall, the food was expensive, but no more so than you would expect in a hotel of this quality (although £11 quid for a pot of tea was a bit steep!).

The staff were flawlessly polite throughout our stay and very eager to help and for the most part were brilliant. They did have a little trouble with one or two of our requests which was something of a surprise (the concierge couldn't organise some tickets for us, so we had to trudge across town to get them). I'm being a little harsh here, but when paying this sort of cash, I expect a lot in return (and usually get it at other 5* places).

The regular shuttle service into town was great and the drivers were friendly, helpful and polite - if you miss the shuttle, expect to pay about 20 euros to get to/from town.

In summary, I would have no hesitation in staying there again - in fact I really hope we get to. It was a magical place and if your budget stretches this far, get it booked!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I just left Il Salviatino this morning and I feel compelled to share our amazing experience with anyone who will listen! This hotel takes your breath away when you drive up the winding drive to the grand building and walk in to see the soaring painted ceilings. The "service ambassadors" and the restaurant staff speak flawless english and went out of their way to make sure our every need was met. We had tea and coffee served in silver teapots in the library everyday with delicious pastries. Breakfast every morning was lovely and whatever you desired was served along with flaky croissants, brioche and yummy custard filled pastries. Our room was quite large and charming with large windows that overlooked the gardens. Il Salviatino is a magical place and was beyond my wildest expectations. We will be back!! Thank you to everyone who made our trip to Florence so special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonnevie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

we enjoyed our 2 days in the hotel and found the staff helpful and friendly. The room seemed incomplete and required some additional furniture.The public areas were fine. When we went to the restaurant whilst it was raining we had to exit the hotel and walk around. The property is about 20 mins plus from the city. It has great views of the city and Dumo

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrottermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many hotels, whether they were small hotels or chains or luxurious Hotels. This hotel is by far the best place I've stayed.
The staff is so friendly and welcoming and they pamper you to the end. The food at the various restaurants is delicious. Not to mention the serenity and peacefulness of the place. You leave refreshed and truly re-energized.
I would definitely go back again.... hopefully soon

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michmoch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The last time I stayed at Il Salviatino, the hotel was relatively new, and this newness, combined with it being my first experience in Florence and at Il Salviatino, resulted in a magical stay. This time around (in November 2011), I knew what to expect, and I was more familiar with the city of Florence and with Fiesole, where the hotel is located. That said, I again fell under the spell of this wonderful property. The service was even better than I remembered (the staff was attentive to my every need), and the restaurant Grappolo terrific--I just love their pasta and meat dishes. It was almost winter, so the weather was conducive to staying inside. Which I did. I enjoyed treatments at the luxurious spa, spent time by the fire reading and enjoyed specialty drinks at the bar. All in all, I felt spoiled and pampered--and wished I could live like this every day of my life!

Room Tip: I would opt for the rooms overlooking Florence. The view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My wife, baby son and I stayed for about a week in December - I like going to Italy's busier places in the winter as the museums are far emptier. Weather was pretty good, so we were lucky. I found Il Salviatino through Mr and Mrs Smith. It wasn't obviously a baby-friendly place and this was our first trip with him, so we were very pleased. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our first room was beautiful but full of baby-unfriendly stone steps and we were moved (upgraded) without any fuss. Food is superb and the chef was happy to mix up some plain paste (for us) and blended veg (for him) alongside the excellent menu. I imagine the place gets pretty busy in summer but it was delightful to have much of it to ourselves. Minibuses were suspended but they kindly organised (and paid for) taxis into town. Spa was good, too.
The decor is fine - I don't particularly like the trendy style (Costes, etc) of dark room lighting, ubiquitous mood music and everything drenched in perfume. Here it works, although I'd probably take out about half of the urns of scent in every room. Above all, we were really impressed by the people who were as friendly as they could be. It's clearly designed for adults and they coped well with an inexperienced young family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricepudding21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
845 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 410 in Florence
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £238 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing