We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #84 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you can't stay here at least have dinner outside- absolutely amazing and breathtaking. Property is a beautiful mix of modern and elegantly classic. Truly an amazing spot in Florence and nice to get a bit out of the city but close enough to pop in and out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MereLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and felt very much at home. Warm welcome from the staff, particularly Guiseppe who is faultless and from the kitchen, Domenico in particular who made us smile each day. The food is truly excellent and they deserve a Michelin star.
We plan to return in the summer when it is warmer and make use of the pool.
I had a thai massage in the spa which again was perfection.
Grazie, Cara and Marco

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the Duoma and ask for a bathtub as this is not standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jetsetteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Arrived late on a Saturday evening but nothing was a problem. Service from gate house, reception through to room and restaurant was excellent. The correct amount of professional attention without pouring it on.
We even were given a quick guided tour and history of the property on our arrival and shared a glass of champagne whilst looking out over the roof tops of a marvellous vista, Florence by night.
On the other hand we felt the restaurant was a very nice atmosphere but did not overwhelm us when it came to eating . Yes it was good, apart from one bizarre matching of artichoke and Lamb, but not to Michelin star. A little disappointing for a fantastic hotel in 'Italy!'
However the staff in the restaurant were very good.
Breakfast was fantastic and very much a dream for those who just wish to eat, read, relax and eat some more! We were not rushed but perhaps it was the time of year as the hotel was very quiet.
Highly recommended but I would say keep your eyes pealed for deals. It makes it all the more enjoyable!
I would love to return for a long weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely touches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I do agree with other reviews that this is really a lovely hotel however I can't give the hotel 5 stars as I think for the price of the hotel there are a few issues which I am not sure warrant the value of the hotel. The hotel is really in a stunning location and the villa has been really lovingly and sympathetically restored. The bedrooms are very elegant and grand and there are a lot of very good touches within the room including Nespresso machine. The library with literally hundreds of books in every language is a really good touch. The shuttle service into town is excellent you are not left waiting long for a lift.

My main issue with the hotel was the very long underground passage which takes you to the newly built restaurant. The passage is damp and completely wrong for the type of hotel it is trying to be. Equally the restaurant itself is in a dark room which is such a shame as the views are spectacular and yet the restaurant is completely hidden away. We ate dinner on our first night and the food was very disappointing and unbelievably expensive for what it is. A fruit salad cost 20euro. What's more the food is not representative of the simple good quality locally sourced geniune food that Tuscany is known for. Considering there are so many delicious places to eat in Florence at a fraction of the price the restaurant in the hotel felt a little pretentious.

There is a lot that is wonderful about this hotel but also a few things outstanding issues which mean I can't give it the 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Spiers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano P, Direttore generale at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we carefully pay attention about the issues regarding the restaurant.
Our mission is to provide a great value for the money paid and for this reason room rates includes:
A la carte breakfast, high speed wi-fi internet, in-house movie, in room espresso coffee, free mineral water, parking, shuttle service to and from the city and also the ambassador service at your disposal should you prefer to have dinner in your room or anywhere else in the hotel.

All of the above in the contest of a multimillion renovation that brought a 15th century villa in to a luxury hotel . “Il Salviatino” is an historical building protected by the government and the long corridor that leads to our restaurant was the best possible solution… we can say… is the effort for the pleasure of living the history. Of course it makes a big difference in spring or summer when clients enjoy the view of the Duomo while dining.
Our restaurants cannot be dissimilar from the hotel: Genuine and fresh items prepared and served by professional employees , within a luxury contest of top quality linen, personalized silvered cutlery, extra fine crystal glasses, luxury china and all added value that are expected from us to provide a dining experience rather than just food.
I am conscious that is reflected in the price and it leave me sad to know that we were not able to transmit the passion and the added value even a simple fresh sliced fruits plated gives at “il Salviatino”.
Thanking you again for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you back and personally stay at your disposal for any further comment you may have.
With best regards
Stefano Plotegher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed in Il Salviatino for 4 nights on bussiness trip and whilst some meetings were taking place there at the same time and I must say that it has been amazing I find it very hard to find another place that can equal Il Salviatino.

Located in a place with privileged view where you can enjoy the amazing view of Firenze city or the forrest depending onthe room you are staying; the building itself and the interior are just stunning!

Every single dertail is taken care of in Il Salviatino, from the moment so step out of the car/Taxi and enter this amazing place.

The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, anything you may need they will be ready to assist you with promptines and always with kindness and a smile on their face making you feel incredibly welcome and at home during all your stay. Service Ambassador is fabulous, having a dedicated person available all times for anything you may need during your stay.

A special mention to Cristiano Brizzi which incredibly helpful not only during my stay in the hotel but also assisting during the event taking place there durind the same period of time.

Breakfast menu and food was great in Il Salviatino, and as usual lovely and very professional staff going always the extra mile to make sure you were happy and all your requirements were met.

In summary, Il salviatino is a very magical place, located in an amazing location with beautifully decorated spaces and rooms and always very professional, efficient, friendly and attentive staff who will do all their outmost to make you feel very welcome and at home. No matter how high your expectations can be,,they will be certainly exceeded.

No matter how much I could write about it , it is a place to be experienced!...Il Salviatino is a place you will fall in love with..

Coming back to Il Salviatino??? No doubt about it! I definitely will!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarisaRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said?

Not a great deal! The hotel itself was absolutely stunning with incredible views, amazing architecture and wonderful surroundings.

The food was what I would call nearly Michelin star quality but was just missing some tiny elements to make it perfect (e.g. I ordered a brandy after a delicious meal and they didn't warm it up). That said, the breakfasts - my god the breakfasts - I could have stayed there all day! Sitting outside looking down into Florence with the most sumptuous pastries and amazing dishes - nothing was too much trouble. Overall, the food was expensive, but no more so than you would expect in a hotel of this quality (although £11 quid for a pot of tea was a bit steep!).

The staff were flawlessly polite throughout our stay and very eager to help and for the most part were brilliant. They did have a little trouble with one or two of our requests which was something of a surprise (the concierge couldn't organise some tickets for us, so we had to trudge across town to get them). I'm being a little harsh here, but when paying this sort of cash, I expect a lot in return (and usually get it at other 5* places).

The regular shuttle service into town was great and the drivers were friendly, helpful and polite - if you miss the shuttle, expect to pay about 20 euros to get to/from town.

In summary, I would have no hesitation in staying there again - in fact I really hope we get to. It was a magical place and if your budget stretches this far, get it booked!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I just left Il Salviatino this morning and I feel compelled to share our amazing experience with anyone who will listen! This hotel takes your breath away when you drive up the winding drive to the grand building and walk in to see the soaring painted ceilings. The "service ambassadors" and the restaurant staff speak flawless english and went out of their way to make sure our every need was met. We had tea and coffee served in silver teapots in the library everyday with delicious pastries. Breakfast every morning was lovely and whatever you desired was served along with flaky croissants, brioche and yummy custard filled pastries. Our room was quite large and charming with large windows that overlooked the gardens. Il Salviatino is a magical place and was beyond my wildest expectations. We will be back!! Thank you to everyone who made our trip to Florence so special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonnevie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 410 in Florence
870 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 410 in Florence
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#34 of 410 in Florence
1,234 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 410 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £287 - £626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing