We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #90 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

What a wonderful hotel. The hotel website speaks for itself but it's the quality and level of the service that makes this one so special. One of the nicest hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim_Ingersoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    103
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
103
475
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at il saviatino in early June. Great hotel. Beautiful room with a view over Florence. Very comfortable, beds to die for! The staff are outstanding, nothing is too much of an effort. Great recommendations on things to see that are off the obvious tourist path particularly the passage between the Uffizi and the Pitti Palace. Only downside is that because of the poor weather they hadnt opened the dining on the terrace which made the eating experience a bit disappointing. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are particularly good. Avoid the garden suite. It gives you a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floristonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

After reading so many ecstatic reviews, we had very high expectations of our five night stay...but we came away with mixed feelings. Maybe it's a cultural difference, but we note that most of the rave reviews are from Americans, and certainly compared to the standards in the US, Il Salviatino offers an experience that is good. However if you have stayed in Asian hotels, then the best we could give for an overall rating is four (minus).

Simple things like repeated requests for our room number at each meal... We had the only red head in the hotel all week, and the number of other parties staying there never rose above five, so it wasn't going to be hard to remember our names. Just seemed rather impersonal. Often plates were cleared by the waiter standing between us and removing one from the left and one from the right. One waitress always laid the cutlery left handed! Another reached across me several times.

The Pool is set some way away from the main building, down the drive, and you were never sure if you could order a tea tray or a glass of wine or not. We did get bitten badly by mosquitoes.

The highlight of the stay was the food. Wonderful, delicious, light, authentic Italian with a modern twist. And effortlessly adjusted to be gluten-free, with gluten-free bread, pastries and amuse-bouches. We also appreciated that they let us "dine around" at a restaurant in the city one evening even though that wasn't strictly in our half-board deal.

The room was not as lux as we expected. I have never paid so much for a room that didn't have a bath, only a shower. There was plenty of space, but only one armchair and rather limited wardrobe and drawer space. In fact the TV hidden in the mirror was rather small to watch from the other end of the room.

They knew we had two celebrations during the week and brought us a special cake and a glass of Prosecco each on our wedding anniversary dinner, and then rather oddly brought a small cake to the table at breakfast for my birthday. We only met the manager as we checked out, and that was possibly because we had been served two lots of English Breakfast tea that smelt and tasted of fish and felt he needed to explain they had found the problem was the water...

So, it was a very pleasant stay, graced with wonderful food, but it really did not justify the exceptional reviews we had read. And having committed our special double celebration to their hands, felt the Il Salviatino had let the opportunity to impress slip through their fingers. Good, but certainly not exceptional

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Madame, dear Sir,
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. It is always a great pleasure for me and I always try to meet all my clients not because I have to, but because I love to do it.. Allow me to say that our clients comes from all over the world and are used to the highest hotel's standard. We take the positive comments as motivation to carry on in what we do and the constructive comments as a way to improve. We took good note of all your points and we look forward to welcoming you back to il Salviatino to prove they were helpful. for inforamtion since it stop raining mosquitos are no longer present.
With best regards
Stefano Plotegher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

In the middle of May my sister and myself were pampered in this medieval villa for two days and two nights. We chose very carefully this hotel for last two days of our vacation and we were not disappointed at all !! We were travelling for many days through half Italy and we found the most beautiful hotel nowhere else but in the heart of Tuscany.
As soon as we arrived (passing with our car through the rose garden admiring the view of the villa) there was an ambassador welcoming us with two glasses of delicious sparkling wine served right tempreture and leading us through the different elegant rooms that, even if we were blind, could be destinguished easily by different divine perfumes.
There was a charming view of the whole city on the terrace and candles made very romantic atmosphear, we enjoyed all the beautiful sensations for a while, than the ambassador showed us (following our desire) some magic places of the hotel including the top floor Ojetti Suite with its own jacuzzi and private balcony from which you can "touch the sky" surrounded by green hills and, in the backgroung, Florence historical center.
In our room there were all the ammenities of the best quality and aroma, soft bathrobes, italian coffe machine, complimentary bar with different soft drinks, beer, water, snacks and fresh ice ... Beside our baggages we found also a bottle of the delicious sparkling wine and fresh strawberries covered with chocolate in the room.
Before going to sleep you find a night version of your room: slippers next to you bed just ready to be used, sweet surprise on your table together with bottle of fresh water and candle indicating the way to the bathroom (romantic and very useful for the night).
Big mirror become TV or computer screen as soon as you push the buttom on the control remote. You'll find also useful keyboard for computer in your night table.
There is a very nice spa center and two external pools. Unfortunately for us, it was too cold to get in. Next time we'll come back during the summer.
Breakfast was unforgettable. We stayed more than one hour. We felt relaxed and that's why we were postponing our decision to get up from the table full of the best delicacies. I suggest excellent pancakes with marple syrup and fresh berries. Obviously capuccino and pastery basket can not be missed. My sister admired more all the home made marmelades, especially strawbery, apricot and hazelnut cream ... and there is much more to be discovered on the breakfast table.
The hotel transfer took us, in about 10 minutes, to the city center and because the day seemed warm the driver offered us two bottles of chilled water. Having in mind all the special attentions you will get from Il Salviatino staff I would like to warn you. Do not get used to these, otherwise your life will never be that happy as before. There is one and the only solution. Come back every time you need to be treated as a queen.
I can not wait to come back !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth7953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We recently enjoyed the most amazing 3 night stay at Il Salviatino, the main reason being we chose to have our wedding reception held at the hotel. From the moment we travelled from Scotland to visit the hotel, we knew we had chosen the perfect location for our wedding.

We met with Events Coordinator Cristiano Brizzi, who was the most genuine, helpful and accommodating person you could meet. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he reassured us it was our special day and he would do everything within his powers to accommodate our requests. He even generously allowed us to stay within the Ojetti Suite, which is without doubt the most amazing room we have ever stayed in. Cristiano organised appointments for us to meet florists during our stay and also allowed us to try our wedding menu, which consisted of the most amazing 7 course banquet.

Whilst our reception was held within the hotel, we were officially married nearby within the Town Hall of Fiesole. The hotel offer the services of a wedding coordinator, who was fantastic! She took care of everything regarding the ceremony, all the legal documentation and was always available by phone/email to help with our endless questions. She was the consummate professional!!!!!
During the wedding day itself, she orchestrated the whole day, directing guests to and from locations, as well as acting as a translator during the ceremony.

During our 3 night wedding stay, we were given a beautiful Deluxe Room with a Dome view, which was perfect! And all the rooms we booked for our family were lovely. The service in the hotel was incredible, each member of staff (service ambassadors) were very polite, friendly and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Running up to our actual wedding, Sara Orselli took charge of everything to make our day perfect, she met with us on numerous occasions to discuss the finer details of the day, organised all the transport for the wedding and was available at all times to help with any last minute issues. Sara was extremely genuine, kind and considerate and again a consummate professional.

During our reception we firstly enjoyed Aperitifs on the terrace and gardens of Il Salviatino, which was then followed by the most amazing 7 course dinner, overlooking Florence on the terrace of the hotel. The food and wine were both out of this world and the experience was made even more special by dining outside, by candle light on the terrace.

There is so much more we could say in praise of Il Salviatino, but we would be here forever!
This is truly the most amazing hotel and we are already planning our return next year.

Thank you everyone at Il Salviatino.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have enjoyed the stay in the hotel Il Salviatino very much. The view from the hotel was wonderful, the gardens gave the place feel of calm and relaxedatmosphere, the whole building was very stylish and pleasant to explore with large library to spend evenings in. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff took excellent care of us at all times. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that special treat during their travel.

Room Tip: Look for the room with the view or the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristyna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

It has been over a month from our wedding there and we still get people talking about it .....
The thing is, all we really did was choose this amazing place..!! all the rest is the hotel!!
It started when we were looking for a place to get married, seeing so many places was really really hard, but as soon as we arrived to Il Salviatino, there was a total change.
It was afternoon close to evening time, there was a kind of an "apretivio" that they had,just like they have every evening during this time, we were so welcome and so glad to meet the staff. You can see that the people that work there REALLY do LOVE theire job, you get to feel it in every little detail that you ask or that they notice with out you even asking.
The place is by fare amazing (had my share of luxury places, which is why i feel it matter to say this), and the food- the chef is so special and so opened minded and he cookes with insperation, The staff were sooooo great and helpfull they orginesed all that needed to be done, they have really the most welcoming staff i have got into contact with.
Every one of our guests felt special and as if he is getting a VIP treat, which was really cool.
In a word AMAZING, in two BOOK NOW :-), i will have some more pictures soon and i will upload some, so you can see what im talking about and even so.... when you are there you get to understand...;-) I wish you would be lucky to spend some time there.

Room Tip: wanna hear a funny thing: we had over 7 people come to us saying they got the best room..., if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deniperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#26 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing