We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best stays in Florence”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #92 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my best stays in Florence”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Have been to Florence many times but I have to say Il Salviatino is by far my best hotel stay there. The property is stunning, elegant and comfortable. The library has a great collection of Art books and was very tastefully designed. The staff was absolutely welcoming and everything that I needed was handled efficiently. I will definitely stay again and try one of the suites next time around.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful for special occasions. I would ask for rooms facing the skyline of Florenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MylaCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    105
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
114
497
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the wonderful Il Salviatino Hotel during our recent summer trip. I have been in the travel/airline industry for many years and have had the pleasure of staying at some of the most wonderful hotels in the world, I have to say that Il Salviatino is one of my favourite. The location, food, accommodation and setting are wonderful. The staff are all amazing and nothing at all was ever any trouble, they did everything to make our trip truly special and memorable. The shuttle service they offer every hour into town was great and always on time. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Florence!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly1970-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

In short this place is amazing and a great find to add to those of you looking for a high end, well run, full service boutique hotel. It is truly the authentic Italian Villa that you may have imagined. We are repeat visitors to Italy and have stayed in many of the best hotels as ranked by Travel and Leisure or Conde Nast magazines - and this compares or beats many of them that are the obvious choices when travelling. As you may know, it is located just at the beginning of the hills of Fiesole, but very close to the City Center. This is important for those travelling to Florence, particulary in the tourist crowded summer months, as it gives you the best of both worlds. Access to all of Florence's art and history and the ability to come back to an incredibly relaxing multi-tiered pool after a hot day of touring the city.

My family recently stay at Salviatino with our 3 small children (ages 8 thru 12). The staff is amazing and will do anything you ask, even prior to arrival. I may have sent 50 emails to the concierge staff as part of my planning, and every one was answered promtly and professionally. They went out of their way to offer the best possible room to connect and offer it at the best rate possible. Quick and easy. When we arrived, it was as if I already knew many of these fine people as they all came outside to greet us, take our bags and bring us to the gorgeous library for a cocktail. They introduced themselves to each of my children and addressed them by their first names - a precursor that children are very much welcomed. After a small tour, we went to our room and were extremely pleased (more below). Throughout our trip the Concierge Team (they know who they are!) would remain just how they were in emails. They did everything we asked, made suggestions and dealt with all of our changes and indecison whenever a new idea popped into our minds. Everyone knew where the other left off from day to day should someone be absent and if all else failed the General Manager's presense is obvious. You really get the feeling that you could ask for anything, and they would just smile and see how they could make it happen.

We stayed in the Tegliacci Suite with a connecting room for the children. A description cannot do justice to the incredible and recent restoration of this 500+ year old villa, but the photos on the website are exactly what to expect - in fact, even better if that is possible. The professional photographs on TripAdvisor rather than those taken by guests are actually what your eyes will see when you are actually in your room or on the property. While we were fortunate to be in a large Suite, the connecting room was not, but had the same beautiful finishings and a very large bathroom with a seperate room for the large shower. The irony of the age and restoration of this building is just how well it works. Sometimes in these historic buildings, modern conveniences just dont work as you expect. That is often the charm but can be annoying. Not here. The water pressure is fit for those used to Manhattan type pressure (hard and fast) and the air conditioning can be powered up like a meat locker for those of you that get your wives to allow you to take control. (i did!)

With high ceilings, high-tech touches (like wireless bedside lighting controls and TV's built into the antique mirrors) and a beautiful chic designer aesthetic that mixes the modern with the traditional, you will not be disappointed by your choice. Another great touch added to my favorite part of the day. After touring Florence during a heat wave and resting near the pool late in the afternoon, we would return to the hotel to find a large silver tray of wines, liquor, beer, soda and ice meticulously set up ion the foyer of our floor. Given that there are only a few rooms on each floor, it was like having your own private bar in addition to everything that is already in your room. That said, if you ordered anything to your room, it would be done immediatly. The daily turndown service was more then expected. When we came back from dinner each night, the room was not just clean but all the clothes that were left on the floor by the children were picked up and folded with every shoe perfectly lined up and placed in the closet. Items left out on tables or beds were neatly organized with cold water placed bedside. Along the floors were candles that would give a wonderful glow to the return in the evening with Italian music palying on your TV radio.

The setting is perched on a hill, so whether you are sitting at the pool, having your daily breakfast outside or just looking out your window - you can see from up high the view of Florence and its towering Duomo. The property is deceptively large and lush for those that want to walk the gardens and thre are many areas of common space for such a small number of guests The outdoor dining is beatiful, with a white simple look and lots of locals coming for special occassions and weekends (a good sign). The food was incredible and offeres a bit of a modern twist on the traditional dishes you will experience in many of the area's restaurants. Service was perfect and it is fit for a foodie.

If you think of Salviatino as a home away from home, you will start to get an idea of what they are trying to create. They will help you as much or as little as you want, but you will never feel uncomfortable with any of the people. Some hotels in this category have a certain formality with white tie service, and this one certainly looks and can play the part, but if you are like us, the staff will just make you feel at ease. There is simply a certain comfort and warmth in their "casualness" and hospitality - all while maintaining what you expect in 5 star boutique hotels.

We plan to return!

Room Tip: Look at website and choose. Photo's are correct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CTnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our romantic sojourn through Italy. It made for a wonderful respite from the busy life of Venice before moving on to Rome. Our suite was superb at the top of the Palazzo, with our own lounge/dining room above. The had fabulous views towards Florence and Fiesole in the hills above. The facilities at the hotel are superb, lovely pool/spa complex a short stroll away and a fabulous dining terrace overlooking the Italian Garden and Florence in the distance. A convenient shuttle service to and fom the city is included. Transfers to/from the station are reasonable. The food at the hotel is excellent, Tuscan in orientation but with innovative twists. Cocktails are delicious too. Highlights included the horsd'ouvres, amuse bouche and pre-dessert courses, and originally, a welcome treat at breakfast too. The staff are very friendly, discreet and able to help plan your visit with minimal instruction. All in all, good value for the price - which is commensurate with the quality of the hotel. We loved our stay!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Often stay in 5 star hotels and this is one of my favourites. Stayed at Il Salviatino for the weekend I got married (was getting married elsewhere). From the moment I arrived the service was impeccable. I had asked for my bridesmaids dressed to be steamed by email hen booking the room. When we arrived the staff were expecting them - I did not even have to remind them of the discussion. They also upgraded us because it was my wedding. From there onwards the service was amazing-nothing was too much trouble for the hotel. The bed was super comfy and the towels and products just lovely. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

What a wonderful hotel. The hotel website speaks for itself but it's the quality and level of the service that makes this one so special. One of the nicest hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim_Ingersoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at il saviatino in early June. Great hotel. Beautiful room with a view over Florence. Very comfortable, beds to die for! The staff are outstanding, nothing is too much of an effort. Great recommendations on things to see that are off the obvious tourist path particularly the passage between the Uffizi and the Pitti Palace. Only downside is that because of the poor weather they hadnt opened the dining on the terrace which made the eating experience a bit disappointing. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are particularly good. Avoid the garden suite. It gives you a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floristonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#6 of 412 in Florence
927 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
798 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#81 of 412 in Florence
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#56 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing