We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Idea that Doesn't Work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #96 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Idea that Doesn't Work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

After our stay we happened to channel surf to a British TV travel show that featured this hotel., which came to the conclusion that Il Salviatino was not worth it. As with the show review, there is much to like here, especially in the restaurant, but the team's style falls flat in implementation. Here's our take as to why.

The idea is compelling. No front desk, no hotel accouterments, few rules... as if you were visiting the Villa in yesteryear. On check-in you are greeted like a distinguished visitor and shown to your room. When you check out, they just come to say goodbye, discretely slipping you the bill. If you want a romantic dinner on a remote patio--no problem. If you want a particular dish not on the menu, just call down and (if possible) they get it for you.

Where this breaks down is that you don't know the price for things until later. I suppose talking price would destroy the illusion here, and at this price-point if you have to ask... it is too much. But still we found this uncomfortable, and especially so when we saw the bill! Very similar to the hosts in the TV show: opulent, yes; worth it, not even close. The management should try Eagle's Nest in New Zealand to see how this is done properly.

A major problem is that everyone seems so high-concept here, so impressed with themselves, that nobody seems to care about the "little things". The result is a series of gaffs, catastrophes, and missing details large and small... well documented by other negative reviews here.

The particular complaint we can add is the insufferable habit of staff treating complaints as psychological rather than actual. If you complain, they will sympathize with you and "treat your mood", rather than the problem. This, at least for us, was guaranteed to make our mood worse. The employees here seem like hapless sympathy cartoons. Their hearts will bleed over the slightest complaints, but they won't (can't?) fix anything. In our opinion, this is the major problem with Il Salviatino.

To give a hotel this gorgeous a 2 is about as low as we can go. We advice is not to stay here unless money is no object whatsoever and you want to see a goofy take at an un-hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano P, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear sir,
As you refer to a stay of June 2010 is very difficult to be concrete and helpful : the pictures posted are old and since 2011 we have a front desk. 2010 was the opening year ; since then new staff including myself have arrived and many investment were done. Never the less I am at your complete disposal for anything you may need and if you wish to come back I will be honored to welcome you personally.
Sincerely,
Stefano Plotegher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    103
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
103
475
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I cannot help myself & must stay at Il Salviatino every time I go to Florence even since my first time in 2010. I have been going to Florence for over a decade & have probably tried all their top hotels & have to say this one is by far my favorite! I travel to Florence at least 2 times a year. The villa is just magnificent & the staff is a pleasure! The ground are impeccably kept & everyone is more than accommodating with any request you have. Breakfast is great & dinner in the restaurant VERY well worth it! To have a gorgeous pool to get back to in July with the heat in Florence is great. Also the fact the hotel is on the hills you actually get a nice cool breeze instead of boiling in the center of town. It only takes 10 minutes to get to town & just FYI it took me less time to get to the Fortezza in the morning than some of my friends staying in the center of town! Il Salviatino gives you the best of both worlds - you get to stay on the Tuscan Hills in a fabulous villa with a complete view of Florence & have the accessibility to be at the Duomo in 10-15 minutes in the center of all that Florence has to offer

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Have been to Florence many times but I have to say Il Salviatino is by far my best hotel stay there. The property is stunning, elegant and comfortable. The library has a great collection of Art books and was very tastefully designed. The staff was absolutely welcoming and everything that I needed was handled efficiently. I will definitely stay again and try one of the suites next time around.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful for special occasions. I would ask for rooms facing the skyline of Florenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MylaCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the wonderful Il Salviatino Hotel during our recent summer trip. I have been in the travel/airline industry for many years and have had the pleasure of staying at some of the most wonderful hotels in the world, I have to say that Il Salviatino is one of my favourite. The location, food, accommodation and setting are wonderful. The staff are all amazing and nothing at all was ever any trouble, they did everything to make our trip truly special and memorable. The shuttle service they offer every hour into town was great and always on time. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Florence!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly1970-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

In short this place is amazing and a great find to add to those of you looking for a high end, well run, full service boutique hotel. It is truly the authentic Italian Villa that you may have imagined. We are repeat visitors to Italy and have stayed in many of the best hotels as ranked by Travel and Leisure or Conde Nast magazines - and this compares or beats many of them that are the obvious choices when travelling. As you may know, it is located just at the beginning of the hills of Fiesole, but very close to the City Center. This is important for those travelling to Florence, particulary in the tourist crowded summer months, as it gives you the best of both worlds. Access to all of Florence's art and history and the ability to come back to an incredibly relaxing multi-tiered pool after a hot day of touring the city.

My family recently stay at Salviatino with our 3 small children (ages 8 thru 12). The staff is amazing and will do anything you ask, even prior to arrival. I may have sent 50 emails to the concierge staff as part of my planning, and every one was answered promtly and professionally. They went out of their way to offer the best possible room to connect and offer it at the best rate possible. Quick and easy. When we arrived, it was as if I already knew many of these fine people as they all came outside to greet us, take our bags and bring us to the gorgeous library for a cocktail. They introduced themselves to each of my children and addressed them by their first names - a precursor that children are very much welcomed. After a small tour, we went to our room and were extremely pleased (more below). Throughout our trip the Concierge Team (they know who they are!) would remain just how they were in emails. They did everything we asked, made suggestions and dealt with all of our changes and indecison whenever a new idea popped into our minds. Everyone knew where the other left off from day to day should someone be absent and if all else failed the General Manager's presense is obvious. You really get the feeling that you could ask for anything, and they would just smile and see how they could make it happen.

We stayed in the Tegliacci Suite with a connecting room for the children. A description cannot do justice to the incredible and recent restoration of this 500+ year old villa, but the photos on the website are exactly what to expect - in fact, even better if that is possible. The professional photographs on TripAdvisor rather than those taken by guests are actually what your eyes will see when you are actually in your room or on the property. While we were fortunate to be in a large Suite, the connecting room was not, but had the same beautiful finishings and a very large bathroom with a seperate room for the large shower. The irony of the age and restoration of this building is just how well it works. Sometimes in these historic buildings, modern conveniences just dont work as you expect. That is often the charm but can be annoying. Not here. The water pressure is fit for those used to Manhattan type pressure (hard and fast) and the air conditioning can be powered up like a meat locker for those of you that get your wives to allow you to take control. (i did!)

With high ceilings, high-tech touches (like wireless bedside lighting controls and TV's built into the antique mirrors) and a beautiful chic designer aesthetic that mixes the modern with the traditional, you will not be disappointed by your choice. Another great touch added to my favorite part of the day. After touring Florence during a heat wave and resting near the pool late in the afternoon, we would return to the hotel to find a large silver tray of wines, liquor, beer, soda and ice meticulously set up ion the foyer of our floor. Given that there are only a few rooms on each floor, it was like having your own private bar in addition to everything that is already in your room. That said, if you ordered anything to your room, it would be done immediatly. The daily turndown service was more then expected. When we came back from dinner each night, the room was not just clean but all the clothes that were left on the floor by the children were picked up and folded with every shoe perfectly lined up and placed in the closet. Items left out on tables or beds were neatly organized with cold water placed bedside. Along the floors were candles that would give a wonderful glow to the return in the evening with Italian music palying on your TV radio.

The setting is perched on a hill, so whether you are sitting at the pool, having your daily breakfast outside or just looking out your window - you can see from up high the view of Florence and its towering Duomo. The property is deceptively large and lush for those that want to walk the gardens and thre are many areas of common space for such a small number of guests The outdoor dining is beatiful, with a white simple look and lots of locals coming for special occassions and weekends (a good sign). The food was incredible and offeres a bit of a modern twist on the traditional dishes you will experience in many of the area's restaurants. Service was perfect and it is fit for a foodie.

If you think of Salviatino as a home away from home, you will start to get an idea of what they are trying to create. They will help you as much or as little as you want, but you will never feel uncomfortable with any of the people. Some hotels in this category have a certain formality with white tie service, and this one certainly looks and can play the part, but if you are like us, the staff will just make you feel at ease. There is simply a certain comfort and warmth in their "casualness" and hospitality - all while maintaining what you expect in 5 star boutique hotels.

We plan to return!

Room Tip: Look at website and choose. Photo's are correct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CTnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our romantic sojourn through Italy. It made for a wonderful respite from the busy life of Venice before moving on to Rome. Our suite was superb at the top of the Palazzo, with our own lounge/dining room above. The had fabulous views towards Florence and Fiesole in the hills above. The facilities at the hotel are superb, lovely pool/spa complex a short stroll away and a fabulous dining terrace overlooking the Italian Garden and Florence in the distance. A convenient shuttle service to and fom the city is included. Transfers to/from the station are reasonable. The food at the hotel is excellent, Tuscan in orientation but with innovative twists. Cocktails are delicious too. Highlights included the horsd'ouvres, amuse bouche and pre-dessert courses, and originally, a welcome treat at breakfast too. The staff are very friendly, discreet and able to help plan your visit with minimal instruction. All in all, good value for the price - which is commensurate with the quality of the hotel. We loved our stay!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Often stay in 5 star hotels and this is one of my favourites. Stayed at Il Salviatino for the weekend I got married (was getting married elsewhere). From the moment I arrived the service was impeccable. I had asked for my bridesmaids dressed to be steamed by email hen booking the room. When we arrived the staff were expecting them - I did not even have to remind them of the discussion. They also upgraded us because it was my wedding. From there onwards the service was amazing-nothing was too much trouble for the hotel. The bed was super comfy and the towels and products just lovely. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#59 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, MrandMrsSmith and Destinology so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing