We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #87 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel. For three nights on my honeymoon. Words can not describe what a stunning backdrop Florence. Even in October it looked amazing.

Upon arrival we were handed a glass of Prosecco which was most inviting. Nada the host had kindly upgraded our room, which was superb. It included a Jacuzzi bath and a lovely shower and the quite unique feature of mirror embedded with a TV plus another additional bottle of Procecco.

Breakfast was a lovely benefit with fresh fruit, poached egg, a selection of sweet & savoury dishes.

The Chef was amazingly accommodating with some of request as he asked what we would like for dinner so he could get fresh supplies from the local market. The food was a little on the pricey side but to be honest for the guarantee of quality food and brilliant service well worth it.( I shared the florence steak and it was cooked perfectly as you would expect)

There minibus service was extremely handy service

The staff were extremely helpful especially Nada who went the extra mile to always assist us especially as Air Italia had cancelled our flights and there were also local strikes.

All in All this was the perfect romantic mini get away. If you are looking for luxury, relaxing & romance look no further

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich1e_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    104
    26
    18
    11
See reviews for
104
482
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finchley, North London, England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights for our 25 th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel at home...I wish it was our home! Our room and bathroom were luxurious and we were particularly impressed with the TV in the mirror. The hotel gave us a bottle of prosecco and some fruit for our anniversary.
The views from the room and the terrace restaurant over Florence were stunning. Food and drink were expensive it that's to be expected. My husband has made specific instructions regarding his club sandwich and when they were ignored and he complained they were very apologetic and replaced it.
Breakfast was not what you would expect ...a tray with granola, fruit,yoghurt,bread, jam, eggs, ham and cheese. After the first morning we requested poached eggs and did not want certain things which hey were happy to do for us.
Although out of Florence there was a shuttle bus to go into town and back.
The staff were very helpful regarding restaurant reservations and directions.
On our actual anniversary they were happy to swop the bottle of prosecco for a cold one.
Unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to enjoy the pool area which looked lovely.
While we were there Bulgari was staying in a special garden suite.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to experience a country house feel with attentive service,luxury and beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiebreslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Il Salviatino is a beautiful boutique hotel where the staff are very diligent and make the service that much more personal than staying at any other hotel. We stayed here for our anniversary weekend and were treated to a beautiful suite overlooking the Florence city centre. The views were stunning! The greeting into the hotel was brilliant and the food was very nice. This hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway in a peaceful setting. The only thing that let me down about this hotel (and also the reason I didn't give it an excellent rating) is that the swimming pool is very small and not to the standard that it should be. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a quite getaway just outside of Florence city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just came back from 3 nights at Salviatino. The property is beautiful, a former residence of a walthy local family. Nice view of Florence once is on top of a hill. A little out of town but the van every hour helps a lot. I always look for nice places and rooms, otherwise I prefer to stay home. Therefore, selected the Salviatino suite. Big room, three different levels with small steps, a bathtub, nice mixture of modern and classic decor with a mirror TV. But, there was this terrible smell coming from the bathroom. Maybe the old plummimg but I was so tired from the driving that let it go.complained next morning and by the time I came back from Florence, the room was changed with all my stuff. Breakfast is confused. Good food but lazy service, pls don't get there on rush our, wake up early ! Not enough for a terrible service ? Well, I personally asked the reception to confirm a reservation made in June at L'osteria del Franciscano in Modena, the third best restaurant in the world. My reservation was for Wednesday Oct 16 and we need to confirm up to 1030 am of the day. I requested the night before. Checked out on wednesday, hit the road to Modena, no comments from the recetion at all. When I called the restaurant to let them know that we were 15 minutes late, THE RESERVATION WAS CANCELLED FOR NO CONFIRMATION !!!
Called the hotel and the front desk clerk told me that he couldn't contact the restaurant not last night, not today.....and never let me know. The least to expect from a supposed excellence in service was a simple message or even telling me in my checkout at 9 am, going to Modena only for lunch, stil in time to confirm.....this is a TERRIBLE SERVICE

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your post and your stay at our Hotel, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you with the issues you have mentioned.

Please, be assured that I have personally investigated and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence of the technical issues.

I greatly value your patronage and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to restore your confidence in Il Salviatino.
I am not happy whatsoever with your justified feedback, and it is especially not acceptable that you are not at all satisfied.

I kindly invite you to contact me personally, in order to give me some more details of the negative incidents that have occurred.

Looking forward to receiving your e-mail, I send you my personal best regards.

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have chosen this hotel after reading an article by a famous artistic person and actor about Florence when she stayed in Il Salviatino, and her feedback and photos were stunning. Then this hotel appeared to be in the top rating of Trpadvisor and no surprise why!

The hotel has an amazing property - staying on top of the hill, covered with fairy forest, overlooking the whole Florence. The most beautiful property, garden and house I've ever seen in hotels (and we usually stay in the best hotels worldwide). It is a restored Palazzo, with real oil pictures on the walls, wooden floors and unique rooms. With the first glass of Prosecco offered by the hotel and the amazing scent of the air you know that stay in this house will be just perfect as it truly was. The staff of the hotel call it A House, and they really treat everyone not as "hotel guests", but as a sincerely beloved relatives, I have never experienced such a warm and joyful treat from the hotel. Not to mention that we have been complimentary upgraded to the Junior Suite!

Breakfasts are amazing (served per table, not a usual "buffet", each day with some specialties, you can also add to it anything you want for free. Try the restaurant in the evening - the cuisine and service is outstanding, so no wonder that many guest stays in the hotel for the dinner and also try to return to the hotel earlier. For my birthday I had a nice surprise - candle birthday cake for the breakfast, not to mention how tasty it was - this had set the mood for me for the whole day ahead!

The shuttle bus works as a clock:), the driver can make a whole excursion while driving to the city and it is so soothing to return to the serenity of the villa late at night from the mouse city center!

We used all the restaurants and caffe recommendations the hotel has provided us with (Thanks to Lino!), and they were perfect! The hotel even managed to book us a tickets to Uffizi while its official site showed them all out of sale - so we visited the gallery without any lines and hustle!

Whenever I am back to Firenze, it will be only Il Salviatino.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlata_solely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for my husband's birthday & were almost scared to believe they hype.....but from the minute we had our welcome glass of prosecco, seated on the veranda looking at the stunning scenery, we knew we were going to love it.
Then we had the treat of being shown to our room, the Alfresco suite, which the hotel had upgraded us to. It was just stunning. It took our breath away (the ceiling alone is worth spending 10 minutes looking at)
The only slight downside, in our opinion, was the restaurant. It's downstairs, & once there it could have been anywhere, as there is no view & it lack atmosphere. We found the breakfasts good, but the evening meal was hugely overpriced for what it was. We had far better meals in Florence for half the price.
However, the room, the staff, the hotel, the views & the history seeping out of every crevice more than make up for this.
Would we go back? Yes please!

Room Tip: Eat in florence....there are so many amazing restaurants with a lot more character for a lot less mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

On our honeymoon, we wanted to stay close to Florence, but not downtown. Il Salviatino fit the bill perfectly, only a $25 cab ride or, during the day, a free shuttle stopping right behind the Duomo. We stayed in two different rooms (we initially only booked one night and wanted to stay a second one); both rooms were both impeccably furnished and perfectly clean.

Do ask the staff for suggestions and to help you book reservations. We are more or less food snobs and our favorite meal in Italy was recommended by our guest ambassador. They were also helpful in organizing sightseeing for us.

Room Tip: Book a room with city views. Nothing beats throwing the shutters open in the morning to Florence und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing