We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience with a sumptuous view of Florence”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #93 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mohawkdjc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with a sumptuous view of Florence”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Il Salviatino for two nights during our whirlwind two week driving vacation of Italy. To say that Il Salviatino is one of the best hotels we've ever had the pleasure of staying at is an understatement. The location, the facility itself, the staff, the rooms - everything about the hotel is elegant, tasteful, unequaled. The staff is attentive without being obsequious, and eager to answer questions or help with anything you might ask.
The breakfast trays were absolutely wonderful - a refreshing change from breakfast buffets where you are waiting in line, or walking gingerly around tables of other people. I found breakfast at Il Salviatino to be the best breakfast experience we had anywhere in Italy.
We also had dinner in the restaurant - equally wonderful.
Thank you, Il Salviatino, for a very very special stay at your wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohawkdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear M. Mohawkdjc,

we sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Mostly, we wish to thank you for your explanation of our Breakfast service: it is always very difficult for us to clearly communicate our different concept of breakfast, but your comment on your direct experience is the most clear explanation I've ever read about it!

Please, do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay here.
Warmest regards,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    105
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
110
495
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights as our Minimoon spot before our longer honeymoon and we were thrilled with the location, service and room. Below, you will find a breakdown of our experiences.

First off, a big thanks to Nada, one of the manager who has been great with answering our queries about room types prior to booking and once we were there, we were upgraded from the deluxe room to the dome view room which was great. It was a fantastic surprise and we were thrilled with the quality of the room.This room comes with a jacuzzi bathtub and an armchair in the bathroom as well as a superking bed. The staffs always looked after us well and cater to our every needs.

Secondly, I can assure you about the location that there is a transit shuttle that run on time every hour for going to and from Florence, this take approximately 15-20 mins depending on traffic and times of day. We prefer the hotel to be outside of Florence anyway, especially as it gets crowded very quickly in the center. It is nice to get away from it all each night.

Lastly, The hotel is as beautiful as the picture and the view is always fantastic. I think you cannot compared what you see on photos to when you are actually there. The breakfast served till 11.00 which is a nice touch and the breakfasts were always varied and interesting each days so this was a bonus.

Couple of small suggestions, The barmen, first time we had a drink there, I was asking for the menu and the barman replied that he is the menu so I said to recommend me a calvados and he picked out something and I asked him how much, which he went looking around to produce a menu! Turns out, a glass that he recommends would have cost me 60 euros had I not double checked first. I think guests would appreciate upfront costs more.

Secondly, the hotel restaurant produces a great fine dining cuisine but there is no alternative in the hotel. I think that families or guests who just want a casual lunch would like an alternative menu for when you just want to get a bit of food without using room services.

Overall, a great minimoon and a fantastic romantic where this hotel is built for such occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narut R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mr. Narut R,

thank you very much for your kind response and for the very nice words spent in our favor: we are sincerely glad to know that we managed to make your "minimoon" so special!

Mostly, we would like to thank you for your precious suggestions: we already provided to share and discuss them with the Restaurant and Kitchen team.

We hope that we will have the possibility to welcoming you back soon to il Salviatino: maybe for your first Wedding Anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Thanks to Il Salviatino for its warm welcome and exceptional care during our stay.
We have experienced the true expression of italian "art de vivre", from its fine dinning and outstanding breakfasts to its magnificent atmosphere and delectable views.
How inspiring!
We are already planning our next stay...
Elena and Antoine

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELENANTOINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Elenantoine,

On behalf of all of us at il Salviatino, thank you very much for your positive comments. It is always rewarding to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us at il Salviatino, and as you are planning your next stay with us already,...we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

An exceptional hotel experience in an exceptional city. Me and my friend had choose to stay in one of the hotel's suits, and it was just amazing: exceptionally spacious room, leather sofa, fireplace, luxurious decoration and a mini library with good collection of books the room has a large bathroom, with separate bathtub and rain shower, well equipped room and bathroom. Large windows overlooking the beautiful large private garden. Breakfast served in a nice library, and specially prepared daily with variable fresh choices. The hotel is located over a private hill with its own beautiful garden, and a hotel shuttle is available every hour for transfer to and from the city centre free of charge. Health spa is available but unfortunately we hadn't enough time to enjoy it. The hotel staff are amazingly considerate: on arrival we have found 2 prepared "sejjada and compass" which are required for our prayers as muslims, in addition, on departure which was at 5 am, 2 breakfast boxes were prepared for us before departure. Overall this hotel is exceptionally wonderful, i would recommend it for any traveller searching for a real luxurious relaxation in florence. The best hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctorfatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Doctorfatima,

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, the location and services we offer. It is always very gratifying to hear positive comments from our guests and I will definitely share your comments with all of our staff, as we always do, but particularly your final comment. Thank you very much for such lofty praise.
We look forward to welcoming you again to il Salviatino next time you are in Florence.

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is stunning, the views, the rooms, the garden, the scenery, the service, the food and the ambiance are perfect. The location is perfect because you are only 12 minutes from the center of Florence using the free shuttle of the hotel but the setting is definitely Tuscany so you get the best of both worlds. You can visit Florence and once you are back in the hotel you can feel as if you are in the middle of Tuscany with great views over the city relaxing with a cool drink. You are made to feel at ease and very comfortable in every way. The terrace is unique, we had very good sunny weather and were able to use the great swimming pool as it was heated.

The food proposal is very good, the setting is very romantic, the wine is excellent and the atmosphere is good, I suggest that at least one night you have dinner here it is worth it.

The room was nothing less than spectacular, we had a room with a view over the city and antique italian garden, the tv was in the mirror and was connected to a surround system in which you can play content on your tablet or smarphone using the wifi, very unique indeed. My wife loved the linen and the smell of the entire hotel. When the staff saw we were on a romantic trip while we were at dinner they prepared the room with candles and soft music. The spa treatment for couples was nice, spa is a bit far from hotel but they take you on a golf cart if you want.

I must say this place made a great impression on my wife and I was complemented abundantly over my choice of hotel, thank you salviatino for a great weekend

Room Tip: All rooms are unique but those facing the front are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maderpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Maderpint,

Thank you very much for such a great and detailed review of your stay with us. I am happy to read you have had a great time and especially pleased to hear your wife complimented you on your choice of Hotel.

We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Florence!

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a FANTASTIC hotel, perfectly located in the pristine and serene part of Florence. Loved the amazing views of the historic center of Florence, which was easily reachable by a quick shuttle. The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived until our departure. We never had to worry about a thing! The room was expertly designed for luxury, comfort and style. The gardens were gorgeous by day, and even more unbelievable at night with the addition of twinkling candlelight throughout. The breakfast was the best experience ever . . . our compliments to the chef and staff for their ingenuity! We enjoyed our stay immensely, and will definitely go back as often as we possibly can!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srvinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear SRVINGE,

thank you for taking the time to revise your stay with us: the staff and I are genuinely glad to read your words.

We really hope that you will have soon the possibility to come back, maybe for a longer stay so that you might have enough time to try also our other services: the pool is open and heated now and we are also improving our fitness center and the choice of treatments that we offer in our wonderful SPA.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Il Salviatino!
Warmest regards,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Whether you are going to Florence for honeymoon or for Easter week with family, or even alone,you will feel like Paradis in IL Salviatino ;) the rooms are amazing and view is just fantastic, still miss it! My boyfriend organized an easter week for his family and me all together and hotel added so much pleasure in this stay; if hotel can be perfect from "head to toes ", it's the one:) located in worderful.private area,quiet,singing birds at night,you will be focused on relaxation and pleasure :) Florence atmosphere is there,at walls,in bed,in the garden,during breakfast ( thanks for the green apple tea every day;)) restaurant food is great as well,concierge giving only the best recommendations as well,I can't stop listing all the good things about you,guys! When also gym machines will have TV and radio, I'll be double happy ;)) And thanks to my man again for organizing such an amazing week highest mark to IL Salviatino

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank euromaydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Euromayda,

I really can't find the right words to express you how thankful we are for your wonderful comment.

It has been a great pleasure to have you here with us, and we hope to welcoming you back very soon to our big family!

Sincerely,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 411 in Florence
907 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#71 of 411 in Florence
917 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
779 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#56 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing