We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like a duke of Tuscany”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #91 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

on the hills of Fiesole in a huge age-old park,you will find the briljant villa "Il Salviatino"(do not forget your gps!)From the welcome drink on the terrace,you will enjoy the view over Florence and his cathedral by sunset.Dinner is served in a marvellous spacious library with good typical italian food.Rooms are ample with antiques,tastefully decorated,with all amenities you can wish.
Breakfast with view on the terrace and enjoy live with a prosecco...Service of the staff spotless,a duke worthy,also the ducal price for this heaven

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricklaberche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mr. Patricklaberche,

thank you sincerely for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay with us.

Mostly, we would like to thank you for the nice words spent in favor of our staff: this is the best feedback for our concept, mainly focussed on the service provided to our precious guests.

I'm glad to inform you that I already provided to share your comment with the entire team: we are all so proud!

We hope to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime we send you our warmest regards.
Sincerely,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I are both in our mid fifites and quite well traveled.
We were on a twelve night vacation through Greece and Italy and were to spend
our last two nights at Il Salviatino before heading back to London and the USA.
The first leg of our trip had stays at the Myconian Villa Collection in Mykonos Greece and then
Castello Di Casole in Tuscany. Upon our arrival the manager introduced himself and said he had worked at Castello Di Casole for five years.........
Il Salviatino has a long way to go before it will ever be at the level of either of these hotels.
I will say the staff was welcoming upon our arrival and greeted us with a glass of champage.
We were then taken on a very short hotel tour and asked to wait out in the garden area while they readied our room.
The public areas are quite dark and rather dingy looking. There is no apparent attention to detail.
The outdoor furniture was old and in need of a good scrubbung and the cushions were only half the size of the furniture. It appeared that they had replaced the cushions with dime store replacements versus ones that fit.
After a brief stay in the garden area we were escorted to our room. We were told we had been upgraded to a juniori suite on the upper most floor of the building
There are only two rooms on this floor with their own elevator. I refused the elevator which was only made for two persons at most. Used the public elevator and walked the rest of the way up.
We had two floors to the the room- one with the sleeping area and one with a library. The library contained a dining table and dining chairs. What a waste of space. It should have been set up as a lounge that could have been used. We didn't plan on having dinner for eight??
The bedroom had one window approx. ten feet off the floor. We felt like we had been exiled to the attic. The rooms are in need of a good cleaning. The sky ight over the toilet was dusty and the rope cording around the baseboard needs a good scrubbing.
Sorry we won't be returning...we left the next morning losing one nights stay and we are not sorry.
The hotel reminded both of us out of something from the old television series "Dark Shadows".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cornic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Cornic,

I am sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments especially in regards to the Suite you were upgraded to and agree with your comments on the library in the suite. I have discussed this with both the Owners as well as the architect to create a true living room from where one can enjoy the views over Fiesole and the Tuscan landscape even more and this is currently under review.
The Villa, with origins from the 14th century, is under the historical building oversight committee and no modifications were allowed to the structure to let in more light in certain areas. The positive side of this is that the building is very true to it's origins and does have the feel of a private villa vs. a hotel. The furniture on the terrace was chosen also with this in mind and we have opted for non traditional hotel furniture.

I am sorry you decided not to accept a room change as your experience in another room type might have improved your view of the property.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I Just spent a wonderful weekend with my family at this extraordinary hotel. Besides the romantic amazing suite with a view to the duomo, the gardens were full of color with beautiful flowers and roses blossoming everywhere. the children enjoyed the huge natural park discovering wild squirrels, lizards, birds etc and at night they loved walking int the paths through the woods and see the fireflies.

We enjoyed the heated swimming pool which is right in the middle of an amazing Tuscan valley which is so green that you can't believe your eyes, the service was perfect.

At sunset we had an aperitivo at the top of the terrace (spritz Aperol for me, Mojito for my husband and a colorful strawberry juice in a martini glass for the kids) we enjoyed the perfect weather and view. At night the romantic dinner on the terrace with excellent local food but presented in a an impeccable way, was the perfect ending to a great day.

On Sunday we had one of the brunches I have had in years, good job Salviatino! Thanks to the staff for impeccable friendly service, specially with my little girls, who ended up going home with presents, books and colors.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Isamar2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Elva D,

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear from our guests and especially that we were able to also create lasting memories not just for the parents but also for their children. It is great to read that you enjoyed not just the Hotel and our services but the entire park and the pool as well. This is one of our great advantages due to our location, close to the city center, but also offering peace and tranquillity and the enjoyments of the Tuscan countryside, the best of both worlds.

We look forward to having you and your family with us again soon.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had an all too brief stay at Hotel Il Salviatino. Il Salviatino aims to be a home from home for all its guests. There is no reception, instead there are service ambassadors who are always available to help you with whatever you need.
The entire staff is incredibly friendly and the standard of service is high.
Il Salviatino is very refined, and very Florentine. Once home to the powerful Salviati family, this historic villa of Renaissance origins has been completely restored. The villa is situated in a fantastic location with a spectacular view of Florence city and the famous Duomo. The giardino all'italiana in front of the main villa is a delight - especially when viewed from the bar terrace above.
The assigned suite the Melodia , is grand and opulent with oak floors, a large glass mirror concealing flatscreen TV, not seen in any other hotel, a huge comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom with Victorian-style fittings - the only contemporary touch being the LED-lit rain shower.
I could take a look at the ground-floor Affresco Suite with its amazing restored fresco ceiling, and a bathtub inside a carved marble Roman sarcophagus.

The Spa Il Salviatino, on the grounds, just above the three-level pool, with its delicate aroma’s and interior just as carefully designed as the hotel is worth to enjoy; the relaxing and energizing massage was absolute heaven.
The cuisine offers a wide choice of delicious dishes and excellent wines. Breakfast is served in a wonderful relaxing library room, and specially prepared daily with variable fresh choices.
Best to the entire Il Salviatino staff who made my stay so special! I would not stay anywhere else other than in Il Salviatino when visiting Florence!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madelon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Madelon K,

Thank you very much for such a detailed and lofty review of il Salviatino. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much and even more so how you describe your experience. I especially enjoyed your comment about our Service Ambassadors. It is a unique service we offer where we have a team of very dedicated staff that act as your host while you are staying as a guest with us. They are there to take care off you as a host would in their own home.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Florence.

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Il Salviatino for two nights during our whirlwind two week driving vacation of Italy. To say that Il Salviatino is one of the best hotels we've ever had the pleasure of staying at is an understatement. The location, the facility itself, the staff, the rooms - everything about the hotel is elegant, tasteful, unequaled. The staff is attentive without being obsequious, and eager to answer questions or help with anything you might ask.
The breakfast trays were absolutely wonderful - a refreshing change from breakfast buffets where you are waiting in line, or walking gingerly around tables of other people. I found breakfast at Il Salviatino to be the best breakfast experience we had anywhere in Italy.
We also had dinner in the restaurant - equally wonderful.
Thank you, Il Salviatino, for a very very special stay at your wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohawkdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear M. Mohawkdjc,

we sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Mostly, we wish to thank you for your explanation of our Breakfast service: it is always very difficult for us to clearly communicate our different concept of breakfast, but your comment on your direct experience is the most clear explanation I've ever read about it!

Please, do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay here.
Warmest regards,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights as our Minimoon spot before our longer honeymoon and we were thrilled with the location, service and room. Below, you will find a breakdown of our experiences.

First off, a big thanks to Nada, one of the manager who has been great with answering our queries about room types prior to booking and once we were there, we were upgraded from the deluxe room to the dome view room which was great. It was a fantastic surprise and we were thrilled with the quality of the room.This room comes with a jacuzzi bathtub and an armchair in the bathroom as well as a superking bed. The staffs always looked after us well and cater to our every needs.

Secondly, I can assure you about the location that there is a transit shuttle that run on time every hour for going to and from Florence, this take approximately 15-20 mins depending on traffic and times of day. We prefer the hotel to be outside of Florence anyway, especially as it gets crowded very quickly in the center. It is nice to get away from it all each night.

Lastly, The hotel is as beautiful as the picture and the view is always fantastic. I think you cannot compared what you see on photos to when you are actually there. The breakfast served till 11.00 which is a nice touch and the breakfasts were always varied and interesting each days so this was a bonus.

Couple of small suggestions, The barmen, first time we had a drink there, I was asking for the menu and the barman replied that he is the menu so I said to recommend me a calvados and he picked out something and I asked him how much, which he went looking around to produce a menu! Turns out, a glass that he recommends would have cost me 60 euros had I not double checked first. I think guests would appreciate upfront costs more.

Secondly, the hotel restaurant produces a great fine dining cuisine but there is no alternative in the hotel. I think that families or guests who just want a casual lunch would like an alternative menu for when you just want to get a bit of food without using room services.

Overall, a great minimoon and a fantastic romantic where this hotel is built for such occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narut R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Mr. Narut R,

thank you very much for your kind response and for the very nice words spent in our favor: we are sincerely glad to know that we managed to make your "minimoon" so special!

Mostly, we would like to thank you for your precious suggestions: we already provided to share and discuss them with the Restaurant and Kitchen team.

We hope that we will have the possibility to welcoming you back soon to il Salviatino: maybe for your first Wedding Anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Thanks to Il Salviatino for its warm welcome and exceptional care during our stay.
We have experienced the true expression of italian "art de vivre", from its fine dinning and outstanding breakfasts to its magnificent atmosphere and delectable views.
How inspiring!
We are already planning our next stay...
Elena and Antoine

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELENANTOINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Elenantoine,

On behalf of all of us at il Salviatino, thank you very much for your positive comments. It is always rewarding to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us at il Salviatino, and as you are planning your next stay with us already,...we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 411 in Florence
884 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,028 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 411 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#85 of 411 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#58 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £290 - £592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing