We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Salviatino - your private residence in Firenze”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #89 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Wow! Simply wow!

We recently had a three day wedding in Florence and decided to hire out this hotel for the week of the wedding for our family and friends on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed! We spent a lot of time selecting venues for each night of the wedding but we couldn't find a hotel for our party we felt was right on our visits out there so booked this 'blind' which could have been a disaster - thank god we did! We had visited the Villa San Michele, the Villa Mangiacane, the Villa Cora and the Villa la Massa but none were quite right..

We were greeted on arrival like royalty with the entire team waiting to greet us and introduce themselves which was a great way to arrive - the best welcome I have ever experienced and it gave us real confidence in the team there from the minute we set foot inside the beautiful hotel. From that moment on the hotel just kept on impressing us and surprising us with its quality in every area from the unbelievable dinner they laid on for us on the first night (the best meal I have had in Italy ever), to the way they treated all of our guests, the special non dairy menu they provided for our page boy, the magician they brought out for our friends kids, the amazing spa therapists the cool music which is in the background as you walk around the hotel terrace, the complimentary bottle of brandy they gave us at 4am on the first night when they never told us it was too late or to keep the noise down.. It was simply one of the best hospitality experiences in my life.

The rooms in this property are pure understated elegance and have a sense of rich history without being too antiquated and also have all of the modern amenities you could wish for including a really cool Bose system and TVs hidden in the mirrors. Also the food at every turn was just fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The property is very elegant and the team there are magnificent making it feel like a private residence rather than a traditional hotel.

Even on departure everything was effortless and They organised for all our excess baggage and wedding outfits to be courier delivered home so we could pack light for our honeymoon. I have not been so impressed with a hotel for some time - thank you to all of the fantastic team for making our wedding week so memorable and special thanks to Sara Orselli who was incredible throughout! Xx

Room Tip: Affresco suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Truffle-dodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Batswinger,

How to respond to such a great review except to say thank you.

It has been a real pleasure for everyone at the Hotel to be able to host you, your family and friends during such an important time in your lives and it was as much fun for us as it was for you.

Thank you for mentioning Sara especially as she has been tremendous in making all the arrangements for you and making sure that all went smoothly.

Hope to have you back again with us soon,

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Il Salviatino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here as a couple in August 2014. We were welcomed by the charming Lino and his colleagues and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Also a special thanks to Josef for helping us with our flat tire and bags. Also a big thanks to the driver (Marco?) for shuttling us in and out of town.

The good:

- If you're worried about staying outside of the centre, don't be - the shuttle services is very reliable and runs about eight times per day both in and out of the city - drops you straight to the Piazza del Duomo
- Our room (Duomo view) was spacious and had stunning views over the city. We have two very large suitcases and always struggle to get them set up properly, this room was large enough to have them both accessible the whole time, which was great
- Breakfast on the terrace is set rather than a la carte, but I quite liked this as a different touch - great silverware, view, service etc.
- The hotel building is a stunning restoration, with a huge library containing a great selection of regional texts
- Very cool entertainment system in the rooms, with the television cleverly set behind a mirror, which is a great touch - I want to try and copy this at home

A few constructive comments:

- The staff are a touch heavy on the up-sell (spa treatments, wine tours etc.), but they were courteous when doing so. I felt a little obliged to take up option extras.
- The path to the pool could be made a little easier to find
- There are some beautiful little restaurants that we found close by, I think suggestions to visit these may have been obscured a little by the desire to have guests dine in the hotel restaurant.
- The internet was inconsistent. I hate complaining about internet when in such a beautiful environment that really shouldn't require it, but unfortunately I must take my work with me on holiday and so it helps greatly when I can get things done quickly and out of the way, which requires a decent connection

Tips:

- The Duomo view room was stunning, great to wake up each morning and throw the windows wide open to the view of Florence
- We found two restaurants that we really liked: Cafe Godo, which is only about one kilometre away, and (very unusually) a great Japanese place called Niwa. We were craving Asian food after being in Italy for a week or so and we had very low expectations for Asian food in Florence. However, the sashimi at Niwa is an absolute winner, and we eat a lot of Japanese food
- Don't be a slave to the last 8pm shuttle back from Florence - the town centre is so beautiful at night and the little cafes and trattorias really come alive after 8pm. Unfortunately a taxi from Piazza della Republica will set you back around 20 euros, but well worth it

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Scott069,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you especially for singling out some individual staff members who have made your stay especially memorable.

i have also taken note of your constructive comments and we will address these. Especially the one about the up-selling. At no time should you feel obliged to purchase additional services but our staff does want to make sure you get the most out of your stay with us and therefore they suggest various activities.

As to your comment about the internet service we are looking into this this as it does happen sporadically that the WIFI connection can be slow. this of course also depends on the number of users but we are already looking into upgrading our service and increasing bandwidth for next year.

We will also make sure to add some additional signage for the pool and Spa as per your suggestion.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and your suggestions which will help us to improve our service.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were already in awe on the wonderful drive up to the property as the grounds and views are just outstanding! Then on arrival we were met with glasses of cool Prosecco by lovely staff who got the balance of professional vs personable just right. Our room was just beautiful, lovely big bed, fantastic views, amazing bathroom with free fall shower. The facilitates are just gorgeous too and the views from the terrace are something close to perfection whilst the infinity pool is something out of a dream! The staff here are beyond excellent too, very welcoming and helpful. There is a free shuttle bus hourly to/from Florence which is very helpful. Breakfast is served on a silver platter- literally- and is a wonderful selection of eggs, fruits, yoghurts, breads etc and then you can always request something else (the pancakes are epic!). Lunch and dinner are pricey (main course approx 26E and there's also a nightly tasting menu around 75-85E pp without wine) but very delicious and worth the treat; although the food in Florence is also amazing and varies from cheap and delicious to a la carte so it's very much in your hands as to what suits you and your budget. This hotel perfects those little details that add up to something special e.g. discrete nightly turn down with fluffy robes and slippers, free wifi, guest use of laptop and printer, cool water on the bus, gorgeous cheese and olives served complementary with drinks etc. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, it was a perfect start to our Tuscan honeymoon and we will most certainly be back!!!!

Room Tip: They are all stunning!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank joloulees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Joloulees,

I am happy to hear that the start of your honeymoon in Tuscany has been such a great success and I would like to thank you for your many compliments on the staff, location, rooms, views, restaurant, well basically everything!

We look forward to having you back with us on your first anniversary and many more!!

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I had spent 7 days at another 5 star hotel in Florence, taking in all the sights the city had to offer. Needless to say, the beauty of Florence was tainted just a tad by the insanity of tour groups, the heat and line-ups.
We were very much looking forward to spending 3 days away from it all, while still having the opportunity to go into Florence anytime we wanted. Driving up to II Salviatino was an experience to begin with.The city below could be seen while driving up the winding driveway to the hotel. We were met by very gracious staff and the option of Champagne or chilled water was welcomed. This hotel was truly a little slice of heaven.
My husband and I have travelled extensively and were quite delighted by the location, amenities and attention to detail at this hotel. The library was magnificent.
A special mention to the staff has to be made. Our very first night we had dinner and our server took note that I did not consume cheese, therefore the next morning he had ensured that the delicious breakfast tray had no cheese. Giancarlo, was exception. He was attentive, funny and extremely informative. He had arranged a car rental into the Chianti countryside and had recommend and made lunch & dinner reservations for us at a Chianti vineyard and a medival town.The staff at any even time were very pleasant and attentive, even at 4:00am when we were leaving to the airport. The pool staff were fun and ensured that we were always left with a cold drink or snacks while lounging under the hot and beautiful Tuscan sun.
The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. It was modern with a old world feel.
Simply indulgent.
This hotel is truly a gem, and restored with love in mind. Every nook and cranny of this hotel was perfectly set up to make a couple feel like they were alone, in the most romantic of vistas. We would most definitely visit II Salviatino again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OURTIME2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ourtime2005,

Thank you for an amazing review and it is great to hear you have enjoyed yourself so much. We do like to think of ourselves as a welcome retreat after the heat and hectic surroundings of beautiful Florence. I am especially thankful for your comments on the staff, from Giancarlo to the restaurant staff and the pool staff, as they do make a difference!
I will definitely share your comments with all of them.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From start to finish a great experience. Definitely a five star experience. A hidden gem just outside of the town. A wonderful welcome with an offering of champagne. An introduction to the room and the hotel. Excellent service, good food, good wine and a perfect view. The best of both worlds; fifteen minutes from the city and far enough away for a peaceful and relaxing experience next to the pool. What more could you want. The staff are wonderful, they appear to be passionate about the place which adds to the experience. Nothing is a problem; recommendation for places to visit and help with a hire car when moving on. A big thanks to all of the staff for such a wonderful stay. The place to stay if you are visiting Florence.

Room Tip: dont hesitate…Just Book!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Betty B,

I am very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and especially the fact about "the best of both worlds", easy access to the centre but also a tranquil haven when you get back.
On behalf of all of us, a special thank you about your comment about our staff members. They do make the difference between a good stay and a fantastic experience and I agree with you, they all feel very passionate about Il Salviatino.

We hope to have you back with us on your next visit to Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a tremendous time In Florence which was made all the more wonderful by our stay at Il Salviatino which began with a champagne greeting. The staff was attentive and accommodating. The rooms were impeccable and the views to die for. Highly recommend to anyone spending some time in "Fiorenza".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Michael G,

Thank you for posting such a great review and also for the photos, these are always greatly appreciated as well. I am pleased to hear your visit to Florence and Il Salviatino have been wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff MAKE this hotel the ultimate place to stay. From the moment the taxi arrived and our bags were immediately unloaded so that we could enjoy a proseco before we even got through the lobby! The restaurant food was delicious and the room service was terrific. Ojietti suite on the top floors of the tower was awesome, although a couple of comfy chairs in the bedroom area would be nice.
We were taken care of in every way. Il Salviatino should give classes on what true customer service really is!! We hope to return!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CatJulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear CatJulieR,

WOW, what a great compliment!! I will make sure to share with everyone on property!

I have also noted your suggestion for some additional chairs in the bedroom which we will make sure to add for next season so you can enjoy them on your next visit!

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
825 reviews
Villa Cora
#5 of 411 in Florence
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £295 - £764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing