We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“splendid.”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #91 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“splendid.”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

we had booked 3 nights and these were in one word : marvelous.
It's an hotel but you don't have the standard check in admin. You were welcomed in the library where you get the necessary explanation. Rooms , accomodation, help with any question, everybody is doing what you ask. The welness department is quiet and very professional. Food and beverage are excellent.
In one word : remarkable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waasmunster211193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    104
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
106
487
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This is the second time I am back at Il Salviatino and I must say I have been met with the same professionalism and charme I was met with the very first time. The Villa doesn't flaunt luxury, rather exalts it with sobriety and elegance. While maintaining its historical traits, the Villa offers all modern amenities, Bose sound sysyems, jacuzzi ect... The staff received me a in a very friendly way and I was even offered my favoutite wine upon arrival, what a fantastic surprise. The new Oriental Spa is divine and the Sunday brunch is very enjoyable. I had a great time and I am looking forward to my next stay at Il Salviatino.

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Elegant decor, wonderful service, breathtaking location on a hill overlooking Florence. They treated me like a princess from the moment of arrival until departure, which was greatly appreciated after a long business trip in several subpar hotels. And compared to the prices for those other hotels and their quality of service and rooms, Il Salviatino is a bargain. I can't wait to visit Florence and stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leucanthemum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This hotel is not what the reviews make it seem. I strongly recommend not to stay here, it is too far from the city. You have to plan your day around their shuttles and that service ends at 7. When we checked in the bathroom was dirty, faeces in the toilet. Pretty disgusting, the hotel is old and feels haunted. Room service end at 10pm, do NOT stay here. The rug in the room was at least 50 yrs old and the bed was extremely uncomfortable with bed bugs.

You just dont feel like this is a 5 star hotel and I think that is why it is a bit cheaper compared to the other nicer hotels. The staff is kind of creepy too, most of them struggle to communicate in English and that too in a weird way ....most locals cant speak in English and that is certainly expected ...they still try to communicate with you and its kind of fun....but the hotel stuff kind of makes you feel weird.

Overall a bad hotel and kind of ruined our trip...I read these fantastic reviews on TripAdvior and booked it but it is not recommended to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lovetotravel2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We were fortunate to have been hosted by the new owners of this villa who had meticulously brought to fruition renovations over the last 2 years (we understood the delays had been hampered by attention to detail but also due to the local authorities who often became strangely officious on real estate/council matters) to arrive at its current opulent state. The villa benefits therefore from the previous stately architecture as well a sympathetically applied modernisation programme, providing clean but traditional design ethos throughout. Dinner in the evening was served on the glorious terrace which like the neighbouring Villa San Michaele, enjoys a decadent view of Florence. Il Salviatino has no check in policy or reception but instead has ambassadors who usher you to your room and provide a personalised butler service akin to other 6 star hotels. The difference here is it is delivered with subtle but elegant Italian finesse fully in keeping with the beautiful surrounds of the hotel and its hillside environs. Certainly a delightful and atmospheric alternative to Villa S Michaele, and not only that but an exquisite gem of a destination in itself.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WinsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

6 of us arrived at the hotel and were overwhelmed by opulence. From start to finish we were spoiled and pampered, our every whim catered for. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We booked the most inexpensive rooms, but for our bride-to-be they still provided a stunning suite. All of our rooms were lovely, from the fantastic bed linen to the items in the room hand-made in Florence. This is truely a magical experience. We will certainly return.

I would say the only thing that could be improved on was the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashadeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Everything about this place was 1st class! This is the nicest and best hotel we have ever stayed at.

The rooms are very well appointed, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were nice and spacious.

What really sets this place apart is the quality of the service provided by the staff. They seemed very excited and eager to help in every way possible. My wife and her mother keep referring to this hotel and I have no doubt that we will be going back here again some time in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleston_SCSalty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing