We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort Food in Florence”
Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #434 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: US$11 - US$17
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Description: First diner since 2004
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfort Food in Florence”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Two nights after long day trips from Florence, we stopped by this restaurant upon return. It was very close to our apartment in the Santa Croce area. The first night we all had cheeseburgers and fries, and they were as good or better than any I have ever had in the U.S. The second night, we decided we wanted a breakfast dinner; and again, everything was just right. I can still taste the hot chocolate. The service was very friendly and efficient; the price was reasonable. Heartily recommend for a change of pace.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gafarmgirl623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    237
    74
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great U.S. food in Florence!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

After a week of surviving on nothing but breads, pastas, and pizzas our family were dying for the type of food we eat at home. They do have McDonalds here, but we dont even go to McDonald's in the US so that wasnt much of an option for us. We found The Diner and ate there 3 days in a row. Their burgers are large, juicy and delicious. My brothers and father thoroughly enjoyed the milkshakes. And my mother loved the vegetarian options. The breakfast was also great, its like the US style breakfast which you cant find anywhere else in Florence. The prices are reasonable, service is good and the atmosphere is great.

Helpful?
Thank GregNina1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θεσσαλονίκη, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so worthy”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We came here after searching on the internet for some breakfast in Florence we ordered pancakes with strawberries and french toast they were average the coffees were bad. Capuccino was not the quality you expect in a italian place. The worst part of our experience were the service we asked if it was possible to put an extra piece in the french toast and she said they couldn't make a moderation in the menu on weekends but at the end she said she was mistaken also we asked for a wifi code and she said that she run out of wifi codes for the weekend! No flexible at all!!!! Nit suggested for sure

Helpful?
Thank Sotiria_ediar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
135 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great for breakfast, so so for food”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

the breakfast options are great and not very expensive; the burgers, however, are not amazing. the place was really busy on a saturday night, which is fine, but it's a bit odd when you feel you're being pushed away so as to release the table.
staff is nice in any case and it's good for a change, if you don't feel like italian food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuisaLourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetinje, Montenegro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We made sacrilege (went to american restaurant in center of Tuscany food - Florence) but didn't repented!
Portions of all meals were enormous and taste were very good!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexinho11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diner also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing