We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Stanze dei Medici
Ranked #191 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My boyfriend found this adorable hotel online and I'm so glad he did! We loved our stay at Le Stanze dei Medici. It very close to everything in Florence and very clean. The room size was perfect for a couple and the bathroom was pristine (which is VERY important to me!). We enjoyed meeting Lara (one of the B & B's owners), she is very devoted to keep this hotel a beautiful and comfortable place for each guest.

I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a B&B while traveling to Florence!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccandmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at le Stanze dei Medici in late April. We found the location to be excellent as we were able to walk nearly everywhere and there were lots of good places to eat and fabulous shopping - particularly the leather market for jackets and bags.

The people were friendly and very helpful and provided advice and brochures. Our only concerns were that the bed was a bit on the hard side although the rooms were reasonably generous and comfortable, and that breakfast was not served until 8.30am (unless special arrangements were made) which meant that we missed out on seeing a few things.

Otherwise we recommend Le Stanze dei Medici and certainly we cannot recommend Florence too highly. It is a fabulous city and don't miss the Duomo, the Baptistry, the Uffizzi, the Brancacci and the Fra Angelica frescoes at St Marks.
Pauline and Michael

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was a very nice Bed and Breakfast. We stayed 3 nights in Florence and could go everywhere by foot. We were just 5 mins away from the Piazza Duomo and very close to all the other historical sites and museums.
This BB is also very close to the Mercato Centrale where you can do all the shopping for leather goods and scarves.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niyatitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We arrived in Florence a little later than originally planned, but the lady at the B&B kindly waited till 6pm to check us in. The room is not huge, but it is lovely and bright with lots of natural light which we really appreciated. There were plenty of extra pillows and blankets if needed which was also nice as we didn’t get that elsewhere in Italy. The bathroom is small and dated – a bit of modernisation would make all the difference. Breakfast is basic and the dining room is very small (had to wait for a table) but the staff are friendly and attentive. Initially we had concerns about the location but were proved completely wrong – a 5 to 7 minute from the B&B and you are standing in front of the Duomo and within the hub of the city, both of which are truly magnificent. The daily market is a stone’s throw away as are museums, cafes, bars and shopping hence the B&B is really good value for money and definitely worth considering for your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick_bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My 2 children and I stayed at this B&B recently and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, reasonably priced, homey experience in Florence. The interior, renovated within the past 2 years, was fresh and clean without losing the original detailing of the italian building. We had a triple room which was air conditioned and had a bright good sized bathroom. The morning breakfast was included and was in a nice homey kitchen area. The B&B is located on the 2nd floor of the building so you are given keys to the main door which makes you feel as if you are entering your own Florentine apartment building. We enjoyed our 3-day stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyn1761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We arrived at the B&B around 4pm, and apparently this was too late for them as there was no one to let us in. We had to wait 3 hours before finally tracking down a phone to call them on and the woman who came to check us in was EXTREMELY rude, basically blamed us for her not being there, said we could have gone to another B&B instead, that she should charge us for a "late checkin" etc. Couldn't believe how rude she was, and clearly doesn't value business! It was horrible!! Fortunately she wasn't there the next morning, and an extremely nice woman was instead, so hopefully the first one isn't there if you choose to stay here! Anyway other than that extremely frustrating incident (which would lead me to NEVER stay here again) the rooms are very big, same with the bathroom and they have a computer they'll let you use. Breakfast was OK, when we stayed there were a few families so watch out for that if you don't like to hear kids early in the morning. Location was OK, there are many others much closer to the Duomo though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tam1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at Le Stanze dei Medici for two nights while visiting Florence. The location was perfect, very close to many sights and attractions and also to a main transit (bus) hub. We had an en-suite bathroom and our room was nicely decorated, quiet and spacious.

The breakfast was much more than many other B&B’s offered so it is important I mention this. There was fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, toast and even a personal barista for the cappuccino lover.

The lobby area is filled with brochures, maps, information and guidebooks about Florence for those who are flying by the seat of their pants.

Two aspects of our stay were a little annoying: 1) There is a water pump close to our room that is quite loud that comes on when you use the water, and 2) the wifi did not reach our room (at the end of hall) so we had to go to the lobby anytime we wanted to use the internet. These are not major issues but I thought I’d mention them for those who need absolute silence and a convenient wifi connection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby for wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodeTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,055 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 326 in Florence
2,569 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze dei Medici

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 42, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Stanze dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Le stanze dei Medici is located in one of the most peaceful and elegant areas in the heart of Florence, only a few minutes walk to Piazza del Duomo, Piazza San Marco, and close to the city's most important museums (Galleria dell’Accademia, Palazzo Medici Riccardi) and monuments. In this area are many craft shops, famous bars, dining and shopping venues. Convenient for both business and leisure travelers the B&B is just a 10-minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and the city's Exposition & Convention Centre (Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso). The B & B is an elegant structure located on the second floor of a historic Florentine palace in via Cavour, dating back to the 19th century, just in front of the famous Biblioteca Marucelliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Stanze dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing