We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst part of my vacation. (Previous review deleted?!?)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Stanze dei Medici
Ranked #210 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Good: Location. Clean.
Bad: Everything else. Owner blames my miserable stay on ME. What a laugh...
1 - After 2 nights there, I had 21 mosquito bites on my arms. THEN we were told there was "something in the room for mosquitos". Some plug-in thing I've never seen.
2 - Breakfast. Same cheap things to eat every day. Dry toast, some jams, coffee. Tiny breakfast room, and under the watchful, leering eye of the owner the entire time. Very uncomfortable. And One hour only 8:30-9:30. somehow this is all my fault.
3 - Weak a/c could not keep up with late-May heat. Good luck to you in August.
4 - Bad internet signal, and shameful computer in lobby. Mouse doesn't work, cord not long enough. Slow connection. I wanted to find a different place to stay - computers so slow that I couldn't do it. Again...my fault on all of this.
5 - TINY shower. I've stayed in Europe at 50+ accommodations in my life. NEVER seen a shower this tiny. Again...my fault.
6 - A 4-person room with NOT ONE hook on the wall/door to hang something. Cheap. Even the desk wasn't a dessk - it was a cheap metal table that you couldn't use - because it was not a desk but strips of metal with space between. Cant put change on it (falls thru) and couldn't write on it. An example of the cheapness of this place.
7 - Unfriendly. Blaming ME for the things wrong is an example of the owners brutal lack of customer service.
8 - Overpriced. I would not reccommend this place for half what the rates are.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatteoLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

If you don't mind the poor breakfast-no eggs, no cheese nor salami-then this is the place to stay in Firenze. Nicely decorated, clean and spacious rooms and big beds in the center of city, just minutes away from Duomo. Wi-fi is available in the rooms and owners are always available for some tips for nice food and places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This place was so clean and the owners were beyond helpful! After leaving an apartment that we rented in Rome I was a little nervous about staying at a B&B because of the size. I have to tell you that the rooms aren't that big but they are SUPER clean and the showers and bathroom were really nice. The location was fantastic! The price was excellent and I just fell in love with the owners parents. Who were overseeing the place while she was away on vacation. We arrived at 10:30pm and had gotten lost. Guy (owners father) wasn't upset, even though the front desk closed at 7:30, and met us at the B&B without any problems. He helped carry in our bags, checked us in and then called around to all of his friends to see if they could get us into their restaurant for dinner. Unfortunately they were all closed by 11pm but it he had gone above and beyond for us. My two girlfriends and I thought the world of this place and we are really picky. Both Guy and his wife provided us with maps, places to eat, places to shop, areas to walk around in, and recommended museums. They also provide you with a real Italian style breakfast and not some luke warm eggs and greasy potatoes. I am going to recommend this place to everyone I know who goes to Florence. Amazing people, place and location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sisaksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent a week and were well-treated. The staff was consistently helpful (free bottle of wine New Years Eve), the coffee was good and the location turned out to be particularly convenient; it is only a few steps from Piazza San Marco, a major bus stop. It's true that during much of the day, no staff members were on site, but we knew that and it did not cause problems. We were traveling with our adult daughter and so needed two beds and got an excellent price for two connecting rooms. Absolutely true no min-bar or safe, but that is not what one would expect in a b&b. People who want that should go to chain hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here 2 nights with 6. Great location, but you should really tell when you arrive otherwise there is nobody in the B&B. Typical Italian breakfast, very small breakfast room. Quiet expensive (as are all the hotels & B&B's in Italy)!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan63Wevelgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was our greatest disappointment of almost 3 weeks in Italy. We had chosen this venue based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. Room is very small, not aircon in October (was still very warm). Beds are hard. There is no safe in the room, nor mini bar. The 'no safe' in the room was a real concern. Bathroom is small to say the least, and the plumbing is noisy - shower base will fill up and take time to drain while you are in the shower - great danger of flooding the bathroom which will then spill down to the bedroom. Breakfast is a cold 'buffet' - meaning non refrigerated yoghurts, cheeses, dried breads, croissants, milk and two cereals. Coffee / tea is made for you by the breakfast man who observes your every movement in this tiny breakfast area. Staff are not on site. TV sound worked, but screen didn't - meaning we couldn't see anything. We had paid for our four nights before seeing the room - we stayed for two only, then fervently searched for another place to go to and just notched this up as an error of judgement.

Room Tip: Don't choose one! Ask to see a room prior to committing to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KartersfromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very warm, comfy place. it's just like what the pictures showing you. the location is safe, with some restaurants and shops downstairs, at the same time, it's not noisy at all.
the room is spacious , the bed is comfy. breakfast is prepared by the owner, very welcoming! we enjoyed our stay here, will definitely recommend it to friends if one goes to firenze.

Room Tip: better let the owner know the time you will be arriving. otherwise you may not be able to get into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrygoaround27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 410 in Florence
2,058 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 326 in Florence
2,572 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze dei Medici

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 42, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £48 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Stanze dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Le stanze dei Medici is located in one of the most peaceful and elegant areas in the heart of Florence, only a few minutes walk to Piazza del Duomo, Piazza San Marco, and close to the city's most important museums (Galleria dell’Accademia, Palazzo Medici Riccardi) and monuments. In this area are many craft shops, famous bars, dining and shopping venues. Convenient for both business and leisure travelers the B&B is just a 10-minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and the city's Exposition & Convention Centre (Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso). The B & B is an elegant structure located on the second floor of a historic Florentine palace in via Cavour, dating back to the 19th century, just in front of the famous Biblioteca Marucelliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Stanze dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing