We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good pick”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel was conveniently located, clean, comfortable with welcoming and friendly staff. The rooms were larger than some hotels that I've stayed at in Europe. They had a nice breakfast in the morning. They have a Turndown service and housekeepers did a nice job as well. I think that this hotel is probably one of the nicest in Florence...at least from the others that we saw from the streets. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antpell, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear funtraveler78,
We thank you very much for your comment and are very happy to hear your stay with us was wonderful. We really hope to welcoming back to Golden Tower. Many thanks from all staff,
all our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    162
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
214
760
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Golmud, China
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights which seemed to surprise the staff who apparently see travellers for a shorter stay period. Yanni and Angela were extremely helpful with their suggestions and directed us to several excellent restaurants. The decor of this hotel is exceptionally tasteful. The location make it very easy to visit all the major attractions. The breakfast buffet had a wonderful choice, including the delicious mimosa's. The size of the rooms was a bit on the small size but we consoled ourselves with the fact that we were actually spending very little time there. This hotel is very quiet and you never wait for the elevator. We didn't use the spa services but the whirlpool is wonderfully designed.
We would recommend this hotel and would love to return there ourselves as there are still so many things to visit in Firenze.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antpell, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear trishgio,
we thank you very much for your comment and really hope to welcoming you again to Golden Tower.
All our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is in a great location for both shopping and major sights.The major negative is the rooms can be small.We complained because our air conditioning was not working and they moved us and we got a much bigger room in the same catergory. While the wireless internet is free it is slow and cuts off every half hour.

Room Tip: There are bigger rooms available in the deluxe category so make sure you dont end up with the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ald59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antpell, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Dear ald59,
thank you for your comment.
The Golden Tower Hotel is inside in a medieval building and this is why each room is different in size even if all are equipped in the same way and offer the same services.
As for the air conditioning, as you said, we promptly changed the room in order to fix it. It was Ok soon after.
However, we hope it remains a good memory of Golden Tower and looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I payed 900 euro a night to be treated like a dumb tourist. The staff do not understand the services they offer. The staff do not understand how to work the television. The staff will make you feel like you are putting them out when you ask for/about anything! The hotel is beside a construction site. You will hear workers shouting at each other and jack hammers in the morning! Their debit card machine broke and they didn't care that I had to run around town looking for ATM's that will allow me to take out a huge amount of cash. When I voiced my disappointment....one of the females laughed at me. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Suhvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antpell, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Suhvive,
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, it allows us to explain.On Booking.com, where you leave the same comment, is not possible.
We are very sorry for your unhappiness about our hotel.
I think there was a big misunderstanding about your check-out, the staff (two girls) were trying to minimize your embarassement when your credit card did not work out after several times, NOT our machine which worked very well. In fact, you went to Cash-Machine in order to pay the bill. That's it. Our "debit-machine" are completely automatique, they work in the same way worldwide. As for the construction, it refers to an ancient building in front of ours, which is subject to a big refurbishment work. Of Course, we cannot avoid it. It is not our Building, they are not our workers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and Florence and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is just off the thoroughfare enough that it's quiet and not crowded, but still very close to walk to all the major sights in Florence. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were modern and basically like a typical North American hotel. The staff were extrememly friendly and helpful to us during our stay, recommending places for dinner and answering our various questions. The complimentatry breakfast was probably the best we had in two weeks in Italy, and we were impressed by the options we had available to us. In general I cannot say anything negative about this hotel- and would highly recommend it for your stay in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaj_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antpell, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear jaj_jen,
Many thanks for your comments.
We are so happy to have been able to render your stay so plesant and really look forward to see you in the very next future.
All our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

To be honest, we had a great time at this hotel - it's central, clean and very comfortable - cant really fault it. However we flew into Pisa and organised the hotel to meet us at the airport in what we were told was a 'luxury car'. It in fact turned out to be an old mini-bus with no suspension and driven very fast and dangerously. My wife was upset and sick. When we explained this to the hotel reception staff they said "it was nothing to do with them and we had to pay the full amount". Even though the hotel advertises it as a service on the website and it is booked directly with the hotel they took absolutely no responsibility. Very bad indeed for what is otherwise a 5* hotel. It spoiled what was a great holiday !

Room Tip: DON'T book the hotel car service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dirvine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antpell, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Dirvine26,
Thank you very much much for your comment.
To be honest, it has been a little bit hard to go back in Septenber 2010 but we did and checking our correspondance we did not find out you asked for a luxury car, but just a transfer and in some cases could be a "minivav" up to 8 places.
But, from now on, in order to avoid misunderstanding with our Guests we will ask them which one do they prefer to travel.
As for the transfer's company, we use it since we opened, even for other services such as Chianti Tours, etc etc and yours is the first complaint.
However, I am happy you had a great time with us and really hope to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great location, friendly staff, excellent service, free breakfast! We had a very early flight and had to leave the hotel before breakfast was served. They made us box breakfast to go at no charge! I would definitely recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swenson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,274 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing