We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Excellent experiences over all but you have pay for to enjoy. Very exclusive boutique type hotel in the heart of city with a very helpful reception staff. Infact, they really go out of the way to make things comfortable for you and are extremely forth with. Location is just great and one could ask anything better.
They serve awesome Cappuccino, don’t miss it and breakfast is well laid with ample choice.

Call a cab service is excellent, nevertheless we used once only. They also got us tickets for hop on hop off bus, so over all a excellent experience. Will defiantly go back some day!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Avidtraveller68,
we thank you so much for your excellent review. All of us are very proud of our job and review is the evidence. As you said, we really try to make the guest stay "enjoyable".
Hoping to welcome back, we remain with
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    157
    32
    11
    13
See reviews for
195
740
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in Florence. The room was beautiful the location is perfect but the breakfast was the one let down. We stayed in other less expensive hotels and found a larger variety of items served. It is acceptable but not 5 star. The staff was most helpful and gave us some great advice on local restaurants that were great. The laundry service is unbelievably expensive, the highest charges I have ever seen. Overall it is a lovely hotel but it is very expensive for the amenities it had if you chose not to use the spa services.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolferInpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear GolferInpink,
thank you so much for your comment and for your tips.
About our breakfast service, which is included in the room rate opposed to what other 5 star hotels do, we daily offers fresh and high quality products and honestly think that , as you may have noticed, our buffet breakfast lounge is not enough spacious to show a massive selections of products and it looks have a few ones
We hope to welcome you again in the next future and we remain our,
best regards
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

While this hotel may technically have the facilities for a 5 star rating, in actuality this is a 3 star plus hotel. There is no lobby, no doorman, the restaurant and bar are not staffed and literally never open, except that a very nice buffet breakfast is served in that space. We were made to wait until the clock struck 3, the official check-in time, despite the fact that the room was ready earlier. Fine, but not 5 star service. In fact, the only service at the hotel is provided by the surly clerks at the front desk, who seem put out by the simplest request. Both evenings of our stay we returned to the hotel after dinner and nobody was minding the store at all. We were told that no laundry service was available during our two night stay because of a holiday. When I complained, magically they provided laundry service (although one shirt was returned with a ripped cuff). So why did they say "no" originally? The heated towel bar in the bathroom was not hooked up to electricity. They have no washcloths. At our departure, we asked for the clerk to call us a cab while we went to the room to collect our bags. When we came back down, she had not called. Their procedure, we were told, was not to call until the guests are downstairs waiting. We waited an additional 15 minutes for a cab to arrive and were late getting to the airport. If this was listed as a 3 star plus hotel, I would give it a better review. But 5 star? I think not.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kft421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Kft421,
thank you so much for your review!
Actually we are surprised about some of your considerations:
about our staff ( surly ) just because we have informed you that our check in is at 3 pm?;
about our Bar and Restaurant ( not staffed ) maybe if you weren't able to see our staff they were busy doing something else...it is impossible to manage a hotel without Staff;
about check in time, in our hotel is at 3 pm obviously we have to consider our check out time for all guests but normally if we are able to grant it in advance we do that;
about the maintenance of the room at night, our housekeeper found out the information DO NOT DISTURB sign;
about your taxi delay, we can be sorry but we are not guilty about a taxi driver delay.
About laundry service, our hotel ( as a 99% of the hotels in Italy ) uses an external laundry service and during holiday days it is closed. Anyhow, we tried our best to satisfy your request and we found out a solution, as we always do, it is our philosophy...it is not magic

Your review will be for sure a cause for reflection, because we believe in our job and above all because we weren't able to satisafy your expectiations.
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This was a good property let down by a disappointing breakfast offering. The rooms are nice, modern, and have all of the amenities that you would like and expect. Having a coffee-tea capability was nice. The location is central to all of the main sights in Florence.

The spa is a nice touch after a day of sightseeing. It pales in comparison to the facility at properties such as the Nun Relais in Siena.

Breakfast - disappointing. We had much better selections at smaller properties throughout Italy. The cut fruits never changed - pineapple, melon, and strawberries. A limited selection of pastries. The croissants were sad. Breads - virtually non-existent. Meats - usually one salami and ham - no proscuitto. No olives. They have a pan with scrambled eggs and some very unappealing bacon - sitting in grease and sausages. Two of our three days the coffee - Americano was consistently served lukewarm. The cappacinos were small and mostly foam.

Would I return - maybe.

Room Tip: We liked the completely interior deluxe rooms. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

As previous reviewers said. This is a great place to stay !!!!

Great Service, Great Location... An Absolute joy. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abu-Saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed three nights at the Golden Tower and absolutely loved this hotel. It's conveniently located to everything in Florence; we had no problems finding anything from the hotel. Our room was wonderful; very spacious and the jacuzzi bathtub/shower was out of this world. We selected a deluxe room and was upgraded to a unique room in that the bedroom was down a few steps with the closet and bathroom on the main level. We quite enjoyed the uniqueness of the room and felt like we were in our on little apartment. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always welcomed us back when we returned from our excursions. The breakfast was very good and offered an excellent assortment. This was probably the best hotel on our entire trip through Italy. We will be definitely returning to this hotel on our next visit and we will be staying longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for three nights on our honeymoon and found this to be the best hotel of the trip. Piazza Strozzi is conveniently close to most major landmarks and many great restaurants. The service was impeccable and very friendly. We were upgraded on arrival to a large room which was spacious and well appointed. We dealt with several staff members and all were extremely knowledgeable and efficient, helping us with restaurant reservations and planning a half day trip.

We often find that well balanced criticisms in reviews are the most helpful. However, this time we struggled to think of any! We look forward to returning to the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear ozfrank,
many many thanks for your positive comment. We are so proud of our job and reading reviews like yours make us feel very very excited.
Naturally, we hope to welcome back very soon and thanks again for your comment,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,468 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,202 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing