We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Golden Towers Hotel at the beginning of April 2013 for a mini break. I had googled street map the location before hand and so was slightly apprehensive, we needn’t have been, as the hotel was excellent….pity google don’t do inside view as well as street view.

The room was perfect, and provided the evidence for a bit of luxury. We even had complimentary mini bar. I have stayed in some fab hotels in my time and this was a first !

The staff were very polite, attentive and added to the experience.

The spa facility was used every day and again made the stay all the more better.

Although we didn’t have a meal in the restaurant, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, with an excellent choice of hot and cold.

The hotel is a perfect location making all the key places to visit well within walking distance.

So if you are visiting Florence and need the perfect tonic….then the Golden Tower Hotel & Spa is definitely what the doctor ordered.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carterfamilySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Carterfamily,
We thank you very much for posting a positive review and .....for following the doctor's indications.
We are also happy you appreciated our breakfast which consist of high and fresh quality products.
We look forward to welcoming back and remain, with
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    152
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
176
692
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights in April at the Golden Tower. It would normally be out of our price range, but by booking directly with the hotel well ahead we got a room and breakfast rate that allowed us to stay there. The hotel is relatively small and is a modern renovation of an older building. Our room was large (but not enormous) comfortable and modern. The bathroom was modern and well laid out. The hotel is located adjacent to the Palazzo Strozzi but slightly along the street so that it seems quieter. It is very convenient for walking to most of the tourist attractions of Florence. The staff was extremely helpful and helped us with bookings for attractions and restaurants. We investigated the rooms ahead of our trip and asked for one overlooking the courtyard. It was exceptionally quiet and we slept well every night. We can't really afford 5 star, so it is difficult for me to compare. What I can say is that we found it excellent in every regard, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There is a dining room, but the menu seemed limited, and we did not eat there, so I can't comment.
Tip: Breakfast is good, but very expensive if you are à la carte. Our package price included breakfast but if your rate does not, consider having breakfast at one of the many nearby caffes.
Tip: As a previous reviewer commented the bar prices are extremely high. There are many bars and caffes in the vicinity, so use them.

Room Tip: There is a nearby caffe with loud live music. We had a courtyard room and didn't hear a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear retire698,
many thanks for posting a positive review. We are very glad you spent wonderful time with us and above all for emphasizing the fact you booked directly with us which is really most convenient.
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantine we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Golden Tower Hotel. Starting on a positive, the hotel is extremely well situated, very central and within walking distance of most of the many wonderful attractions that Florence has to offer.

In addition, the staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. Elisa (on the front desk) recommended and organised dinner at two restaurants and both were superb. The lovely bar girl (sorry, but can't recollect the name) was also great.

The jacuzzi and spa are extremely pleasant and provide a nice way of chilling for an hour or so (although it should be noted that they have limited opening hours).

Unfortunately however, there are a few negatives:

1. The hotel is not small as in "boutique” but small, as in not big. There is very little that is boutique about this hotel.

2. We were supposedly in a deluxe double room. This was our first trip to Florence so I have little in the way of local comparisons (price, standards etc.) but the room, for what we paid, was extremely small. The wardrobe was barely big enough to cope with 3 days worth of clothes and the overall problem was compounded by a collection of odd furniture that seemed to serve little purpose other than to use up more of the very limited available space. Furthermore, the "double" bed was nothing or than 2 singles pushed together with no attempt whatsoever to combine the two other than through the use of a regular sheet.

3. The breakfast, referred to glowingly in a number of previous reviews was, at best, extremely average. It consisted only of the standard continental fare that one would expect as a minimum plus a few token hot items that didn't look particularly appealing. There was an “extras” menu but, given the room rate, it seems wholly inappropriate to charge for these (a comment that has been previously made).

4. The nightly turn-down service doesn't appear to be a daily service: it occurred just once during our stay.

5. I have and do travel a great deal and have stayed in hotels all over the world, from run-down shacks to 5 star luxury. I am familiar with the concept of room service and what it means. In my experience, this generally takes the form of a percentage of the cost of the food or beverage ordered. However, what I am not used to is paying €12 for a gin and tonic PLUS €10 for the pleasure of having it brought to my room. This is quite simply outrageous. No doubt this cost is noted somewhere in the small print but I didn't see it and had I known, would certainly have made the 60 second trip to the bar on the two occasions I used room service.

6. When checking out, some of these comments were made to reception and we were told that they would be passed on to the manager. What surprises me is that there was no manager on hand and, furthermore, no sign or indication that there was even a manager in attendance at any time during our stay. Given the size/room rate of the hotel, I would have thought that guests would be greeted or met by management at some point during their stay.

In my opinion, this is not a 5 star hotel; it hovers somewhere between 3 and 3 and a half. Great to use as a base for exploring the area but very expensive and not good value for what it offers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear GeeJay,
thank you for posting your review. Fortunately the 99% of our Guests disagree with your opinion about the star. Probably you was looking for a Brand Hotel like Four Seasons, St. Regis, Westin, that guarantee a standard service all over the world against an higher price (twice) than ours and most of the times does not include breakfast. Golden Tower is an indipendent hotel with 27 rooms which include Junior Suite and Suites (bigger than the Classic & Deluxe). We provide "complimentary breakfast" whatever rooms you choose.
However, in replying to your points:
1) As already said, we are indipendent boutique hotel located in the heart of Florence. Our rooms are normal size but also provide Junior Suites and Suites.
2) All our rooms are well furnished and considering that the average lenght of stay in Florence is 2,5 days, the wardrobe is thought for this short stay. Regarding the bed, obviously we cannot have 27 double bed rooms and sometimes we put toghether as our best quality beds provide this solution. It would have been easier to ask to change the room.
3) All our breakfast products are fresh and high quality one as witnessed by our Guests
4) After checking the register it shows us that run-down service was made.
5) Our room service price is fix, even if you order a dinner in the room. It is also reported in our Hotel Guide.
6) At the arrival day, all guests find out my personal welcome letter in the room and in case of any assistance they know how and who contact at any time.
We, of course are not glad when one of our Guest is not satisfied and will keep in mind his suggestions in order to do better.
Best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Golden Tower was perfect for us for a two-day visit in Florence. Right in the city near shopping and museums. Friendly staff, clean and updated rooms with all the amenities. We had a room with a living room downstairs and bedroom/bathroom upstairs. Very cute! And roomy. Priced lower than other luxury hotels we visited during our Europe trip. Full service restaurant and comfortable lobby a plus. Spa advertised, but we didn't use it. Looked nice on the TV screens. We would highly recommend and plan to return to this hotel when we visit Florence again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beandy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear beandy342,
thank you so much for your positive review, we are very happy you enjoyed you stay with us and look forward to welcome back again.
All our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berks, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Whilst the hotel Is rated 5*, it didn't quite match the expectations of other 5* hotels we have stayed in simply because the room we booked was a deluxe room but seemed more a standard room due to its size. However it was used as a base for sightseeing etc and was very comfortable to go back to after a day touring the sites. The hotel itself is very central and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and always well stocked so whatever time you come down, there is always plenty and still fresh. The only thing we would ask the manager to consider is to change the hand towels to the towelling type and not the cotton material ones supplied. That said, we would certainly recommend it to our friends and family as the location is spot on and not far from the sites and local restaurants and bars. If we returned to Florence we would certainly book this hotel again hoping the manager has considered changing over to more modern towels and we would check that the room we book is the one we expect based on the price we paid for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear ittamar,
thank you very much for your positive review and for your suggestions which we will of course keep into consideration. Thanks also for emphasize our very high quality and fresh breakfast products.
As for the hand towels, to be very honest with you, it is the first time we get this kind of comment and we will take care about this issue even if ours are "linen blend" which are most valuable of the cottons ones.
Anyway, shoud you come back we will of course Ddo our best to make your stay pleasant.
Best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights at this absolutely fantastic hotel. Me and husband could not think of a bad word to say. The location was perfect. The staff were helpful and our room was a home away from home. It was my birthday during our stay and I was blown away by the unexpected acknowledgments given by the hotel staff. They really helped to make the day even more special. We stayed in the deluxe jacuzzi room which well appointed, clean and comfortable. When we return back to Florence in the future we will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrah867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Farrah867,
many thanks for your positive review. We are very happy to hear you spent wonderful time with us and for having contributed to make your stay memorable.
We wish you all the best and looking forward to seeing you in the future,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

There are a number of things about this hotel that make it stand out from others we've stayed in. The first is definitely its location. It is within easy walk of the rail station and perfectly situated for wandering the beautiful Florence streets, and within 5-10 minutes of all the major attractions. It also has two of the best restaurants we've ever eaten at just around the corner (see other reviews!), and a number of bars if that's your thing.

The staff are polite, helpful and helped us with everything we asked of them (dinner reservation, champagne glasses in the room etc...).

The rooms are well appointed, spotless and faultless, including satellite TV with about 200 channels, not that we spent much time watching TV - so much to do in Florence.

The hot and cold breakfast was plentiful although we made the mistake of thinking our room rate included the 'priced' items on the breakfast menu - it didn't so we got charged - our fault though. If and when we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again. Fantastic hotel - do not hesitate to book....incidentally we had a room facing the street and found the music to be a 'little' loud but we could still sleep through it, and it ended at midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Moosola,
we are very excited about your very detailed review and all of us thank you very much. It stimulates us to going on this way doing our best to meet the expectations of our guests.
We really hope to welcome back again and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing