We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel. Very centrally located in the City Centre, this hotel is for those who enjoy the finer things. An awesome spa, stunning rooms, wonderful service and a visually beautiful hotel. If you can afford this hotel, make it your place to stay when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsalkowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear John S,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are so glad to read you spent a fabulous time with us.
We hope to welcome back very soon and in the meantine we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    155
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
191
727
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very happy with our stay at the Golden Tower Hotel. It was the last night of our Tuscany vacation and we couldn't have ended it better!
Golden Tower is in a fantastic location in Florence city center walking distance to everything! High end shopping only a block away (Salvatore Ferragamo, Prada, Gucci, etc) and many cafes and restaurants just outside the front entrance. We walked around town late into the night and felt very safe and secure.
Check-in was very quick and bellman brought us to our rooms. We booked the Classic room category and couldn't have been more pleased- very quiet and comfortable. Beautiful, spacious marble bathroom with wonderful towels and robes.
My only complaint about the room was the carpet. Who puts ivory colored carpet in a hotel room anyways??? Needless to say, it was a shade of greyish brown in most areas. I think some attempt had been made to clean it, but it was too far gone and needs to be replaced.
Breakfast was served just off the lobby area. It was great- hot and plenty of selection.
There is also a computer and printer for guest use which we found helpful for airline check-in and printing boarding passes.
Sara at the front desk made a few suggestions for dinner and we couldn't have been more pleased with her choice. When a restaurant is filled with locals, you know it's a good place!
Taxi to the Florence airport was about 25 Euros and took approx 20 min.
Overall, would definitely recommend this property to others and would stay there again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear jccHalifax,
many thanks for your positive and detailed review. I am sure other Guests will aprreciate your comments.
As for the carpet, you are right, in fact in some rooms we have planned to change it during low season.
Looking forward to welcoming back,
we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! It is a peaceful island in the middle of the historic area. The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Florence's fashion district and an easy stroll to the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, and the Duomo. We stayed in one of the tower rooms which had an interesting layout. The breakfast buffet was marvelous.
The staff were very helpful with any request.
I heartily recommend the Golden Tower Hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be pampered. From prosecco and fresh strawberries to a courteous staff that will go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJ1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear MrsJ1602,
many thanks for your positive review and we are more than happy you had a fabulous stay with us.
We hope to welcome back very soon,
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and in a great location. The room was clean and decent size for 2 including size of bed. The bathroom was good except the rain shower didnt have high pressure but was usable. The staff were extremely friendly and always wanted to help. Breakfast was buffet style including eggs, bacon, cereal, fruit, bread, juice, and etc. For the price I expected a better breakfast (eggs bland) and nicer bathroom with high water presure. The bar interior of the hotel needs an update in my opinion. The location was really great tho.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Ithank you for your positive review and for your suggestions.
As for the shower pressure, I hope you mentioned to the reception staff in order to check.
As for the breakfast, even if we have a very lot of articles, due to the limited buffet space, we cannot show everything. Anyway, thank you for suggestions.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we wish you all the best and remain,
with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hartford cheshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at the Golden tower for 5 nights on our honeymoon! Yes we did it!!
The hotel is located within walking distance of everything you will need whilst in Florence. The air con is second to none and we really appreciated the cool room after a hot day walking around the historic town.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble - a special thank you to the lovely man on reception - so sorry i forgot your name :-(
The bar staff are vey quick and helpful, the breakfast is better than a Brit would expect and hot and fresh too.
Use the Golden spa - its so worth a visit.
We have stayed in many good hotels in Italy including the best that Venice had to offer - none came up to the standard of this one!!
Thank you for having us and for the glass of sparkles :-)

Room Tip: we stayed in 502 great room with crazy round window lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Liz H,
many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so happy to read that you spent a fabouolos time with us.
We really look forward to welcoming back,
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I will get my only complaint out of the way-and it's not the hotel's fault. Driving in old Florence is not meant for tourists. Our car's navigation system tried to get us to turn the wrong way onto one- way streets. It seems that the municipality changes the direction of traffic every few months just to keep people on their toes. I suggest guests driving to the Golden Tower call the hotel as soon as they cross the Arno River and have the helpful staff guide them in. The staff parked our car in the valet garage (somewhere in the area) and we did not retrieve it until we were leaving Florence.
The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Florence's fashion district and an easy stroll to the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, and the Duomo. We stayed in one of the tower rooms which had an interesting layout. The minibar was free and the plentiful buffet breakfast was included as well.
The staff were very helpful with any request. We did not use the spa and would have liked to have had a gym in the hotel.
I heartily recommend the Golden Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvisMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Elvis Mem,
we thank you very much for positive review and the important thing is that you enjoyed the stay with us.
As for driving here, it could seem difficult as Florence is a medieval town and we constanlty update the information on our official website despite the navigators that mot of the times are not updated.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Golden Tower was a great place to start off our honeymoon. We arrived here via train from Luca in the end of August. We took a short taxi ride to the hotel from the train station but it was 15 euro....if bags are light, just walk it. The rooms are not ready until 3 so after arriving at 12 they recommended a good lunch spot around the corner. The hotel is centrally located so it was not hard to kill time while we waited. Once we did get to the room they sent us a complimentary bottle of Proseco, which was really nice. The rooms were stunning. Any views they lacked were made up for with the luxurious bathrooms, beddings, the list goes on. The room was extremely clean and so was the bathroom - I've never seen maid service that cleaned up so well. They even straightened out our own things. Staff was very kind and spoke english well however, one guy in particular did not seem keen on helping us book a tour and when we booked ourselves we were charged 3 euro for the call. This can all be avoided by booking things online though in advance. I don't want to diminish the rest of the staff who were VERY kind and amiable making maps for us and directing us wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was outstanding...in a beautiful room with anything you could wish for. The bar was pretty empty at night and the drinks were slightly overpriced, but this is what you should expect in the city center. Overall I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing place in the heart of Florence. 3 minute walk to duomo, seconds from ponte vecchio and river, 5 minutes over the river to Medici Palace and minutes from Uffizi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rujimhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear rujimhenry,
many thanks for your positive review and are very happy you spent wonderful time with us and proud to be your nicest hotel in your trip.
Looking forward to welcoming back,
we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing