We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant and Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

On the second leg of our tour of Italy we chose the Golden Tower for our stay in Florence and were so happy that we did. The front desk staff was sweet as we arrived and escorted us to our room which was quite lovely!

On the first night of our stay (Friday) there was some street noise -- mainly singing pedestrians who had a little too much to drink. When we commented on this at the front desk the next morning the staff was eager to not only offer a different room but to take us on a tour of two rooms that were available so we could have our pick. We chose one with a view of the courtyard. The staff moved our bags for us and made sure we were happy with our choice later.
The breakfasts in the restaurant were first rate and delicious. Fresh fruit, awesome pastries and great juices. The coffee was strong and tasty.

As much as we loved the hotel, we loved the location even more! Perfectly situated near the Ponte Vecchio and the Palazzo Vecchio as well as the Duomo. And the shopping nearby rivals any place in the world.

Special thanks to the great staff for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbtraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Jbtraveler64,
Thank you very much for your positive review which has been very detailed. We are so happy you have spent wondeful time with us and really hope to welcome back very soon.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    153
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
188
712
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
de
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Honey-Moon trip.
First Impression: Clean and small, meeting our expectations for several hundred euro per night.

When we arrived at 3 pm the room wasn't ready. We had to wait for another 20 minutes, no drinks were offered.

During our first night there was a building site in front of our room. The noise from it went the whole night, we found nearly no sleep. As we asked the service-staff about this building site the next morning they didn't know anything about it and offered to "go out to them and ask how long they will work there". Not accepting this we moved to another "very quiet room" facing the backyard.

We spend two hours packing and un-packing our luggage, no help was offered from the staff. Only the luggage itself was transfered to the new room (after we asked for it).

At the evening of the first day we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. As we arrived 30 minutes after the opening-time not all tables were ready, no other guests were present. The waitress offered us a glass of prosecco and left. After 30 minutes we searched for her and asked for the menue. She was very surprised that we wanted dinner, thinking we only came for the free hapy-hour drink. Only half of the menue was available, the quality not nearly adequat for a five-star hotel.

Inside the new "very quiet" room there were a steady noise comming from the "permanent air" system of the hotel (the pipes for it were leading through the room). This couldn't be switched off by the staff and kept us from sleep the second night. After some ugly discussion with the staff, arguing whether there is a noise or not ("I can't do anything at the moment!") we left the next morning - 4 days earlier than planned.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tester203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Tester203,
thank you for posting also a review over the email you sent me. I do not hide that I have been astonished in reading it. It looks another hotel.
We, of course, count on all the reviews, either positive and negative, but we cannot accept "lies" just with the purpose to emphasize the negative review.
However, let me say something:
A) We offer even "complimentary breakfast" if Guests arrive early in the morning so do we with everyone. It comes automatically to us.
B) What happens outside the Hotel is obviously beyond our control. It is unnatural for us to have given the information you mentioned.
C) As for the luggage service, it would have been enough just "ASK"
D) Each evening, as you said, we offer Glass of Prosecco which is very appreciated from all our Guests. If something was partial available on the menu which can happen sometimes, it is because we guarantee very fresh dishes.
E) The second room is the one we usually give 90% of the times to our Guests because it is very very quite. Neverthless, there were any "ugly" discussion with the staff. The lady on duty only suggested to change in another room the day after as we were fully booked.
D) the next morning you decided to leave without giving us any other possibility to help and I decide to waive the payment of one night.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The room (101) was exceptionally clean as was the whole hotel. The staff were all very pleasant and helped make the stay even better. As it was our 40th Anniversary the hotel kindly sent us a complimentary bottle of Champagne to celebrate, a nice touch. We booked via BA Holidays and had a deluxe room which gave us a free mini bar which was another nice touch. I think we had some included spa treatments also but didn't use the facility. The room was not large but had a queen size bed and a settee and separate wardrobe area with desk and tea making facility. The bathroom was large and typically Italian with a good assortment of shampoo and bath gell etc with was replaced instantly. There was also a hairdryer in the bathroom.

There was a twice daily maid service which was also nice.

The Hotel is superbly situated for exploring Florence on foot and great for local restaurants also. The included buffet breakfast is also very extensive with hot as well as cold offerings. Even Brut Champagne if you wanted it! Polly in the restaurant was brilliant.

Before we left the UK I emailed the hotel to ask advice for a good restaurant to celebrate our anniversary and we had instant answers with several choices. I researched them and then the hotel kindly reserved a table for us, they also organized a walking tour ahead of our arrival. We will most certainly return to Florence as its a beautiful city with much more to see than we could cram in in three days. When we do we will certainly stay at The Golden Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentBoyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear John G,
we thank you very much for your positive review and for choosing Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary. We are very happy you spent a wonderful time with us expecially because was your special day.
We hope to welcome back very soon and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We just completed a two night stay here. We booked through Jetsetter so we received some extra amenities like free minibar, which was very nice. The staff was helpful most of the time. Some trouble accessing wifi, and our room 201 was loud due to heavy footsteps above us. Turns out room 201 is next to the stairs and the staff use them a lot. Also, our room came with two beds instead of one, which was disappointing. Location is a great base for both sightseeing and numerous very good restaurants. Breakfast is very good. If you go, avoid room 201!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Tommy B,
thank you for your positive review even if you had some inconveniences and are very sorry for this.
As for the footsteps, we will check carefully because it is the first time we hear about this.
While, regarding the bedding type, we have rooms with both twin and double bed, I do not know if you asked to change.
looking forward to welcoming back, we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great location, wonderful breakfast buffett, and attentive staff. We were upgraded to a suite, and it was massive! The bathrooms are unbelieveable, huge tubs, marble everywhere, a toilet and bidet, very clean and the location is prime. Located within 5 minutes of the train station, and pretty much every site you want to see - as well as amazing shopping literally all around the hotel. This is definately a gem of a hotel, and give it 5 stars for sure....Oh forgot to mention they have a spa that is free..Steam room, sauna, and a turkish bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppoursha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear ppoursha,
thank you very much for your positive review. All of us are very enthusiastic of our job and review like your help us doing much better.
Thanks again and look forward to see you back very soon,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel. Very centrally located in the City Centre, this hotel is for those who enjoy the finer things. An awesome spa, stunning rooms, wonderful service and a visually beautiful hotel. If you can afford this hotel, make it your place to stay when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsalkowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear John S,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are so glad to read you spent a fabulous time with us.
We hope to welcome back very soon and in the meantine we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very happy with our stay at the Golden Tower Hotel. It was the last night of our Tuscany vacation and we couldn't have ended it better!
Golden Tower is in a fantastic location in Florence city center walking distance to everything! High end shopping only a block away (Salvatore Ferragamo, Prada, Gucci, etc) and many cafes and restaurants just outside the front entrance. We walked around town late into the night and felt very safe and secure.
Check-in was very quick and bellman brought us to our rooms. We booked the Classic room category and couldn't have been more pleased- very quiet and comfortable. Beautiful, spacious marble bathroom with wonderful towels and robes.
My only complaint about the room was the carpet. Who puts ivory colored carpet in a hotel room anyways??? Needless to say, it was a shade of greyish brown in most areas. I think some attempt had been made to clean it, but it was too far gone and needs to be replaced.
Breakfast was served just off the lobby area. It was great- hot and plenty of selection.
There is also a computer and printer for guest use which we found helpful for airline check-in and printing boarding passes.
Sara at the front desk made a few suggestions for dinner and we couldn't have been more pleased with her choice. When a restaurant is filled with locals, you know it's a good place!
Taxi to the Florence airport was about 25 Euros and took approx 20 min.
Overall, would definitely recommend this property to others and would stay there again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear jccHalifax,
many thanks for your positive and detailed review. I am sure other Guests will aprreciate your comments.
As for the carpet, you are right, in fact in some rooms we have planned to change it during low season.
Looking forward to welcoming back,
we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing