We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good hotel
Excellent service
Good breakfast
Very central
Do not stay in rooms at front of hotel - noise from nightclub till 3am then rubbish collection at 5am
changed rooms to back of hotel - no noise, a good night sleep.
would stay again but at back of hotel

Room Tip: stay at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Liz M,
thank you for posting a positive review and are glad to know you had a wonderful stay with exception of a little noise ouside the street because of christmas time!
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

It is really good position in a old core of city but quiet and pleasent.service and crew are trying to do there jobs well.spa is for maximum 3 people at the moment and it is hard to find hotel if you are coming with own car.not bad at all but too expencive

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank reful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear reful2,
thank you for posting a review. We understand we were not able to meet your expectations even if, to be very honest, we did not understand what were the problems!
Our Spa consist of Sauna, Turkish bath, 2 emotional showers, and one jacuzzi for maximum 8 people!
Our location is wonderful because we are located in the hearth of Florence, which is a medieval town. Sometimes the GPS are not updated!
Hoping to welcome back in the future, we remain,
your sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel during this Christmas and it was quite good. The room was small but nicely furnished, clean and well equipped. The biggest advantage of the hotel is its location. It's in the heart of the historic centre which is excellent as you have an easy access to all important places within a walking distance. We haven't tried the restaurant nor the spa so cannot say anything about that but Sergey from the bar was great and patiently served my hubby with another and another pint of local beer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Magdalena,
thank you very much for your positive review and are glad your stay at Golden Tower Hotel was good.
It was a shame not to have used our restaurant and above all our beautiful Spa....whan you'll come back and in the meantime we wish you a faboulos new year.
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

hotel is located in the centre of the city. The rooms are not too big, but they are nice and clean. The bed is also comfortable. the hotel also has a little spa on the ground floor. the breakfast is defenetly very poor for a 5 star hotel. the selection of food is very limited. the worst part was the reception staff. they are not trained at all. they told me that the spa was for free. then the next day they told me that i needed to pay to get in!!!! they never smile and are very arrogant. It is a shame, the staff defenetly needs to emprove. next time i will go to an other hotel. I woul not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davide V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Mr David V,
Thank you for your review even if we understand that your stay have not been satisfactory,
For us it is a little bit hard to remember what happened 6 months before! We also checked if we had brasilian guests in May but we did not find any during that month!
Anyway, in our breakfast buffet, even if it is a small buffet, thare a lot of various fresh and high quality product, it is witnessed by hundred of reviews such as the professionalism of our Staff.
If there was a bad behaviour of someone of our Staff, it would have been better inform me immediately.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have to say I can be hard to please..but even with the minor hiccups ... We still loved it here.
My husband and I have been travelling for our honeymoon and checked into the Golden Tower Hotel in Florence. We arrived at 1.30p, and our room wasn't ready, we were given complimentary bubbles and snacks while we waited in the beautiful foyer/lounge area.
We booked through a travel agent a double room including breakfast. We were told on arrival that there was confusion with oube booking and the outcome was that we had been given a twin share room with 2 beds instead of a double bed. The hotel was booked out on our first night there so there was nothing they could do.... Mhmmmm a little disappointing to hear that since we were on our honeymoon! We were told we could try and change rooms the following day.
I was grumpy until I walked into the room. Just impeccable, large well appointed, quality furnishings and art, freshly painted, gorgeous carpet and modern bathroom. The two single beds were more like two double beds. No issue staying here. We didn't change rooms the next day.
The service is this hotel ws fantastic. Bra bung our luggage at the door, escorting us to our room, complimentary champagne bottle and snacks in our room again later that evening...concierge more than happy to help with tourist attractions, restaurant bookings etc.
Breakfast was delicious, sky tv, fully stocked mini bar etc. also great beds and pillows! Everything was so spotless it felt brand new.
The hotel is also in an excellent location... We walked out to a bustling Florence with cares, music, gourmet food markets and all the attractions like duomo a short walk away.
Only thing missing in the room was a bath - but it may have been due to the room we booked. Oh and no gym.
Loved it overall and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath, get a room not facing the street at front of hotel and specify double bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissDaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear MissDanie,
we thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your suggestions. We are so pleased you spent wonderful time with us.
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime we wish you all the best for the coming year,
antonio pellegrino
general manager

p.s.:
As for the gym, we are thinking about to have a small one....maybe next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I have a difficult time being comfortable in hotels, regardless of the class, due to high people-traffic, but I felt right at home from the moment I stepped through the doors of the Golden Tower Hotel and Spa.

Although my room wasn't ready upon my arrival, I was seated in the hotel's lounge area and given refreshment. The ladies at the front desk were accommodating in terms of changing my spa appointment, and making attraction and restaurant reservations.

The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was a sufficient size. I looked forward to going to my room for a nap pre-dinner (usually, I look for any reason not to be in a hotel room).

The hotel is also well located, and I always felt safe in that area. Even though I didn't do too much shopping in Florence, the area has a nice selection of shops, as well as being within a 10 minute walk of most of the sites.

All-around, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at this year.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Victoria,
thank you very much for your positive review and very proud to be your best hotel you have ever stayed this year.
We really hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Florence, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well maintained. As the hotel is central in such an old city, don't expect big lobby etc.. much of the hotel is compact. But the room we had was more than adequate with a nice small balcony. Also don't expect major views as the hotel is in the middle of a crowded ancient city.
The breakfast was nice. The spa was small but relaxing.
I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Brianontheroad,
we thank you very much for your positive review and are so glad you had wonderful stay with us.
As we are located in the medieval part of Florence, the common spaces, as you said, are little bit compressed...
Hoping to welcoming you back in the near future, we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,296 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,892 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £161 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing