We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is in central Florence, spotlessly clean with friendly, efficient staff. On arrival we were delighted to find out that we had been ungraded to a Junior Suite. The suite was very well equipped and the beds, pillows and bed linen so comfortable. The housekeeping services were excellent and the room was refreshed every evening with a turn down service and chocolates! Breakfast was a full buffet with everything you could possibly want. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly stay again when I return to Florence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreytraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Surreytra,
we thank you very much for your positive review and are very very glad your stay with us was wonderful.
We also appreciate your comment about the breakfast which contains high quality products!
Hoping to welcome back in the near future, we remain with our
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    157
    32
    11
    13
See reviews for
194
738
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas with our two grade-school age kids. It is a wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Florence and we highly recommend it. It was somewhat more expensive compared to other options, but it was a nice Christmas splurge for the family. It is right downtown in Florence and we walked everywhere, so we didn't need to use a taxi or tram. We had two of the "classic" rooms, one facing the street and one facing the rear courtyard. Other reviewers have noted that the rooms on the street are noisy at night, and we found that to be true -- the front-facing rooms can be noisy with the nearby nightclub and early morning street cleaning. The windows do a good job of keeping the rooms quiet when they are closed but (as with most european hotels) in the winter if the rooms are too warm, you are forced to open the windows to cool off. One of our rooms had a fireplace. The wifi internet worked fine and was very fast; we were able to use all of our devices without any issues. The bathrooms were wonderfully equipped and pristinely clean. Service was impeccable and included evening turn-down service with a chocolate on the pillow. The breakfast buffet was great and had everything we needed, from croissants, to muesli to smoked salmon and fresh fruits. We had one Spa service and it was good as well. Overall, we had a great time and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear webbseil,
many thanks for your positive review and are very happy you spent wonderful time with us.
As for the noisy, it happened that during Christmas time was held some event in the beautiful Strozzi Square, but normally the Bistrot Bar near t the Hotel at certain time they turn down the volume and as you said our proofed rooms work very well.
We hope to welcome back again and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good hotel
Excellent service
Good breakfast
Very central
Do not stay in rooms at front of hotel - noise from nightclub till 3am then rubbish collection at 5am
changed rooms to back of hotel - no noise, a good night sleep.
would stay again but at back of hotel

Room Tip: stay at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Liz M,
thank you for posting a positive review and are glad to know you had a wonderful stay with exception of a little noise ouside the street because of christmas time!
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baska Voda, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

It is really good position in a old core of city but quiet and pleasent.service and crew are trying to do there jobs well.spa is for maximum 3 people at the moment and it is hard to find hotel if you are coming with own car.not bad at all but too expencive

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank reful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear reful2,
thank you for posting a review. We understand we were not able to meet your expectations even if, to be very honest, we did not understand what were the problems!
Our Spa consist of Sauna, Turkish bath, 2 emotional showers, and one jacuzzi for maximum 8 people!
Our location is wonderful because we are located in the hearth of Florence, which is a medieval town. Sometimes the GPS are not updated!
Hoping to welcome back in the future, we remain,
your sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel during this Christmas and it was quite good. The room was small but nicely furnished, clean and well equipped. The biggest advantage of the hotel is its location. It's in the heart of the historic centre which is excellent as you have an easy access to all important places within a walking distance. We haven't tried the restaurant nor the spa so cannot say anything about that but Sergey from the bar was great and patiently served my hubby with another and another pint of local beer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Magdalena,
thank you very much for your positive review and are glad your stay at Golden Tower Hotel was good.
It was a shame not to have used our restaurant and above all our beautiful Spa....whan you'll come back and in the meantime we wish you a faboulos new year.
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal, RN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

hotel is located in the centre of the city. The rooms are not too big, but they are nice and clean. The bed is also comfortable. the hotel also has a little spa on the ground floor. the breakfast is defenetly very poor for a 5 star hotel. the selection of food is very limited. the worst part was the reception staff. they are not trained at all. they told me that the spa was for free. then the next day they told me that i needed to pay to get in!!!! they never smile and are very arrogant. It is a shame, the staff defenetly needs to emprove. next time i will go to an other hotel. I woul not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Mr David V,
Thank you for your review even if we understand that your stay have not been satisfactory,
For us it is a little bit hard to remember what happened 6 months before! We also checked if we had brasilian guests in May but we did not find any during that month!
Anyway, in our breakfast buffet, even if it is a small buffet, thare a lot of various fresh and high quality product, it is witnessed by hundred of reviews such as the professionalism of our Staff.
If there was a bad behaviour of someone of our Staff, it would have been better inform me immediately.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have to say I can be hard to please..but even with the minor hiccups ... We still loved it here.
My husband and I have been travelling for our honeymoon and checked into the Golden Tower Hotel in Florence. We arrived at 1.30p, and our room wasn't ready, we were given complimentary bubbles and snacks while we waited in the beautiful foyer/lounge area.
We booked through a travel agent a double room including breakfast. We were told on arrival that there was confusion with oube booking and the outcome was that we had been given a twin share room with 2 beds instead of a double bed. The hotel was booked out on our first night there so there was nothing they could do.... Mhmmmm a little disappointing to hear that since we were on our honeymoon! We were told we could try and change rooms the following day.
I was grumpy until I walked into the room. Just impeccable, large well appointed, quality furnishings and art, freshly painted, gorgeous carpet and modern bathroom. The two single beds were more like two double beds. No issue staying here. We didn't change rooms the next day.
The service is this hotel ws fantastic. Bra bung our luggage at the door, escorting us to our room, complimentary champagne bottle and snacks in our room again later that evening...concierge more than happy to help with tourist attractions, restaurant bookings etc.
Breakfast was delicious, sky tv, fully stocked mini bar etc. also great beds and pillows! Everything was so spotless it felt brand new.
The hotel is also in an excellent location... We walked out to a bustling Florence with cares, music, gourmet food markets and all the attractions like duomo a short walk away.
Only thing missing in the room was a bath - but it may have been due to the room we booked. Oh and no gym.
Loved it overall and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath, get a room not facing the street at front of hotel and specify double bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear MissDanie,
we thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your suggestions. We are so pleased you spent wonderful time with us.
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime we wish you all the best for the coming year,
antonio pellegrino
general manager

p.s.:
As for the gym, we are thinking about to have a small one....maybe next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 422 in Florence
2,722 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,195 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,461 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing