We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, book an apartment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Average, book an apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I usually prefer to stay in one of the old city apartmenst in Florence, but this time all of my preferred options were all booked out, and I wanted to give a Firenze hotel another try. A missed one, as it turned out.

To keep it short, if you do not want to spend a significant chunk of your daytime in the property, just opt for an apartment. If you do, fetch the one with a park and plenty of space around, like Four Seasons. Otherwise, it's just a waste of your money.

I hold nothing in particular against this specific hotel, it just how the accommodation landscape looks like in Florence.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kostiantyn,
Thank you for your review even if we realize you have not been very much satisfied.
To be very honest with you , we do not understand what was wrong and the reason we have been rated only "3".
You probably booked a wrong hotel, you looked for an aprtament with garden but Golden Tower is a 5 star boutique hotel located in the heart of Florence and does not have neither apartments nor garden.
The Reviews should be used to emphasize or criticize something in particular instead of generalize.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    152
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
176
696
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We only stayed one night at the Golden Tower on our way back to Paris from Siena, but found the staff, from reception, bell desk, and restaurant, to be top notch. The front desk staff were very fun and nice to my 7 year old. We booked a Deluxe Room through Expedia which offered a reasonable rate (relative to Florence). The room we had was very spacious with a large soaking tub for 2 people. We didn't have a chance to use the spa facilities, which are open to adults only, but they looked fabulous. The location is very convenient. One street over is Via de Tornbuoni and all of the Italian and French luxury brands shops, including the Ferragamo Museum. A couple streets the other way is Piazza della Republica and Piazza della Signoria.

We enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant where we were the only guests at the time. Fabiola, our server, was fantastic and I want to be sure she is recognized for her exceptional service. The food was great, I had prawns on a bed of pasta with a chickpea sauce...something unique which I'd never had before. It was delicious. Grazie!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sashak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear sashak808,
many many thanks for your positive review. Fabiola, who joined us just 2 months ago, will be very happy about your review and of course we are very proud of her.
All of us make our job with passion as we like it and could not be different and reviews like your are the proof.
All our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Warm welcome. Hotel is tucked in the corner of a lovely square which is quiet despite being the site of 2 lively restaurants. Room was perhaps a little small, but immaculate and bright with a large modern bathroom. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travenyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear travenyc12,
thank you for your positive review. Very happy to read you spent wonderful time with us and look forward to welcomen again.
In the meantime wi wsh you all the best and remain,
yours sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We can't add much to the stellar reviews, it was the perfect spot on a quiet piazza close to all the great sights and shopping. I loved our room (504), very romantic and spacious. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful. The concierge helped us find different restaurants every day, each recommendation was spot on. Just a few steps away was our favorite late afternoon or late night hangout, the Bistro Odeon, so friendly and attentive. I cannot recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear bickles27,
Many thanks for your positive review. Oll of us are very proud of our Job and reviews like yours tell us we have to continue on this way.
Hope to welcome back very soon, we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Second time in Florence and at The Goldan Tower Hotel. This time for four nights in the same room as last year (room 101). This hotel is located in the centre of town and is in convenient walking distance of anywhere you could want to go in the town. The hotel and room are spotless, the staff are the best and very accommodating and helpful. Before we left the UK we emailed asking if we could have the same room as last year if available and asked the hotel if they could make three restaurant reservations for us, one at the SE-STO on Arno at the Westin Excelsior Hotel and asked them to book us a window table. When we arrived at the restaurant we had the best table in the restaurant. The Golden Tower Hotel has a great breakfast and early evening has a complimentary glass of Prosecco and canapés which was a nice touch. I cannot recommend the hotel enough and will definitely be back to lovely Florence and The Golden Tower Hotel. Thanks to all the staff who helped make our long weekend so memorable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KentBoyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear John G,
many many thanks for your positive review and are very happy you spent a memorable week-end in Florence at Golden Tower.
In Italy we use to say "there no 2 without 3", so we look forward to welcome back for the 3rd time.
All our best,
antonio pellegrino
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A fabulous, boutique hotel with less than 30 rooms nestled on the side of Palazzo Strozzi, in the historic Piazza degli Strozzi -- few minutes' walk from the main Florentine attractions. The decor is luxurious, classic yet with a delightful trendy mix at the same time. Lovely breakfast and a delightful aperitivo, with the daily compliments of the management, after 6.30pm. Beautiful rooms and nice friendly staff. Boutique at its best!! Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maltesetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Maltesetr,
All of us thank you for your wonderful positive review. We try to render special every moments at Golden Tower Hotel and reviews like yours tell us we are on the right way.
Thank you again and hope to welcome back soon,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fabulous hotel. Ideally located in the centre of Florence for shopping, dining and sightseeing, but on a nice quiet street. Beautiful, spacious rooms, tastefully decorated. Great bathroom and Etro toiletries. What really made this hotel extra special was the discreet but friendly service and the extra touches like the free glass of prosecco and aperitivo every evening, and the complementary drinks and snacks from the mini bar (it's definitely worth paying the extra for a deluxe room). The breakfast also had a great range of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and pastries. Would love to stay again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njthetortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear njthetortoise,
all of us thank you very much for your positive review. We are really glad we came up to your expectations.
We hope to welcome back very soon and in the meantime we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing