We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Felt like royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

This hotel is excellent. From the moment that I arrived I was treated like visiting royalty. I was concerned that the rooms would be small based on the web pictures, but my room was huge. This spa was glorious and everyone who worked in the hotel was pleasant and friendly. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchetta01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    153
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
184
710
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We are from Greece Skopelos island and we were searching a hotel in San Gimignano, Italy. After we saw the Golden Tower in Firenze we changed our destination ;o)
We found the hotel through trip advisor and the reviews were magnificent. We sent some mail in order to see whether there is availability and how soon will they reply. They were replying immediately even late at night and the reception help us a lot in organizing the trip. We went to Rome and then by train to Firenze.
The hotel is located in the historical center of the town (Centro Storico) and is 5 minutes from the train station. From the hotel you don’t need taxi or bus to go around the Town. Everything is near and of course the receptionists can arrange your everyday trip :O)

We arrived late at night and the receptionist was expecting us. The room was perfect and the photos of their web site www.goldentowerhotel.it are showing exactly what it is.
In fact we asked to see another room – the one with the stones in their web site – and the next day we changed room :o).

We had also free interne access all around the hotel.

The amenities in the room were perfect ;o) We were very comfortable in the room. The bathrooms are very very nice and clean!!! It could be a member of the design hotels.

The breakfast staff was also perfect and all the breakfast things were perfect to begin our day. There were natural juices, non fat cheese and perfect espresso!!!

We stayed there 5 days and everything was perfect!!! Staff is amazingly friendly without being overbearing. Tip: take the expensive room with the full mini bar every day and the free spa!!! The Golden Tower was the perfect choice to meet all of our needs.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krembes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

We cannot say enough wonderful things about this new hotel. The location is perfect for seeing everything and around the corner from the loveliest shopping street in Florence. The room was new and so comfortable and the bathroom sparkled. Enclosed shower so no leaks on to floor. The manager and all the staff were outstanding and so friendly. They arranged for tickets to Uffizi and Academia in advance and for a driver to Tuscany for the day stopping anywhere we wanted for a very fair price . The staff also helped us map out whatever we needed to find. Florence is not that big so with a good map it is easy. There are only 21 rooms, so make your reservations well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfred023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We were pleased when they gave us a complimentary upgrade! Florence/Tuscany was definitely the highlight of our honeymoon vacation. Beautiful, new hotel, walking distance to the sites. Hotel staff very friendly, especially, Clara, who offered us helpful information.
Very comfortable room, Lovely decor. Great breakfast too, especially the cappuccino.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon2009Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is a brand new hotel in a very convenient location--Piazza Stozzi. We were few minutes walk from anything we wanted to see, and minutes (by taxi) to the train station. It is very expensive (because of the location) but we got a discount rate online. In spite of being in the center of town, the hotel is very quiet.

After a crazy 48 hour airplane trip full of delays and cancellations, it was such a relief to enter our luxurious room and sink into our nice, soft bed. The room was quite nice, with crisp white linens, brand new marble and white bathroom, air conditioning, and a super high-tech sky light that opens, closes, and swivels. The ceiling was old, probably part of the original building, which made the room even more interesting. Our room looked to be one of the smaller ones, and you have to take a few steps down into a stairwell to get to our door. It had barely space for a bed, a chair, and a small round table. Still, it had everything you'd expect from a nice hotel, including a minibar, safe, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, and pretty bath soaps. Our window opened onto another building, but this being Florence, the other building was quaint and old, so we didn't mind. Also, being Europe, our bed was the size of a double. We've read other people complaining that they didn't get a King bed, but I don't think they have King beds in European hotels, so it's reasonable to expect a double bed. Our bed was sink-in-it-and-fall-asleep comfortable, which is what's really important.

The hotel has a grand feel, but squeezed into a small space. The front desk people were helpful with directions and taxis but they don't have a concierge type who helps you make reservations, etc. We mainly used our own guidebook to tour around. There is a free computer you can use in the lobby. Breakfast consisted of a huge buffet, complete with juice, pastries, and hot food. We found some of the pastries a little stale, but otherwise we ate our full (plus some) every morning, and were very happy to save money getting breakfast for free. Be sure to try their packages of hot chocolate. They were delicious! They serve other meals at the restaurant, but judging from breakfast, I wouldn't eat there. Besides, there are so many other great places to eat in Florence!

The one major downside with our room was that the water temperature in the shower never got beyond lukewarm. I hope they fix this soon! The shower also had tons of knobs and dials that did nothing. I wondered if our room was still half finished?

Otherwise it was a luxurious yet small hotel in the center of Florence. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Don't waste your money! I always subscribe to "you get what you pay for" but this hotel did not at all deliver according to their exorbitant rates. The front desk gave no service. We asked to use an iron - to which the response was we do not lend out irons as we have a Laundry service - fair enough, but then he goes on to say 'It is Sunday and Laundry service is not available". He then offered that a waitress will quickly iron our shirt and short at no cost. We were very pleased with this until when we checked out there was a 18 Euro Laundry service charge!!! Unbelievable! And the lady checking us out did not want to listen to our explanation of the situation - her response was "We do not do anything for free" The ironing was a pretty poor job but we didn't complain as we thought it was being done as a curtesy - BUT having to pay 18 Euros!!! was ridiculous.
We had to wait to be seated for breakfast as their breakfast area had about six tables...
Questions about Florence and tours to take etc was answered with a shrug or monosylables! The only positve of this Hotel was the guy who helped us with the luggage and the breakfats waiter.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princessfi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I just got back from our amazing stay at the Golden Tower. I highly recommend this place. The location is convenient, but serene. It's totally new inside and nicely decorated without that faux hip vibe that many hotels go for nowadays. The continental breakfast offered a great variety (i.e. mango/orange juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurts, breads, etc.) and was delicious. The room had nice exposed stone, arched doorways, and Renaissance art to add to the old world charm, but had a modern bathroom, hard wood floors, and crisp white linens to give it a sharp modern feel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It even included free internet which can be very useful on a trip. I can't stop gushing about the Golden Tower!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing