We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #196 of 650 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Previous good trip advisor reviews and competitive pricing were the reasons we picked Badia. Apart from a good location I could not understand the high marks this place received. Bruno tried to jack up our pricing by claiming Expedia transmitted a wrong credit card # and he could not honor the original deal. Bruno went into ranting and raving until we proved that was nonsense. Not the welcoming attitude we thought we'd receive.

He did give us a decent apartment, as opposed to just a room, where almost everything worked. He did not provide soap or shampoo. It was also quite dusty and gritty. Noise was a factor, but that's just the historic area of Florence. No breakfast provided and internet was not functional but was too tired to argue further.

Needless to say, there are tons of other places for us to get other reservations in the future. Caveat emptor.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, get everything in writing from Bruno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudeorclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    81
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
50
116
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Badia Fiorentina was in the center of everything we wanted to see. Everything was within walking distance for us. We asked Bruno about renting a car to see the countryside and he recommended that we take a tour for the day. His recommendation was well worth the money. There are many places to eat in the area and also a grocery if needed. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Florence is a magical city and this B&B is in the heart of it. This is the 1st time we stayed at a B&B and Bruno was the perfect host. I would highly recommend this for any one person to a small group. The location could not be any better. Walking distance to the train station. Feet from the Duomo and right outside the best food cart I have ever eaten. Lomprada and wine for breakfast? Don't mind if I do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BadApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in that lovely B &B. Highly recommended to everyone who want to be in the middle of the historic city, close to everything you might want to see. The owner, Signore Bruno is a walking encyclopedia. You ask him a question and he has all the answers, he knows all about art.
Aside of that, Signore Bruno is a very polite and attentive host. We are a senior couple, we enjoyed staying at tha Badia and ve will return soon.
Thank you Bruno!

Room Tip: I do not have any specific tips. All the rooms seem to be more than satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Badia Fiorentina. Bruno was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful with juice, lots of fresh fruit, delicious croissants and cappuccino made by Bruno. Our room was comfortable and very quiet for sleeping with a great hot shower. We had a grocery store a couple of doors down which was very convenient and several nice restaurants very close. We could easily walk to many of the attractions in Florence such as the Duomo and the Ufizzi Museum. If we were to go to Florence again, we would definitely stay at this bed and breakfast and recommend it to any of our friends traveling there.

Room Tip: Only one room has a bathroom across the hall. All the other rooms have private baths in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We keep coming back to Badia Fiorentina every time we visit Florence. We love the location, the hospitality, the rooms, in fact everything about it keeps us coming back & back. On this visit we booked a room for our adult daughter & a friend. They loved it too & it was lovely for her to be able to practice her basic Italian with Bruno. She & her friend love it as much as we do & they'll be back & back too. Grazie mille again Bruno!

Room Tip: Although we prefer to have a double room with our own bathroom, on one visit we had a private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynlynetted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This Florentine B&B is a gem! The owner, Bruno, treated us as family during our stay. He is so warm and welcoming, he felt like our Italian grandfather! He doesn't speak much English, but he will go to great lengths to communicate with you. He is very expressive and proud of his city. The B & B was difficult to find, but once you do, you will appreciate the location. The rooms were big and clean. Breakfast was plentiful for a European B&B. We will stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an on suite bathroom. The small extra cost is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcuddihy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#201 of 412 in Florence
651 reviews
Duomo
N4U Guest House
N4U Guest House
#173 of 650 in Florence
70 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#78 of 650 in Florence
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#74 of 650 in Florence
407 reviews
Duomo
Adelaide House B&B
Adelaide House B&B
#133 of 650 in Florence
113 reviews
1900 Artevita
#61 of 650 in Florence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast

Property: Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 12, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Badia Fiorentina b&b,a precious gem in the Florence's heart of Dante and Beatrice...Warm and comfortable environments, attention to details, charming and romantic atmosphere... this is what you'll find the Badia Fiorentina b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia Fiorentina Guesthouse Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing