We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the location”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Serena
Ranked #328 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is on the 1st floor and it is very convenient as it is just around the corner from the train station which is great for people travelling around Italy by train. The rooms were lovely and comfortable with lovely fresh fluffy towels provided every day. The breakfast which is included in the room rate was very good with fresh fruit salad and bread rolls and croissants and an assortment of other breakfast foods.
The only thing I didnt like was that the rooms are centered around the reception area and it gets very noisy late at night with people coming and going. The hosts also own a dog which barks all night and you can hear the hosts talking loudly. They also speak very little english but tried very hard to help. If you want to get some sleep then this may not be the place for you!

Room Tip: Away from reception area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEGAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was the most authentically Italian, quaint hotel on our Italian vacation. Enjoyed the proprietors and the rooms. If you're looking for a 5star, this is not for you, but if you enjoy being part of a "family", this is the one for you. Perfect location, just around the corner from the Firenze Sta Maria Novella Train station, in a safe, clean location. Service was excellent. We had a reserved table for breakfast each morning without requesting it, and the breakfast was good - fresh croissants and rolls and cafe. Rooms were spacious, bathrooms small, but functional and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Location and Value:
Hotel Serena is located in a prime central area just across Firenze SMN, within walking distance (in fact less than 5 minutes if you're a fast walker) and it will link you to almost all the tourist spot in no time. I have to say this is the most value for money hotel in the area with nice breakfast (good enough for me)

Cleaniness:
Room are clean daily (though I'm not sure if they change the beddings and towels).

Room and sleep quality:
Spacious and big; retaining the best of Italy culture. The room i stayed was not renovated, everything was almost like "old school italy". The hotel is "shared" with a few other hotel and offices in the same building; linked with a really sturdy but old lift. The one thing I hate is that we're super near one of the bus terminal and the street has plenty of young punks creating a nuisance of themselves at night. It also doesn't help that the floor above Hotel Serena was also a hotel and if the one staying above are not considerate enough, you're bound to be in for a "good time"

Overall; I'm giving Hotel Serena a above average rating due to it's location and nice owners.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazziceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Very convenient, walking distance from train station. Lots of places to eat in the area. Walked to all the sites from here, but could catch bus if needed. Very nice room & bathroom. For breakfast, don't expect too much, just some sweet pastry and coffee.

My last night at the hotel was sleepless due to the guest in the room above mine, who walked around on the floor wearing hard heels, if the guilty party is reading this, please don't do it again.

This hotel is for budget traveler

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank giga66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The service from Giovanni and his family was excellent. They were very patient with my pigeon Italian and confusion over the booking (which was my fault!).
The room was a good size for a single and really was better than what I expected given the excellent rate for the room. Bathroom had everything I needed so no problem there.

The hotel is a five min walk from the central train station and is on the first floor of No 20 Via Fiume (there is a lift). It is walking distance to all the Centro Storico sites that Florence is famous for.

If I was going to say anything negative about the hotel, it would be that you could hear everyone coming in and going out, as it seemed that all the bedrooms were based around the central reception area. Once people settled down for the night, there was no problem.

I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelasociaAssociaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#108 of 410 in Florence
927 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,280 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Address: Via Fiume, 20, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £50 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serena 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Florence, next to the Palazzo dei Congressi and Fortezza da Basso, just in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station , the Hotel Serena offers at its costumers big, refined and confortable rooms with private bathroom, eccelent cleaning, flat TV, save box, free wireless connection, rich buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing