We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect American-style bakery in Florence”
Review of Mama's Bakery

Mama's Bakery
Ranked #18 of 76 Bakeries in Florence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect American-style bakery in Florence”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Delish bagels, good Amrican coffee, fabulous sweets. Love that this place makes me feel at home. Friendly service and good prices, too. Cute American-Italian couple owns the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firenze5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    70
    31
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a fabulous balance of Italy and America is found in this cafe”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have been here before with friends, but this time I was there for a couple hours and had a better view of the place. Bagels!!!! Toaster Muffins!!!! coffee refills. and great Italian sandwhiches etc... the atmosphere is light and friendly. The owners speak English and Italian. DELIGHTFUL!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The only thing missing was the NY Times”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stopped here after visiting the Pitti Palace. Mama's Bakery is about a 5 minute walk. i hadn't realized how much I missed American coffee and a bagel w/cream cheese until I ate there. I was thrilled when I asked for an espresso and was told "We only have American coffee". I love espresso, but after a while you just want to taste the watery stuff. The bagel wasn't as chewy as a NY bagel, but definitely close enough to cure some homesickness. Great atmosphere too!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fultonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing afternoon!”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Loving the place! what a great tip from a friend of mine to go and enjoy a self indulgence, sweet treats afternoon...
Fantastic, easy food. friendly service, and very beautiful garden were to stand and stare.
A bit out of the center tho, but totally worth it!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogos73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Out of the way but oh boy is it good!”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We found Mama's Bakery after reading about it in the Florentine (English Newspaper). After a Google Map search we set out. It is a bit tricky to find because it is Altroarno and many people who are passing through don't spend time on that side of the Arno. That being said, the Bakery is a friendly place. The owners and staff are accomedating. The bagels remind you of home. Coffee is cheap and free refills!!

Helpful?
1 Thank robren88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Bakery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mama's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing