We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Cavallino

Il Cavallino
Ranked #2,157 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Avoid it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This restaurant is well located , and this is the only good thing about this place.
The food is really average, the service is long and not very friendly.
And please don't take a coffe or a tea , the price is insane : 6€ for a tea !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roybe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    128
    127
    149
    348
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

When we complained about our pizza they said: ' no problem for me' !
Awful service, dreadful food. and they don't pay the 'toilet attendant' and you are expected to pay to use the bathroom even when you're eating here. Someone needs to close this place down - it gives italian food and florence a bad name"!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We sat down at a table and were refused water and bread until we ordered. Two of my party of 5 went to the ladies room. When we returned, one member of my party informed us the on-line reviews were pretty bad. We decided - before anything was served - to leave and find somewhere else to dine. On our way out, we were shouted at and accused of only wanting to use their bathroom. It was insisted that we pay for our bathroom usage.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cianadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If I could give a 0 I would”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Servers who ignore you for the meal and then beg for a tip. Pizza that was advertised as wood fired, crisp crus but was a soggy mess. Go anywhere but here. We've been in Italy for 3 weeks and this was by far our worst experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mntraveller1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unpleasant ending”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had an evening dinner for two outside, overlooking the piazza. Food was adequate and prices were within local norms. The service was OK but I did notice that the cheerfulness that coaxed us into the place were quickly replaced with a cold attitude. I paid for the bill with a credit card. The waiter very pointedly reminded us that service was not included. In all of my travels around Europe I have never been so rudely pressured into paying a tip.
The only reason to seek out this place is for the view. Just be prepared for a side order of attitude.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cavallino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Cavallino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing