We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to enjoy Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Podere Valdibotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Podere Valdibotte
Ranked #259 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to enjoy Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This was a family trip in October - we have children aged 16 and 11. Podere Valdibotte is a great base from which to explore Florence and the surrounding area. After the tourist hustle of the city, it's a comfortable, homely place to come back to and relax. Helene, Giancarlo and Marguerite were perfect hosts - easygoing, great company and it feels more like a home from home rather than a B&B. Abundant breakfasts and evening meals on request with lovely fresh produce from the garden and surrounds (they are keen mushroom foragers). They also produce their own olive oil & wine. We particularly enjoyed Giancarlo's grappa and aperitivos! Cannot recommend highly enough and we would like to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DeanSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

History and vacation coming together - Florence and Podere Valdibotte make an interesting stay traveling back in time and forgetting about the future while relishing the present. Perfect dinner, good Tuscan wine and verdure around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimbakadimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a lovely 2 nights. The room is spacious and clean, with a traditional Tuscan design, and had a view of the countryside.

The B&B is a perfect base from which to explore Florence. It is a 2 minute drive away from the tram station that will take you into the historical centre of Florence. Parking at the tram station is free as well.

Margherita (the daughter) was our host and she was wonderful. Generous, friendly, and a great cook! Dinner is a must here, it is a family affair and we felt very much at home with the good wine, food and conversation. Truffle dogs Neo and Lampo, and the sleepy white cat Miele, are adorable. Breakfast is a spread, with tasty jams made by Helene. We highly recommend this B&B for all the good memories we made here, and we will be back again!

Room Tip: The big apartment has an excellent view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We loved this perfect tuscan home with such a incredible homey feel. We were welcomed by Helene, Giancarlo & Marguerita (their daughter) upon arrival. They are all loving & friendly people. They have 2 adorable dogs, horses, cats, a HUGE vegetable&fruit garden, pool, awesome big backyard...it was all perfect. Exactly what we were looking for. It was a little hard to find, GPS couldnt find it, but we figured it out and it was worth it. Its very CLOSE to Florence by bus, Free parking, Free Wifi, and we had a authentic homemade Italian dinner made for us by Marguerita along with wine, grappa & lemoncello. An absolute delight. We laughed a ton and thoroughly enjoyed going through the garden to pick our own veggies&fruit. The room was spacious,clean & had a huge window. We had to leave early the next day and Marguerita was up with us to ensure we left with a little breakfast. We would go back in a heartbeat. Unfortunately we didnt get to know Helene & Giancarlo very well as they left for Austria once we arrived. But they are adorable. Everything about this place felt homey & comfortable.

Room Tip: We had the big room with attached bathroom. Large window. it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I left my heart in Podere Valdibotte. I will always miss Helena's motherly care and Giancarlo's funny antics. They are truly warm hearted people who enjoy meeting new guests and win them over with laughter. The place has a charming rustic feel that I imagined how a Tuscan Villa would be. They have a big garden of organic vegetables, fruits and berries which they serve at mealtimes. I love the green tomato jelly Helena serves at breakfast. I'm always looking for new recipes and was greatly rewarded during our meals here. My only regret was not spending more time at the B&B. We left every morning to explore Florence, Cinque Terre and Tuscany but I couldn't wait to come back to enjoy the company of our new found family. The location was a bit of a walk from the tram station but they didn't mind picking us up at the station since we didn't rent a car. On our last day, they offered to take us to the train station. They knew we haven't been to the Piazzale Michelangelo so they took us there on they way. We never once felt like just guests to them. To us, they are family. And oh, I love Lampo and Neo, our new furry family.

Room Tip: The air conditioner wasn't working but we didn't need it because it got cool in the evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is sad to say goodbye to Helena and Giancarlo!! They are wonderful hosts, are both very welcoming and just full of energy and laughter. Helena is a great cook. They have a massive garden where they pick their produce and serve right on the table. They are well-traveled people and are both educated, but do not have the air of arrogance in them.

The bed and breakfast is magnificent. You might want to hire a car as it is 30 minutes away from downtown Florence. However, the view from their house is just fantastic! It is a very laid-back environment, quiet and just refreshing to be at, especially after doing all the touristy stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were 4 adults and 3 teens and we'd say that this was a highlight of our trip to Italy. On our first night we truly ate "Under the Tuscan Sun". At a round table set for us, the three owners of the B and B, and a French family we had a delicious meal, with wine and great conversation. The B and B is 7 miles outside Florence so maybe not ideal if you plan to spend all your time in Florence (though there is public transportation available and it's easy to navigate). However, if you're doing day trips to other Tuscan cities and want an authentic Tuscan experience stay here. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed in the suite. The bedroom is air-conditioned but the living room isn't. Helene and Giancarlo can share ideas to see the less touristy sites and suggest scenic driving routes. Margarit, their daughter, is a terrific cook. Their three dogs add to the homey feel. Truly a wonderful experience that will add so much to your experience. Treat yourself to a wonderful stay. We were sad to say goodbye and look forward to when we can return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
#433 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Amata Firenze
B&B Amata Firenze
#397 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Armonie di Villa Incontri
#84 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&b Ulivi di Castello
#224 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
B&B Martini
#470 of 653 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence Martin B&B
Residence Martin B&B
#306 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Valdibotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Valdibotte

Property: Podere Valdibotte
Address: Viuzzo di Triozzi 8 | 8 50018, 50018, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing