We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosso 23

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosso 23
Ranked #114 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location and great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The hotel is located right in the same square as Santa Maria Novella church. It is just walking distance to the Firenze train station as well as short distances away from the Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo. It is a great modern hotel for the price. They also serve a decent continental breakfast. The staff is very friendly and very informative about tours and sites to see. Definitely a recommended option!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    331
    120
    29
    15
See reviews for
87
445
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Rosso 23, it served as a great base for exploring Florence, just a few minutes walk into the main hub of the city and the square it is situated on is lovely. The inside of the hotel is smart, modern and clean. The entire hotel adorns to the sleek red and grey colour scheme. Although it is in a period building, the inside of the hotel does not display much Tuscan character, so you could perhaps be anywhere in the world. If you are looking for period features in your room it may not be the hotel for you. The other point to mention is that the rooms vary dramatically in size for the same cost. We were apart of a wedding party and some had tiny rooms and other rooms were very impressive, so if booking here again I would request one of their more spacious rooms. The breakfasts at the hotel are superb.And beds exceptionally comfortable. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you want space, request it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_Trotter_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

It is located in Piazza Santa Maria Novella excellent location to go anywhere. The first night they gave us a tiny room looking nowhere with the promise to change in the next day, the did !!! and gave us an excellent big good see room, whith one extra bed, desk, big bathroom, the only thing in Rosso 23 is that lights are very poor, in the night you only have two lamplights and this is not enough. Breakfast is good, could be better though

Room Tip: Good choice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Just spent 4 days at this hotel with my wife. I can only say great things about this hotel. Staff was very helpful with our check-in and recommended great places to eat! Hotel is very close to main train station, just one block and look for the "Rosso23" sign between two restaurants. Plaza is gorgeous and safe to explore. Like any tourist place, be aware of scams by local pickpocketers, but had no issues. Florence is so compact we were walking distance to everything, and the train station can be your gateway to exploring the rest of tuscany.
Back to the hotel, rooms were very roomy, I just got a basic inside facing room, which was fine cause my wife and I spent all day exploring Florence. Breakfast was great, and the breakfast staff was very friendly. Front desk staff was amazing, handled every request or question efficiently and perfectly.
Beds were very comfy and we almost bought one of the cozy rosso23 blankets.
All in all, great stay, can't wait to go back to this hotel. Awesome value!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marquino7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

An excellent choice of hotel within easy walking distance to most of Florence's great sights. The hotel seemed fairly new, well equipped, with a large bedroom, all seemed spotlessly clean. The breakfast was continental in style, but there was plenty of choice. I would certainly recommend especially to someone who was travelling by train, as very easy walking distance to the station as well. The neighbourhood had recently been given a makeover and we experienced no hassles walking at night, with plenty of good restaurants in the local area. Although our room looked out over Santa Maria square there was no noise audible in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ermicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Booked this little beauty online based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed with our 3 night stay. A modern chic interior with a huge centre stairwell. Well equipped rooms, comfortable and clean. Bathroom on the small side but this is in keeping with Italian style. Daily room service and Excellent Buffet breakfast provided. Cuckoo clock a nice touch afixed to the wall. Staff a lttle aloof at first but warmed to our good nature and use of Italian by stays end! Great location just a walk from Central Railway Station and fronting main Piazza. Florence is a compact city and lot of sightseeing can be done on foot from the Hotel. Loved the small cobbled laneways. Just Loved Florence.

Room Tip: Cannot fault it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed in Hotel Rosso 23 for 3 nights. It is a very nice hotel located right on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. This means that the train and bus station was a five minute walk from the hotel. All the museums, Duomo, Ponte Vecchio are also very close (Florence is a very small town so you need not to worry about long distances).

The staff were very friendly and they all spoke english very well. The room (212) was big enough for the two of us. The bathroom - and especially the shower - was a bit small but still ok. The decoration was fine, plain and modern. Breakfast was very good with many choices. The only negative I can think of is that it did not have free wi-fi, but the price of 5 euros that it charged for the entire 3-days-stay was more than fair.

We booked this hotel for 85 euros per night and I think it was worth a lot more! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniaathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#108 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Universo
Universo
#255 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#109 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosso 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso 23

Property: Rosso 23
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 23, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosso 23 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel located in the heart of Florence, nearby the Santa Maria Novella railway station. On recent and meticulous refurbishing, the Hotel Rosso23 offers 42 comfortable accommodations of different typologies, some of them with a breathtaking view on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosso 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosso 23 Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing