We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosso 23

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosso 23
Ranked #122 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. We had a huge room that overlooks the piazza. The rooms were gorgeous, so spacious and super clean. Very modern and trendy and the bed was really comfortable and we had a great sleep. There was some noise from the Piazza of a night time but didn't take us long to get to sleep. The bathroom was large as well by European standards.

The hotel is just a short walking distance to the train station and all of Florence's main sights and shopping. The view over the Piazza was beautiful. The breakfast was also great, good variety and tasty food. There is wifi in the rooms and we found it to be quite cheap compared to other hotels we stayed in. We were charged total 5 euro for the whole 3 days. The staff at the front desk weren't particularly friendly but they weren't rude. They did provide good recommendations for great local restaurants.

I would stay here again and definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    333
    121
    30
    16
See reviews for
89
450
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We found Hotel Rosso 23 on booing.com. Its in a square minutes away from the main train station of Florence. Its clean and not too expensive for a florence hotel. The staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was Italian style but there was plenty. Tea and fresh capuccino were brought on request. All in all this was a very good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalteserNaxxar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The piazza the hotel is on is around quite a few other upmarket hotels, as well as a couple of bars and restaurants, and a wonderfully pretty Church. The piazza is a few minutes walk from the Duomo and the centre of Florence. Lots of wonderful bars and restaurants in nearby streets. Couldn't really get a better location!

The hotel itself doesn't let you down. It is a lovely townhouse, furnished very well. As soon as you walk in, you are hit by wonderful smells of the candles they are burning. The receptionist was friendly, and we were upgraded free of charge. The room we ended up in was extremely large, and very tastefully furnished.

Everything else about the place was excellent too - it was clean, and the breakfast, in the courtyard, was very good.

My only criticism, and it is a very small one, would be charging 5 euros for internet access .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonOfEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMMGirkin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We used this simply as a base to head out to Tuscany, which it was perfect for. (definitely visit Sienna, in fact i would stay there for a few nights)
Location and value for money is great. I found locating the right hotel in Florence was difficult. For the price most things seemed shabby or poorly located. But this was modernized with a little designer flair. Rooms are a little cramped, not really anywhere to put your suitcase, but beds are comfortable. Everything was clean and restaurants and sights are close. Room was very quiet too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMGirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

10 min walk from SMN station. Right in the center of the Piazza in Santa Maria Novella. Fabulous for an after dinner walk and gellato.
The first room we were given was no more than the bed . No wardrobes or any space to keep you luggage. Barely space for 1person to stand in the room outside of the bed.
We felt claustrophobic and had to ask for an upgrade to a superior room.
The superior room also does not have space for wardrobes but its better. Photos on the website are of a different era and only faded memories.
Bathroom had a leak. You cant move your hands or feet once you're inside the shower cubicle or you'll hit the walls. If you weigh anything more the 250 pounds dont stay in this hotel or be prepared not to shower for the duration of your stay here.
Breakfast is modest. No eggs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devsarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Rosso23 for two nights and loved the hotel! The accommodations were modern, clean and comfortable. We had a standard double room on the third floor with a view of the Duomo out our window. Buffet breakfast was excellent as was the coffee! Front desk staff was extremely helpful in assisting us with restaurant suggestions and maps. I was so happy that I booked this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaFiguraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

My sister came to Florence in September and suggested this hotel to us. This hotel is okay. The service is great as they are very helpful. But the room is very small and awkward. The bed is comfortable and the semi clean.

It is very expensive for the price we get. But very close to train station and market. Breakfast was not so good either.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spottyladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#107 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Universo
Universo
#248 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#111 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosso 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso 23

Property: Rosso 23
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 23, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosso 23 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel located in the heart of Florence, nearby the Santa Maria Novella railway station. On recent and meticulous refurbishing, the Hotel Rosso23 offers 42 comfortable accommodations of different typologies, some of them with a breathtaking view on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosso 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosso 23 Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing