We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale place to stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Upscale place to stay in Florence”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with a family of 4 (2 teenagers). It was very nice…sleek and modern. It was an easy walk from the train station and an equally easy walk to all of Florence’s big sights. Breakfast was very good. They have a classy-looking bar downstairs although we didn’t get a chance to use it.
As a sidebar…I emailed the hotel and they made reservations for us at the Accademia and Uffizi…that worked fine. However, anyone that does this needs to be fully aware of what is paid for in this process. The hotel provided us with museum reservation paperwork…and told us, at the time, that we would need to “pay cash” at the museums, but upon checkout, one of the other staff members expected us to pay (at the front desk) for both the reservations and admission to these museums. She maintained that the “reservation” included admission…this was not the case at the museums where both museums required me to pay when I was there. The hotel made us a reservation and that was it…not admission. I sorted it out with the hotel staff (I had receipts from the museums), but I thought there was going to be a throw down. That shouldn’t dissuade anyone from the hotel…it was just a sidebar about fully understanding what you’ve paid for.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    294
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
653
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This hotel was such a treat for us. We fell in love with it the minute we walked in. The location couldn't be better, a 5 minute walk from the Duomo and Train Station. Check in couldn't have gone any smoother, front desk staff was so friendly. They recommended some great dining options. Rooms were clean and modern, with advanced technology, all in the heart of Florence. We paid a little extra for a view of the Duomo, well worth it. Bathroom had beautiful skylight that opened with a switch. Free internet and breakfast were just icing on the cake. The bar area was stunning with great service. I wouldn't change a thing about our experience at this property. I hope our travels bring us back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsornsen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I travel a fair bit internationally for work and this hotel is by far the best hotel I’ve ever stayed at in Italy, and one of the highlights of my travel year. The room I had was quite spacious and extremely clean. The design of the hotel is contemporary and it is one of the few hotels’ I’ve visited that exceed their marketing photos. The location is great, it’s a five minute walk from the central train station, all the main tourist sites are within walking distance. I would definitely return to this hotel on future visits to Florence.

Room Tip: 5 minuite walk from central train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maizee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Hotel L'Orologio was a treat to stay at. I couldn't have asked anything more for my stay in florence. Where to start.

The hotel location is superb. 5 min walk from the train station located right on the square and easy to find. Walk out of the hotel and you'll see the Duomo at the end of the side street. Having a straight shot to the Duomo makes getting there and getting back effortless.

The rooms were great. Nice hardwoods. Great beds (except for being two twin beds pushed together). Huge clean bathroom with a rain shower (very cool) and heated towel racks. Even without a view our room had plenty of light and didn't feel cramped or small at all, felt quite cozy.

Breakfast is on the top floor and looks out over the square and the cathedral. Great on sunny days.

The staff was superb. They gave us directions to a park to run in as well as information about local attractions. I asked them to send a bottle of Prosecco from the bar to the room as a surprise to my fiance and they sent up strawberries as well.

All in all this was a fantastic place and I will most likely stay here again without even looking around on my subsequent trips to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparkerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgewater, ct
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We only stayed 2 nights with 2 teeenagers but it was our best stay in Italy! I am a light sleeper and these rooms were the best in quality and quietness. You are centrally located but you could hardly hear any street noise, not the same experience at hotels in Rome and Venice. We had booked a package through Avventure Belissimme and this was a homerun!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I stumbled into it because the bar looked lovely. I was surprised at the reasonable room rates, EUR110 for a room and EUR 230 for a junior suite. I loved the design of the suite and I decided to cancel my reservation at Westin Florence. In fact, I loved it so much that I extended my stay in Florence.

Lorenzo is an amazing bartender. He was friendly and helped me plan my dining experience in Florence for 5 dinners. I loved all the restaurants that he suggested. The front desk was equally amazing. I really enjoyed the personalised service at this boutique hotel.

The only downside was the breakfast room tended to run out of utensils and cups. But the waiter was polite and tried his best every day to keep up.. poor guy. The breakfast was nice and there is a lovely view of the Piazza Santa Maria Nouvella.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paneraitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Service, rooms, breakfast and hospitality excellent. Beautiful decor and warm, welcoming bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing