We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double charged our room, then refused to fix it!”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Double charged our room, then refused to fix it!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Beautiful hotel in great location. This was the only place in our two week trip (five hotels) requiring advance non-refundable payment at the time of booking. When we checked in, the desk confirmed our advance payment. The next morning when we stopped at the front desk the clerk apologized and admitted she had mistakenly recharged our credit card for the full amount and offered to make a deposit into our checking account. Because no one travels with checks in Europe and we had no idea what our "bank routing number" was they wanted us to send them the info when we got home. We didn't wish to leave Italy with this unresolved and asked to speak to the manager, which they wouldn't do. They insisted it was "impossible" to credit our AMEX (where the double charge existed). After an hour on the phone to AMEX in a three way conversation, it seemed temporarily resolved. However when we returned home the double charge was reposted. We appealed to AMEX and "won" but meanwhile had wasted an hour of our vacation in Florence & more time on return to the US.

On the plus side, the room was very quiet despite a rowdy fesival going on outside. Very modern appointments, though with bizarre electical wiring (no switches turned on what we expected and the only outlet their hairdryer would plug into was in the bedroom under a dark desk you had to reach on your hands and knees.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    295
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
656
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I spent almost a year planning my italian honeymoon and I besides booking the Westin in Milan which we loved we stuck only with boutique hotels and are so glad we did. The hotel is right on the Piazza Novella and is GORGEOUS! We were graciously upgraded to this amazing suite upon arrival. We love the clock theme and the the panini's in the resaurant downstairs were AMAZING. Their fresh mozerella was probably the best we had our entire trip. The breakfest was very good, not the best we had on our trip, but it had everything we needed and the cappacinos came out quickly! We met another couple later in our trip that stayed at this hotel randomlyand they loved it as well, we will def be choosing this hotel again when we come back!

Room Tip: The roof top patio with view of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenaloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

With so many accommodation choices my husband booked here and it was fantastic. It was a little bit hard to find initially due to lack of signage thou. Very clean, excellent staff, bed was great-comfy&good quality linen. Breakfast room was a little cramped when full. Location was great, tried to stay extra too nights but they were booked out. Will be back to stay again when we can

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

it was very very convenient and luxurious staying at this hotel because all sights were in easy walking distance. excellent places 3 doors away to eat...and nice open seating in the piazza outside. though many said that there are gypsies out to fleece ...we did not see any during the 2 nights we were there. the amenities and look of the hotel were fabulous with the these of Rolex watches being incorporated. the breakfast was one of the best we had during our 13 day tour of Italy. The staff was very co operative and even grilled my bread with cheese as I am a vegetarian. All in all a memorable experience and FULL VALUE for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehtas_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Pure elegance, wonderful service, fantastic location. Not cheap, but great value just the same!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We are honeymooners who were staying at the awful b&b Casa Rovai? We hated that place and just wanted to get out of there. We found this hotel where they had a room at a decnt price, call to make cheaper reservations, and it is beautiful. We could not be happier with our choice to switch. The bed is AMAZING! Thank goodness!!! Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinesity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

L'O is a great hotel. We were greated with a smile and a beautiful lobby. We arrived early so our room was not ready which was ok since they took our bags for us. Once our room was ready we walked into a room with 20 foot ceilings and all of the amenities you could want! The bathroom was clean and shiek and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in this beautiful city. If there is one negative, I would say the breakfast could be improved, but still servicable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing