We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST EXCELLENT!”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was by far the best hotel we've stayed in our trip to Tuscany and Rome. The location is great, very central an at the same time off the crowds. It's at Piazza Santa Maria Novella and about 5min walk to the Duomo.
The installations are new, modern and beautifully decorated.
The rooms are great, super clean and the bathroom is modern, in marble and also very spacious.

Breakfast is great and you have a beautiful view of the Chiesa Santa Maria Novella from the breakfast room, it's a great way to start the day.
Another good thing about the hotel is that you don't get the feeling of staying in a super huge hotel with an endless corridor with lots of apartments, which makes it very cozy too.

We've had some drinks at night at the hotel bar and the Cosmopolitan was the best I've ever had, we came back the other night for another Cosmo and again just perfect as the ones of the previous night. (both bartenders - a gentleman and a lady) really knows how to make great drinks. (The Martini was also perfect).
Highly Recommended, definitely will stay there again when back to Firenze.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

This has to be the best in Florence. It's chic and comfortable. Excellent location. Great rooms and loved the water effect in the bar area! Breakfast was included and they offered good quality and good selection of food. Staff couldn't have been nicer! We had connecting rooms as a family of four - fabulous space. Only issue if I had to find one - room lighting could be improved. Only other downside - we were there for just one night. Will definitely stay there when we go back to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed the first two nights of our honeymoon at Hotel L'Orologio and I would go back in a heartbeat. You are in a great location, very close to the Duomo and all of the Florence sights. The hotel feels very new, with nice room amenities and views of the Duomo. The breakfast room is gorgeous and on the top floor of the hotel. Even the bar with the outdoor seating is fantastic. We found all of the staff to be very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaKatie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had a great stay at the Hotel L'Orologio. The hotel was great quality and good value for money, particularly at the height of the tourist season. It was listed in the Tripadvisor top-10 for Florence which initially attracted us and I can say it exceeded expectations.

We had a large, well appointed room with a great view over the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella. There are many good restaurants near-by and it is an easy walk to the major sights of Florence. The continental breakfast was fine and never too busy.

This was our favourite hotel of our trip and we really couldn't fault it. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel was absolutely beautiful--I had chosen it based on the trip advisor reviews and the reviews were right on target. The hotel was lovely--common areas (the bar, lobbies, breakfast room,etc.) were beautiful and the rooms very well appointed, quiet and clean. The bedrooms were a bit smaller than we were used to in a high caliber hotel in the US, but that was to be expected in Europe. The bathrooms were spotless, luxurious and large. The hotel employees were uniformly helpful and welcoming. The location was perfect--it was within walking distance of the major tourist attractions but a little bit out of the way of most of the hustle and bustle. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the piazza. Our room was absolutely quiet but I did read a review that sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in September 2011.

I'll come right out and say my biggest complaint was the bed. I know Italian hotel beds tend to be firm, but this was ridiculous. It wasn't just firm, it was practically made of stone. I suffered badly on the bed. I hated the bed. My wife does not have as much trouble as I do on an uncomfortable bed, but she agrees that the bed sucked.

The location is excellent, it is a short walk to the major Florence attractions, the train station, and plentiful dining. However, there is one serious problem with the location: two sides of the hotel face the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. In the Piazza there is an ambulance station. Do not be surprised to hear the wail of sirens outside your room at totally random hours.

The staff were excellent. They were very helpful, they spoke perfect English, and they were friendly. We thought the bar was very attractive and stylish. The general appearance of the hotel is attractive, clean, and modern. The room was all hard surfaces - marble and hard wood, making me wish for a little bit of carpet or something soft. Nonetheless, if it wasn't for the bed I would have been perfectly happy with the room.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow. Better yet, bring your own mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boulderkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

All the positive comments that other reviewers wrote are true. Nothing more to add. I love the location; the hotel is only one short block away from a self-service laundromat and 5 minutes walk from a full service laundromat. I travelled for one week within Italy before coming to Florence; I had loads of laundry and it was less expensive to give them to a full service laundromat. I give a four star instead of five because at some point, I got dizzy due to the hotel's overwhelming air perfume used inside, especially in the lounge area. Another small gripe was there was not hair conditioner, but there was a bath foam; and my room didn't even have a bath.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DruryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 409 in Florence
779 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 409 in Florence
1,326 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 409 in Florence
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £129 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing