We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #41 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel L'Orologio for 3 nights in October 2011. It is a wonderful hotel! The rooms are very spacious, modern, and clean. We had a king size bed, which was extremely comfortable - the best sleep we had in our 2 weeks in Italy. The bathroom was excellent as well. Breakfast was very good and the room is on the top floor overlooking the Piazza - it's beautiful. The hotel is very close to the train station, but it's a little far from the river and some of the sites. However, it's only a few blocks and is not a bad walk. When we go back to Florence, we'll definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    298
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
275
665
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The location in Piazza SMN is close to the train station. My room was comfortable and spacious and especially the bathroom. Friendly and professional staff.

The buffet breakfast could improve with more hot food items. And when I sat down to eat at around 10 am on the two days, the hot food was almost all gone and wasn't refilled.

There is a small gym but only some free weights and a bench. No weight machines at all. I was hoping to workout while I was there but didn't because of lack of equipment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuteasianjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our dream of spending a week in Florence was fulfilled finally this past November when we stayed at this wonderful hotel. Great Location overlooking the Piazza Santa Maria Novella and
a simple walk to the Train station for day trips. We had a fantastic room on the first floor corner. The Bed was so comfortable and the bathroom gorgeous. We started every evening at the bar where the service could not have been better or more friendly. They served so many appetizers with one drink, we could hardly go to dinner. Would go back to Florence just to stay here again. Give this Gem a try, the aromatherapy they use throughout the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lartom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We chose the Hotel L'Orologio because of its location near the main train station. The hotel faces Piazza Santa Maria Novella and is about 300-400 from the S.M. Novella station. It was an easy 10 minute walk even with roller bags in tow.

Apart from easy access to the station the hotel was well placed to reach any of the main attractions of Firenze on foot within twenty minutes.

The hotel was a great choice. We had a large modern room (superior deluxe, I think) with a large modern bathroom. Everything worked well apart from the free wifi internet connection which was painfully slow.

The reception staff were very friendly and supplied good recommendations for local restaurants where the food was good and the bill not so large. They also arranged tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia that we had asked for by email before our arrival.

Breakfast was more than adequate and was served on the top floor overlooking the Piazza; a delightful start to the day.

There was a comfortable and cozy sitting room off the main lobby where one could access the internet at a reasonable speed and also a nice bar area on the ground floor.

In summary we enjoyed this hotel experience and will stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Don't be put off by descriptions of the hotel as if it were a clock/watch museum. It isn't! It's a modern and convenient hotel tastefully built into an old buiding overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella. It's a easy walk from the train station, but -- there's no sign hanging in front of the hotel. (It's at the bottom of the square.) Our room was spacious and modern; the bathroom was extremely convenient. The view of the square added to the pleasure of our experience. Breakfast was a generous buffet served on the fourth floor -- with another wonderful view. The staff were extremely helpful -- even helping me to master an italian cellphone with a wonky SIM card. In a city overrun with tourists, this is an oasis of quiet and convenience. It's a great place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I stay here in July 2011 and loved it. Is a lovely hotel and really nice staff at front desk. Ask them to organize bookings for David, no lines and is the easiest way.
Thanks for the great times,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cogs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is basically walking distance to nearly everything you would want to visit in Florence. Our room was very nice, comfortable, and quiet. The bathroom was amazing; luxurious shower, heated towels, clean, modern, and fully functioning (which doesn't always happen). Our only complaint would be that the WiFi didn't seem to work in our room and so we had work from the lobby. Not a big deal. Staff was very helpful and professional. Breakfast was very nice and offered a wide variety of choices. The various coffee choices were all delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,630 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,932 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,751 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing