We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Way to Stay in Firenze”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #43 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were hesitant to spend too much but decided that this was not the moment to pinch pennies while in Florence. Centrally located and perfectly appointed, this was ideal for our stay. This room was the biggest of any we encountered on our vacation in Italy and we were happy to spend a little more for the amenities. The breakfast buffet was an unexpected surprise, as we could have lingered there all day. The fresh food and coffee made it unnecessary to pay for extra meals while there. The service was efficient and friendly and we would certainly recommend this to a couple on a special trip. One bit of advice: we rented a car to get us from Rome to Florence (we stopped in Assisi along the way) and our entry into Florence turned into a hilarious episode of trying to navigate to the hotel. If we go back we will use the train.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

It is a hotel with 6 rooms on each floor. I went with my wife, and when we walk into the room. we were amazed by how "Grand" it was with respect to the price they are charging us. ($200/ night)
The room was big, and the bathroom was huge. It was at least 12" ceiling. Everything was in marble. The bed were firm and comfortable.
The staffs were friendly and speak English. 5 mins walk from train station.
We stayed two nights and we did not need to take taxi during our stayed.

One of the better valued hotel in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

the hotel was way beyond my expectations, loved the service, the food and the room,
a really beautiful hotel located really well - (piazza santa maria) also the train station is a 5 min walk from the hotel , so if you need trains , it's very comfortable.
breakfast area is amazing ,as the breakfast itself..
great service ,and all.. a 4 star hotel that is really a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asafg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Firenze is the second destination of my trip at Italy! L'O hotel is just better than what I expect! It is very near to the Firenze SMN station! Only 10 mins walk and you will find L'O at the Piazza S. Maria Novella. The location of this hotel is superb as it is close to most of the famous tourist spot of Firenze.. The room is spacious, very clean and tidy! I just love the design of this place! The breakfast cafe is located at the top floor which got an awesome view to the piazza, the food is great and the place is really nice! Staff at here are all very nice and helpful and most of them speak perfect English! My wife and I had a great experience with L'O... One last comment, don't trust the photos as the real thing looks much better than the photos!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. The location is great - walking distance from the main train station as well as the main tourist sites in Florence. The hotel is modern and clean. We had a beautiful large room on the second floor with very tall ceilings and beautifully decorated. Everything in the room worked, except the A/C was a bit warm. The front desk people who were VERY friendly said they'd lower the temperature from their office, but it never got cold. The breakfast was delicious, and the view of the Santa Maria Novella piazza from the breakfast room was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikelan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I booked this is hotel on-line and it did not disappoint. This is a boutique hotel walking distance form the train station and all the major attractions. It is newly renovated, very clean and ALL the staff are very friendly! The breakfast was included and was delicious. There is a full gym and sauna in the basement which we used a few times. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in this Hotel would be good as it is newly renovated. We stayed in a junior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmurph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Great hotel, our favourite so far. Check-in was smooth and was pleasantly surprised when we received the duplex - a 2-level suite complete with a loft area and a rooftop patio with a view of the Duomo!

Marble galore in the very big and beautiful bathroom.

Breakfast on the 4th floor was great and had stunning views of the Santa Maria Novella church.

On top of it all, a perfect location... 6 minutes walk from Firenze SMN. Reception will hold your luggage if you are waiting for a train and want to wander around a bit more.

Totally exceeded our expectations. Grazie Mille Hotel L'Orologio!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,714 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
2,046 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#85 of 411 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 411 in Florence
1,359 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 411 in Florence
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £115 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing