We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent high class hotel”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #41 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent high class hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The location of the hotel is right on Piazza Santa Maria, which is just a few minutes walk away from the main attractions of Firenze. The location is excellent.

Most parts of the hotel are excellent with just a few flaws. The deluxe room was spacious and well equipped, the bathroom was very nice and big, hallways delicately decorated with clock-themes and expensive-looking furniture and couches, the reception very professional and the breakfast with a very good selection and good service.

The internet connection also should be mentioned, as it is the best we have experienced in any hotel so far. Free, and works great. The hotel is in a very silent location and has very good air conditioning system It also has a european plug in the room, and radio in the room. A great addition! The people working here are also very helpful and service minded. There is even a coffee machine in the room! (have not seen that too often).

All in all, this is an excellent hotel.

What should be mentioned as minus is that some reviewers have said that the hotel rooms are small. Check what kind of room you are getting, deluxe or standard? We def. recommend picking a deluxe or superb room. The room was fairly dark, with no light in the roof - making light very dim.

The absolutely biggest minus though is trying to find the hotel. The sign is tiny and just to the right of the door. This is so easy to do something with and the management of the hotel should really get a larger sign to help people find it. Driving to get here is a nightmare.

Besides that we have had a great stay here and we will return here if we ever come back to Firenze. Check also out our pictures which we have posted. The hotel has some of the most fancy and rich interior of any hotel we have ever visited.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room to avoid the small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    298
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
275
664
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel L'Orologio in August 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff was lovely, the rooms very large and clean and the location was excellent. We arrived by train and it was only a short walk to the hotel. The room size is huge for Europe and the bathroom beautiful. A few days during our trip we enjoyed drinks in the bar, great service, very helpful with wine choices and nice and quiet. The breakfast room at the top of the hotel was just lovely and the food nice. The hotel staff helped us make reservations, gave us directions and suggestions for areas to visit. All in all this was an excellent hotel and really exceed my expectations for the location and the value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a hidden gem!!! overlooking the lovely Santa Maria de Novella piazza. The accomodations were lush with updated tasteful decour and spacious rooms with good air conditioning for a picky American traveller. Spent five nights here with my husband and ten year old daughter. Staff was exceptional and directed us to a great gellato place across the piazza that stays open late. Our daughter loved the action at the piazza. You can easliy walk to all major attractions from here. You are minutes away from all the sights including the Ponte Vechio. Also the train station (for Pisa and Venice) is less than a three minute walk. (the station is gracefully hidden behind the church). Rooms are very sound proof. Breakfast is lovely with a great view. TIP: Buy your red bus tour tics from the front desk and catch the tour across the train station. Great way to get to Plaza Michelangelo where there are breathtaking aerial views of the city and Tuscany. [too far to walk to even for Florentines who advised that we take the tour or cab]. Also, good bar in the Hotel with reasonable prices. Fell in love with Florence and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamimommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is a great, comfortable hotel in an ideal local in Florence.
The reception staff is extremely friendly and knowledegable.
Rooms were well kept, spacious with comfortable bedding.
Stay included breakfast which was a well stocked buffet breakfast.
The location of the hotel is perfect...just steps from train station and a short work to Duomo.
I would definitey stay here. If you are going to Florence do not think about where to stay any further. This is IT!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel wildly exceeded our expectations. The rooms were immaculate with marble tiling and molding throughout. The bar and restaurant we absolutely beautiful. I enjoyed a nice cigar and bourbon in their smoking lounge. The location was perfect being situated so close to the train station. My wife and I took the train from Rome and were able to walk to the hotel conveniently located on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The breakfast was very good also. It truly felt like we were in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked this 10 months ago and were not disappointed. Our junior suite was fab until we discovered the plug in the bath was not functioning. A bath was an essential pure-requisite for my wife so the staff moved us to a 5th floor suite instead. The location is perfect, the rooms of high spec, the staff helpful and the hotel is top quality.

Room Tip: Go for a suite. The views on the 5th floor are stunning with views of the Duomo and have own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlsagerZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,629 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,930 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing