We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Best!”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Our trip to Florence was the gateway for our family trip to Italy. My husband and I adore Italy and we wanted our children to feel the same. We hope to make this regular pilgrimage for the entire family going forward.

After 20 hours of travel, their introduction had to be perfect and the Hotel L'Orologio was the ideal destination. It is situated in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, facing an open air market and adjacent to one of the most significant churches and fresco collections in Florence. We checked into the hotel with ease and walked into some of the loveliest rooms I have ever had the pleasure to collapse in. They were large and luxurious, and the bathrooms were even better.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute vision. My family had a hard time getting me out of the gorgeous rooftop loggia and away from the huge and varied breakfast. The view alone makes the reservation here a must.

The hotel staff had been extremely helpful in assisting us in making a variety of reservations without charge and with great knowledge and enthusiasm before we arrived. The best was the Teatro del Sale, a must-see experience. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Florence after this. The value for the setting, staff, and location is unbeatable. I am soooo looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Every room is great. I would stay off the Piazza in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is a decent hotel close to the train station. It's a bit pricy, but you're paying for the location. One thing that surprised me was that they have shower curtains in the shower, and ours was very smelly. Also, the breakfast restaurant is very cramped in the morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and it was a very good base for our trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My first impression upon walking into the Hotel L'Orologio was that the hotel could easily have been in New York. It has a beautiful, modern esthetic and is a short two minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella church and train station. Everything is a ten minute walk, as Florence is not too big of a city. We LOVED our room, which had a gorgeous large bed, hardwood floors and a view of the Duomo. The breakfast room was lovely and had all you could possibly want to eat (eggs, fruit, pastries, cheese, meat, yogurt, cappuccino). The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is that the wireless internet did not work well in our room. I think it had something to do with the location of our room, because it would come right up when we stepped into the hallway. They tried to reset it, but to no avail. The wireless did seem to work everywhere else in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Duomo and a large bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amykf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Clean, modern with really nice public rooms, and a good breakfast. Ideally placed far enough from the station to be in the old city, but near enough to walk with a suitcase. My only problem was that there was only one large towel, and I accidentally dropped it in the bath before drying myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranelaghandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed just the two nights, Great location & handy to the train station which was great for us Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Nice amenities & rooms a good size. Very clean. Good quality 4 * hotel had a small gym, but it is a 4* property. Hotel theme of clocks/watches was interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had a very nice welcome and our room was more than satisfactory. It is a very good place to be, very central for most of Florence's attractions. The lounge and bar areas are splendid, with a nice water feature in the bar. The staff are charming and helpful. The buffet breakfast has a good choice and the breakfast room has a nice view over Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The name of the hotel means, "The clock" and the is a clock and watch theme running throughout the hotel. There is no evening restaurant in the hotel but there are many good restaurants and cafes nearby. Definitely recommended.

We chose this hotel because it was very near the central railway stain at Santa Maria Novella. However, the high speed train from Verona took us to different station in Florence and we had to get a taxi. Be aware of this potential problem and make sure you get off. The high speed train doesn't stop at Santa Maria Novella and the next stop is Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewS293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found this hotel on-line and had never been to Italy. It was a little scary picking a hotel just be reading reviews. We were absolutely thrilled with this hotel. Our room was well-appointed; the bed was most comfortable. And the bathroom was beautiful- marble counters and a large soaking tub as well as shower. The front desk staff was stellar; always available for help. They all spoke English. It was on a quiet corner; we were never disturbed by street noise except for those few times when an ambulance or police siren was heard. The breakfast was stellar every morning; more than we expected. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to the Duomo or to the train station. It was about a 10 minute walk to the car rental area. We were here for 4 nights and would stay again without hesitancy.

Room Tip: There are working elevators- every room is easily accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolB88213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 410 in Florence
1,682 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,002 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 410 in Florence
1,285 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 410 in Florence
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £138 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing