We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions in July a total of 8 nights. The location is great. Close to the station (don't waste money on a taxi!), and walking distance to all the major sites. There is also an abundance of good places to eat across all price ranges.
We were initially concerned that our room was a bit dark, so the staff showed us several other rooms. We stayed in the one we were originally assigned, but we were impressed with the efforts of the manager to ensure we were comfortable.
The split level layout of the floors could be a bit confusing, but the rooms were very well appointed, with quality linen.
We thought the reception staff were some of the best during our entire 6 weeks in Europe - helpful, friendly and professional. We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the bright and airy dining room.
The wifi was better than at many other hotels too.
We chose this hotel based on the reviews in TA and they were right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more than one window. It's much brighter during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJulesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    290
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
268
643
41
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach,CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. Two rooms (one suite and one "regular" with view) on the 5th floor. The hotel was in a prime spot with easy access to all the sites we visited. Did not have a problem locating the hotel as I had looked at the pictures on TA prior to departure so all looked "very familiar" to me before I arrived. Just 5 minute walk to train station which came in handy for our half day trip to Pisa and for taking the bus.
Air conditioning was a welcome relief since it was 95 degrees in Florence during our stay. The suite is very large and had a private terrace which I LOVED overlooking the duomo. The girls room was a very nice, average sized room. Nice touch with a bag of biscotti welcoming us to the hotel. Suite had mini refrig, safe, two writing tables and sofa. Also had coffee and tea service in the room. Internet connection was great for my husband (iPad) yet slightly spotty for me (iPad mini) so not sure if it was hotel or our devices. Breakfast was excellent and very filling with a great view of the square. The fresh pastries were awesome.
Hotel staff was very helpful in providing us map, booking dinner reservation and giving us general advice.
I might have given this hotel a 4.5 rating (if TA allowed it) only because both rooms had beds in our opinion that were very hard and we had one night where a hotel guest brought 2 dogs in their room and left them there to bark which took 3 calls to staff to fix. Hotel does not allow dogs and initially staff seemed confused on how to handle the issue. Thankfully the issue was resolved within an hour.
Overall this was an excellent stay and I highly recommend this hotel in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights (2 - 5 Aug) at this hotel and we couldn't fault it. It's in such a great location, only a 5 minute walk from the train station and located right on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. It was a little tricky to find at first it because the street numbers don't appear to be in sequential order however after asking at a restaurant they pointed us in the right direction. The hotel staff were very professional, courteous and extremely helpful, particularly when it came to booking a couple of tours. The hotel has a great feel about it, quite modern, very nicely decorated and recently renovated. It also has a great bar/lounge area (although we didn't have a drink there). It was just so lovely to walk back into the air-conditioned comfort of the hotel after a day of crowds and sightseeing. We were equally impressed with our room. Whilst we didn't overlook the piazza we were still happy with it. We were located on the 2nd floor just near one of the lifts and it was very quiet (204). We didn't experience any issues with internet connection in our room. The room itself was a great size (extremely comfortable king size bed and two extra pillows) and the marble bathroom was well appointed with an amazing shower-head. Whilst the bathroom amenities were plentiful my only small criticism was the hotel didn't supply a small bottle of hair conditioner. I thought it may have been an oversight but the hotel reception confirmed that this was the case. They also don't supply irons to the room however as soon as I'd hung up the phone I had housekeeping at my door to collect the items I wanted ironed. I was really impressed with this level of service. We also had our curtains closed every evening which was a nice touch. The hotel breakfast room is on the 4th floor and offers wonderful views of the Piazza. We very much enjoyed the breakfast. It was fresh and plentiful with cereal, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheeses, salamis, breads, pastries etc. all on offer. The staff that serviced the breakfast area did an excellent job. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. It was centrally located to all attractions, it was very clean, the staff were faultless and there are some lovely restaurants on the Piazza.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nicely renovated, clean, but the room was full of noise during our stay. Strange voices emanating from the bathroom and the ceiling. People cleaning the stairs at early hours in the morning, nice looking gym, but completely useless if you are looking to do any proper training. And you might as well miss the hotel due to the small signage no bigger than a15 inch square placed near the door! To top it all up the internet connection kept cutting off every half hour, basically you cannot browse or Skype or...the breakfast room was beautifully decorated, but the breakfast options were very limited.
If you do intend to stay there, make sure you ask for your internet password, your free map, and a room which overlooks the piazza.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view on the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great hotel probably the nicest room and bathroom we stayed in during our recent visit to Italy. Room Overlooked beautiful square, as did the breakfast room on upper level of the hotel. The Bar on the ground floor of the hotel was also very nice.
Would have no problem recommending this centrally located hotel to anyone planning a visit to Florence, I am sure they would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room overlooking square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george196105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I were in Italy for our honeymoon. We found this hotel via Trip Advisor. The hotel was great! The location is good (right in a square). Was walking distance from any of the main attractions in Florence. The customer service was great. Hotel was very clean and had a modern feel to it. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've been there last july, travelling with my teenagers. I arrived at Firenze by train, and was really glad that the hotel was so close to to the main station. Later I realized that this hotel is really close from everything that I wanted to visit, so for the 6 days of our stay, we simply walked everywhere. Our room was very spaceous, and the bathroom was huge. The only problem was that after the showers there was some water out of place. The hotel was clean, amenities were nice, and brreakfast was served in room with very beautiful view over Piazza S.Maria Novella.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0ne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing