We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Break.”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Break.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I carried out my research before booking this Hotel and was not disappointed at all. Breakfast was fine...enough of a choice.
Location is excellent for all the many places to visit. We would book again without hesitation!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your time and your kind words on TA.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at L'Orologio.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon I wish you happy holidays.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    295
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
656
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

An excellent location - very central and close to all tourist sites and shopping, restaurants, train station etc. 1 hour on train from Pisa!
Nice food market outside the hotel in Santa Maria Novella Square.
Very clean hotel. Lovely twin room with tall high ceilings and draped curtains. Bathroom was spotless. Cool 'clock' theme running throughout the hotel.
Staff excellent.
Breakfast was ok - not many hot choices (only scrambled egg and overcooked bacon) but good selection of cakes, bread, cereals, yoghurt, salad, etc
Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilvanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hotel l'Orologio is a class act, from the choice of materials that decorate it to the professionalism of employees. It delivered quality consistently, without a trace of pretension that can often accompany an establishment of this caliber.
Rooms were spotless, bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and attractive, breakfast menu was generous, and soundproofed windows kept out the noise from the streets below.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverioAura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,
your review is so nice we really don't know where to start from to say Thank You!
Thank you so much for your lovely words. It is with great pride that We read that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words in regards to L'Orologio.
If you decide to visit us again, please let us know in advance and we shall be glad to give you a proper welcome back.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

To be fair, we didn't spend a lot of time within the hotel room. The first night I was sick and we stayed in. The next two days we had scheduled tours, so we were away from the hotel a lot. My review......The room was nicely decorated, and the one time we did have breakfast in the hotel it was really good. The location was good, right next to the main train station.

However, the walls are thin. If you are a light sleeper like myself, you hear everything...we heard footsteps from the room on top of us; We heard when someone flushed the toilet or took a shower; we heard the couple next to our room arguing and coughing. If wasn't made for a good sleep.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank My2Cents15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at L'Orologio.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our decoration, the location and our breakfast service in the panoramic hall.
While we are really sorry that you didn't get proper sleep, I would like to investigate your case a little further. I would really appreciate it if you could get in touch with a little more details, if you reported your concerns about the noise to our staff, how we reacted to that. Thank you so much for your cooperation.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We really enjoyed our one night in Florence at the Hotel L'orologio in August. The hotel seems as if it has been completely refurbished. The room was very clean and the furniture was new (many hotel rooms in Italy are furnished with worn and tired furniture). The bathroom was as nice as any five star hotel I have stayed in. Perfectly clean and new. The common areas of the hotel are very elegant and pretty. The location is perfect, just a five minute walk from the train station and a five-ten minute walk to the Duomo and all other tourist sites. Our room was dark since the window looked into the interior courtyard, but this was not a big deal since we only spent time in the hotel at night. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful (the hot chocolate was great!). This hotel was my favorite of the four hotels we stayed in during our trip to Italy. Definitely the most modern and new. Excellent value for your money.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, make sure you ask at checkin. Many rooms look into the interior cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77audreyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5* review of the hotel. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at L'Orologio. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all of the facilities and most importantly the service you received during your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights at this amazing hotel. Upon arrival we were immediately upgraded to a very large room and excellent bathroom. Both were spotless and no attention to detail had been missed. The furnishings were very homely and the bed extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was a sumptuous affair and the views from the atrium were quite stunning.
We were very impressed with the front desk staff who were always willing to offer guidance and directions and to make reservations for dinner.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Firenze.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience!
It’s a great pleasure when our guests are feeling more than happy during and after their stay at L'Orologio.
Thank also for the kind words about our Front Desk team that is always glad and proud to suggest the best places to visit in town and surroundings.
Looking forward to welcoming you back I wish you a wonderful Autumn.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This hotel and its sister next door, the Hotel Santa Maria Novella,(both part of the same group) are outstanding in their furnishings, atmosphere, great staff, great breakfast comfortable beds, and great location. You can walk everywhere and it's a 5 minute walk to the train station.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedbak following your recent stay with us at L'Orologio. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all of the service and facilities that we are all so very proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Our best wishes

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing