We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #41 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We selected L' Orologio on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. On the contrary; it was better than expected.The hotel is at the corner of the square and an easy walking distance from the train station - with roller bags no taxi was required. We were given room 502 on the top floor (it has three rooms only on that floor) and what a surprise: we opened the curtains and from our window we had a spectacular view of Brunellesci's dome just a couple of blocks away. The hotel is a boutique hotel with really well decorated comfortable public spaces (especially the library) and very helpful staff. We stayed for five days. It has nice exercise and sauna facilities in the basement (we did not use them since Florence is a walking city - lots of exercise). The buffet breakfasts were good and the staff very attentive. Old building totally gutted and reconstructed inside. The clock motif was different and well done. The room was well appointed with nice little touches (automatic lights in the closets, fully appointed bathroom, and so forth.) This will be our choice hotel in future trips to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahl7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you review on Tripadvisor! Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are sure that it will be useful for future travellers!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and both location and accommodation were up to your expectation.
Looking forward to welcoming back you soon.
Kindest regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    298
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
275
664
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at the Hotel L'Orologio in early November. What a lovely hotel, the rooms are decorated beautifully and many have great views of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The staff was very friendly and helpful in everyway. The breakfast rooms has a terrific view of the Piazza and the breakfast buffet was really nice. I would stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: They have a duplex room that is on two levels and has a balcony upstairs with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athomeinpositano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at L'Orologio, the service, the room and the panoramic Breakfast hall.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back and we all wish you a wonderful 2014!
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Beautiful rooms, great location, friendly staff. Good breakfast - you can ask for a cappuccino. Highly recommend.

The hotel is quirky with its collection of clocks but very classy. The clock to the right of reception came from NY stock exchange.

It is walking distance from train station, and sites. Overlooks a quiet square, and plenty of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a view looking over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words and compliments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and its services!
Please be sure that your kind comments will be shared with front desk staff and the rest of the Team.
We hope to welcome you back at L'Orologio in the near future.
Kind Regards

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Found the hotel via TA and booked the Suite after reading positive reviews. I must say my wife and I are absolutely delighted to have stayed in this hotel. Everything about the hotel is perfect, from the location (easy walking distance from main train station and minutes from key attractions and shopping), to hotel decoration (brilliant 'clock' concept) to the in-room space.. to breakfast.

Location: 5minutes from the main train station which turned out to be a blessing for us as we have large luggage. Airport, The Mall, other cities ..etc.. all originate from the station so it makes a lot of difference being near the station. Furthermore, the key shopping area is just 3minutes walk from behind the hotel, and the famous Duomo just 5minutes away.

Room: We got a Suite and it was generously spacious and beautiful. A very refreshing change from the small space in Rome and Paris. Very well furnished and toiletries are well-stocked. It was definitely very well worth the money spent.

Hotel: Beautifully decorated with everything Rolex. Very tasteful and the hotel itself feels like a cosy Rolex museum. Hotel is kept really clean and feels really comfortable coming back every night.

Others: Everything is within walking distance. On the days we were there, there was some street bazaar going on and we absolutely loved the atmosphere. Breakfast was a kind spread and we enjoyed it all 3 days.

Conclusion: Easily a 5-star hotel for us. Great for couple to stay given its location and comfort level.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite if you are on honeymoon. You and your partner will appreciate the luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at L'Orologio. We are so glad to read that you had a great time with us. Also another "thank you" for your kind comments about our great team who always do the best to ensure our guests are taken care of.
We hope to see you once again in 2014.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel would have been five stars if the room had not been so dark. The room was a good size and had a huge bathroom. The room was nicely appointed and the location was fantastic, you could walk to everything, with many really good restaurants in the area. My suggestion is check out the restaurants off the main streets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that overall you had a pleasant experience at the Hotel L'Orologio.
If you would like to contact us directly we can investigate about the darkness in the room and get back to you with a more thorough response.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We've got splendid experience from this place, all decoration is related to world class brand watches ie Rolex, Catier, Patek Philippe, Vacheron Constantin. Apart from that, the hotel location is perfect to explore Firenze and Tuscany.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I researched this property thoroughly before selecting it and it did not disappoint me. The room was large, clean, and tastefully furnished. The breakfast was wonderful with a great view of the Piazza and the front desk was always helpful. It is also very convenient (walking distance) to the train station and all the local sights. I have no complaints. I would definitely book the room again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherc903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review following your recent stay at L'Orologio.
We are so happy to read that we have made sure you have had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
We have passed on your kind words to the entire staff.
Kind regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,628 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,932 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing