We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a 5 star hotel”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #43 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's in a very convenient location. The bed and room were large and spacious; the bathroom had a beautiful luxurious bathtub. Attentive service and welcomed with a lovely gift on our arrival. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good location on square, 5 min walk from train station. not super friendly welcome by front desk. Room nicely decorated but small. Small but nice bathroom - not enough counter space. No robes, no evening turndown, no conditioner. Good breakfast, but coffee not as good as our other hotels in Italy. Expected more for 500E/night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctmama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, which is always welcome We are glad you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the breakfast and take this opportunity to remember our guests that our coffee is selected from the best quality 100% Arabic.
Anyway we would like to ask you more details about your stay to investigate and found what happened in order to make improvements for guests comfort and satisfaction expecailly when we know our staff at the desk is well known to be very emphatic and focused on details. We do always provide a turndown service unless our guests leave the "do not disturb" sign outisde the door or the eletronic one (a red light outside the door).
We very much hope to see you again in Florence and in the meantime, would like to thank you again for sharing your comments with us.
Yours sincerely,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is conveniently located...it is within walking distance to Florence's great sights and shopping.The hotel is very clean and beautifully appointed.When making a reservation asked for the sunny side of the hotel, as the backside has a lot of shade from the next door building. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhyllisBoston_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words about L'Orologio. We are very glad you enjoyed our great location and services and we will share your comments with all the staff. About rooms, for a great view, we suggest to reserve our Deluxe, Duplex room with their breathtaking views over either Santa Maria Novella square and church, the Duomo or the historical centre.
Looking forward to welcoming back to L'Orologio,
Kind regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a very good Hotel, the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The breakfast is spot on with good variation. Hotel location is as good as it gets, two minutes from Duomo and the same from the bus and train stations. Hard to fault, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazthelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at L'Orologio. My team and I are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to thank also the breakfast staff for their great service. Please do visit us again in the future, we very much hope to welcome you back. With best regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a magnificent luxury hotel close to the train station, as well as a few walking blocks (5-10 min) from the center of Florence (Duomo) and the Arno River. The room is fit for royalty--expensive dark hardwood and marble throughout, with a lovely arched window and spacious bathroom. The breakfast and hotel staff are first class, but the best feature of the hotel is that it is in charming, beautiful Florence (Firenze). There are nice restaurants and gelaterie close to the hotel. Wow!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank njtraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We are proud to read your review, We graciously thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed being with us and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the next future.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel and wished our schedule had allowed for more. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very nice--excellent linens and a very nice bathroom. We couldn't have asked for a better location --just steps from the square. The breakfast was excellent with a very good mix of hot and cold items--including eggs which you will not always find at breakfasts in Italy. The staff in the breakfast room were extremely attentive and the staff at the front desk were very helpful. When we find ourselves in Florence again, we will definitely plan a longer stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read such a great review from one of our valued guests. It is such a joy to read how our team delighted from the breakfast staff to receptionists, housekeepers. I will share your special review with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to L'Orologio.
Best wishes

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here with my other half in October 2013 and would definitely recommend Hotel L'orologio to anyone planning a weekend in Florence. The hotel itself is in a prime spot within minutes of the city's most famous sites and easy access to shops and restaurants. The decor is stunning, the rooms are spotless and our room boasted the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in. The only possible downside is that the rooms are quite dark, which is further accentuated by the dark wooden floors and furniture. Our room overlooked a private enclosed courtyard so there wasn't a lot of natural sunlight either - but we spent most of the day out and about anyway.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast room is just lovely; with plenty of choice for food. I would also recommend drinks at the hotel bar where you can sit outside on the typically narrow cobbled street and "people watch" - our drinks came with complementary nibbles, which was a nice bonus!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AngelaMarie_M_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at L'Orologio Florence!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the service, the location and our breakfast served in the panoramic hall. We are also glad you enjoed our lounge "Bar de L'O" where our Barman Lorenzo always has something special for our guests. Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at L'Orologio
Kindest regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 410 in Florence
788 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,337 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,705 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £119 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing