We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #44 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel L'Orologio in early July. We travelled with our 4yr old daughter and 7mos infant. We stayed three nights. The hotel is excellent. First, we rented a suite, which had two seperate rooms (both with doors), a large bathroom and walk-in closet. The rooms and hall were quiet and ideal for relaxing after a long trip and with two children. Second, the hotel staff was amazing. Kudos to Lorenzo at the front desk for being so helpful and personable. Lufthansa misplaced our luggage. At 9am, Lorenzo called us to tell us that he was tracking the bags, emailing and phoning Lufthansa, all of which he did of his volition. Also, our daughter has a nut allergy--the bar remade her sandwich even though we forgot to mention the allergy. Third, the location is very accesible to the train station, restaurants and sights.

My only complaint is that the bathroom smelled a little musty, but that was a small inconvenience in an otherwise excellent room.

Room Tip: The suites on the 3rd floor are large and spacious. They are far from the elevator (so quiet) but st...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review posted on Trip Advisor.
It is a real pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay amongst us.
We do always our best for our guests to feel at ease when staying at L'Orologio Florence.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With Warm Regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Orologio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband for my 40th birthday. It is a fantastic hotel in a great location near all the sights and the train station. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and they also upgraded us to a bigger room. The bathroom was particularly nice. The decor of the lobby and the bar were fantastic, and the view from the breakfast room to die for.
We had a fantastic stay and I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to wake up on my birthday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHIBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience at L'Orologio
and for your absolutely lovely and through review.
It is with immense pleasure that we hear that you found everything about L'Orologio amazing, location, accomodation and service. We will be sure to share your lovely words with all our team.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Three nights here were very comfortable, though we spent very little time in the room. As soon as we arrived, we felt we had entered a 5-star hotel. It's very beautiful and updated inside. The front desk staff greeted us with a smile and armed us with plenty of information about things to do and see in Florence. We didn't use any of their tours but they looked reasonably priced.

Our room was bigger than expected and right on a large piazza with a couple of restaurants. it's also within walking distance of the train station (even carrying large luggage it's not a problem). The room was impressive with a lot of marble in the bathroom, a window that opened and a huge bathtub. Ladies, there's a hairdryer here so no need to bring your own.

The bed was king size with very comfortable bedding and pillows. Once in a while we found an English-speaking channel on TV so we could have that on while the other was getting ready for the day. the window opened to a busy street below but the triple-pane windows keep the room quiet.

The lobby and bar here look very nice with plenty of sitting areas but we didn't take advantage of any of that. We were on the go or eating outside the hotel so we could sample as many local restaurants as possible. the restaurant has a few outdoor tables on the sidewalk so you get to enjoy the weather if you'd like.

breakfast is served on the 4th floor in a nice dining room with many windows so you can look out over Florence. The breakfast was plentiful with hot and cold options and it was good every time.

There are probably less expensive options in Florence but this hotel is beautiful, the staff is very nice and it has a great location only about a couple blocks from the Duomo. there are many restaurants and bars in the area and all the main tourist attractions are close by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at L'Orologio
The hotel is indeed ideally situated in the heart of Florence, which means there is always a lot to see and do.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I am very delighted to read that you found the service and facilities; especially the breakfast.
We are pleased to know that you felt at ease and well with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel made quite an impression on me due to its central location, proximity to shops and cafés, attentive service by professional staff and the nice touches with decor in rooms. We chose a room that looked out onto the the square and it was so wonderful to have the windows open on a Sunday morning hearing all the church bells and allowing sun to stream through. Very spacious room which is not always easy to come by in Florence. I intend to stay here again upon returning to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening up into square.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spinto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review!
We are glad that you loved L'Orologio and I have shared your kind words with the rest of the staff, who are really committed to personalised service.
We do sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon to Florence
Warm Regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here during the second leg of our Italian vacation. The hotel far exceeded expectations. The hotel was clean and luxurious. Attention to detail was abound. Our room had cathedral ceilings, a giant bathroom with large tub, and they turned down the room in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave a variety of dining options in the city. Breakfast was located on the top floor providing some nice views of Santa Maria Novella while eating quality food. I never stayed in a nicer 4 star hotel. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
What an amazing comment !
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, we are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and for giving us a 5!
We hope you will visit again soon.
With best regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Florence was our first stop on our honeymoon. We were able to find the hotel easily. it was located on Santa Maria Novella Square-which was beautiful. The hotel is posh and modern. Our room was spacious-we had the junior suite. The bathroom was very big and nice. it took a second to figure out the lights (you need to put your room key in the slot) but other than that it was nice. We were greeted with biscotti and a nice note welcoming us and congratulating us on our wedding. Florence is completely walkable and the located may have been on the slight outskirts but that didn't matter because Florence was so small. Plus, our favorite restaurant was blocks away-Buca Mario was amazing-the best steak and pasta and great atmosphere. Aldo was the best waiter we had on our whole trip and they even gave us an apron for free! Definitely try La Giostra- a bit of a walk past the Duomo but worth it-great pasta. Vivoli is a great gelato place near there too. At night go to the Hotel Minerva across from the hotel to have a drink at their rooftop deck (they even have a pool). There was also a great Irish pub (Fiddler's Elbow) around that corner that was perfect for a pint or watching the World Cup. The breakfast room at the hotel was great with some good food. The bar was serviceable. The gym was small but clean. The wifi was a bit spotty in the room but fine in the lobby. Our only complaint was a recommendation we got from the front desk for lunch. They sent us to the place were the Jersey Shore kids worked (Vesuvio) and it was horrible. Other than that it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: splurge for the junior suite. It was worth it. No views but the space was nice.
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cspags2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's hard to find a central hotel in Florence that's modern and clean and comfortable. I go for business twice a year and this blows every other hotel out of the water, even more expensive spots with more stars. It's right on the P. Santa Maria Novella near the train station which is lovely. Tee breakfast room is beautiful and the selection is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank monkeypod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,982 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,523 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 411 in Florence
1,550 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 411 in Florence
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £150 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing