We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small and quirky”
Review of Floroom 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Floroom 2
Ranked #452 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, small and quirky”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed last summer and thought this place was very cool. Its all about location, its no more than 10 mins walk from everything in Florence, in fact most of the big attractions are 5 mins away tops. This makes it a perfect base that you can pop back to for a free coffee, coke or biscotti to collect your thoughts or dump your shopping. So what actually is it? Its a handful of rooms with a shared lounge and kitchen. Every morning we were served breakfast by a cheery Thai/Italian guy, who was really welcoming. We had room 5, which is undoubtedly small with the bathroom basically in a triple wardrobe......it is tiny. I have read the other reviews about the web access and TV channels, but Florence is all about the architecture, food, art and shopping. If you are looking to lounge around the room, then go somewhere else, that isn't Florence! Would recommend as it feels typically Italian when you access your private little haven off a cobbled street.

Room Tip: the rooms are tiny, if you can trade up to a bigger one then do it! If not, get out and enjoy Flore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Honestly I had a hugh expectation of Mrandmrssmith FLOROOM 2. The location was amazong, but the service and details HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

The internet was so slow that it didnt even open a web page, the TV I guees was via satellite and it kept loosing reception every 10 seconds (literally), so I couldnt watch anything at all!!!!!! And the towels, both days, smelled horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I didnt expect this from Mrandmrssmith, specially paying 200 EUROS per day

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bzambranog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel! Feels like you are in somebody's apartment (somebody with great design taste). A kitchen and living room which you can use and where you can hang out. Rooms are small (actually tiny) but its very clean, friendly and top modern design. Also, in a city where hotel living is very expensive this is a great value for money at a location that's "spot on" for central Florence! I'll easily go back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Good location in the centre of Florence, easy to find from SM Novella train station. Accommodation was very good, clean, modern, air-con, coffee & pastries. Very attentive house-keeper chap who booked us in and arranged the breakfast each day. Entry to the front door, apartment and your room is all via a secure code so do make sure you have this before you arrive. We booked through Mr&Mrs Smith and there was a bit of confusion as we should have been given the code with the booking. Still a quick call to the owner, who spoke very good English and we were in.
As for sightseeing, the centre was very busy, with lots of tourists queuing for tickets and then queuing to get into the museums. In the end we did not bother wasting time queuing and walked along the riverside and up a steep hill to the Boboli gardens and Palazzo Pitti. There are great views from here to the Duomo. Also worth walking up to the piazza Michelangelo for the views but leave it until later in the afternoon when there are fewer tourists.
Climbing up the Duomo tower was the highlight. Look for the smaller side entrance, no queue in the morning as all the tourists seemed to head for the main entrance, which does not access the tower.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

A very modern simplistic b&b in a great location in Florence. Includes a continental breakfast, free snacks and drinks, wifi and helpful service. Note no on site parking but it's just around the corner. Don't drive around anyway, it's easy walking to most sights. Would definately stay again but get the superior room as the studio is a little small, but a clever use of space.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamiwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Floroom 2 a very small hotel but a few things you need to know

Good Points
- Walking Distance from everything
- Breakfast and drinks are included in the Hotel

Bad Points
- Tiny Room.
- Shower was terrible even after complaining.
- Toilet and Shower is inside a cupboard in your room - Website shows you the bathroom for the best bedroom not for the standard.
- Over 100 Channels but nothing in English apart from MTV.
- Air Conditioning - Heats you up but does not blow out cold air.
- You have to climb 4 flights of stairs to get to the hotel - No lift.
- Matteress is hard as a rock, me and wife had bad shoulders and back when we got back

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarkyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in the spring of 2011. We enjoyed it very much and were shocked and how much we liked it, because when the taxi dropped us off at the end of the alley to walk to the hotel, we weren't sure what we were in for. The rooms are exceptionally clean, contemporary, and the service is outstanding. The one employee there was very attentive. There is not an elevator, and it is on the third floor, so it may not be for everyone. Also, the set-up of the hotel is four rooms off of a small central lobby, so it is tight quarters to some degree. We would stay there again in a minute, but it may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfitz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#69 of 411 in Florence
765 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#43 of 411 in Florence
462 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 411 in Florence
858 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#228 of 640 in Florence
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floroom 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floroom 2

Property: Floroom 2
Address: via del Sole 2, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Floroom 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing